Forceware 162.65 WHQL display settings gone?!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by trodas, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. trodas

    trodas Master Guru

    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9100 250/200MHz
    For the second time on a fresh Windows 2000 SP4 install I tried install the Forceware 162.65 WHQL drivers. (Opteron 148, PNY 8600 GT - so the older drivers the better) The drivers itself work well, no question about it, however the settings are GONE FOREVER if I disable the icon in the taskbar.

    I don't need and want to the icon be there, so I always disable it. And then the display options miss all the whole settings...!!!

    [​IMG]

    And no, no way in hell clicking on the button bring them back. Nothing happens when I click on the button! It is just not working anymore!

    Drivers continue to work:

    [​IMG]

    ...but I can't change the settings at all! This is very flustrating. Anyone know about some older good drivers that can handle 8600 GT and do work, instead of these WHQL fails...?

    Or is there a way to fix this???
     
  2. The Goose

    The Goose Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,950
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Evga 1070FTW
    have you tried display settings in control panel
     
  3. trodas

    trodas Master Guru

    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9100 250/200MHz
    Sure, but nothing like that is there actually.
    There is JUST the control pannel named: "NVIDIA nView Desktop Manager" and not the display settings one. But man, these setting are THERE, just MINUTE ago - untill I click on the removing of the icon from the taskbar!

    WTF are these crazy drivers! Who tested these should be fired ASAP. WHQL my a$$...!
     
  4. Terje_P

    Terje_P Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970 SLI
    Stop using a deprecated OS. Windows 7/8 is actually faster on systems than can handle it. (Decent CPU, 2GB+ RAM, DX9 capable GPU)
     

  5. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
    At least use XP man.
     
  6. Huigie

    Huigie Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SLI 980 + EK-FC980 GTX
    Did Hilbert restore the forum from an ancient backup? :eek:
     
  7. Rapyer

    Rapyer Member Guru

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti
    oh god this is a flashback!
     
  8. Stompya

    Stompya Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GV-NTITANOC-6GD-
    :heh:
     
  9. RavenMaster

    RavenMaster Master Guru

    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    2x EVGA GTX 1070 SC's SLI
    lol dat time warp
     
  10. Veeshush

    Veeshush Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 680 Lightning
    I can't even find Windows 2000 driver downloads for 8600 GT.

    Really man, I'm all for playing around with older hardware and stuff but I'd really install Linux or at least Win XP on that box. Hell, your Opteron 148 would easily support Win7/Win8 64bit.

    edit

    To top it off, Windows 2000 went End of Life July 13, 2010, so along with not getting any security patches from Windows Update (making your system an open target), no other software (drivers included) has continued support for it either.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2013

  11. Axaion

    Axaion Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Look at his system before you throw "use Vista/7/8/8.1" out there with your deprecated flavour of the month cirklejerk

    "but i said decent cpu blah blah"

    As I said, look at his system specs before you respond, lol
     
  12. Gibbonlimbs

    Gibbonlimbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 680 4GB Jet****** SLI
    Trodas I can not help you but legends share your name...
     
  13. trodas

    trodas Master Guru

    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9100 250/200MHz
    Terje_P -
    Well, I would be inclined to use Win2k even on faster machine, if I have it. Right now, I don't. And these drivers should work on W2k. Any tip what to check, what to change, to get the options back...?


    Cyberdyne - I hate XP :( I cannot even convince them, that the open/save dialogue will be opened at default with just the list show of files, not thumbnails. Till that I cannot even think about this.
    Maybe this get better with SP2+ WinXP, but SP2 ignore the hosts file setting for M$ servers, so another no-no...


    Huigie - LOL ... man, a little help could be handy :) But you make me laugh... that counts as well!


    RavenMaster - come on, it is not that bad...!


    Veeshush - Windows 2000 and XP old nVidia drivers are there:
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp-2k_archive.html

    Maybe Opty 148 can do Win7, but on 512MB ram...? At only 200MHz? I would like O/C it a bit, but it somewhat does not work...

    Well, I never ever did any update, security patch of something else. I use my brain as antivirus and also a HW firewall/NAT and that seems to be (together with complete removal of IE from my Windows 2000 - Fred Vorck work) enought for me. Never had a virus problem, only problems I ever had was when I click on something, that I should not click...

    Anyway, some ideas about the problem...?
     
  14. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If I remember correctly, the new CP worked in W2K if you used XP's GDI+ dll.
     
  15. Veeshush

    Veeshush Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 680 Lightning
    You could try a driver cleaner, like
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=379506

    But I don't even know if they'd work on Win2000.

    **** dude, my Pentium III with pc133 ram can run Win7 (tho Linux runs snappier). My AMD k6-3 550mhz can do WinXP (although I wouldn't recommend XP as it will be EOL soon too, but it's still better than what you have)

    People keep telling you to dump Win2000 because it's probably some old issue that they never fixed with those older drivers. The only other thing you could try is going up or down a driver version.

    edit

    Or still, just say "**** Windows" and pick a Linux distro.

    edit2

    XP is on SP3 now. But, all of that I imagine can be tweaked. I'd bet money on it. Besides if you have a HW firewall can't you just block the hosts with that? Or use something like PeerBlock with your own list.

    And again, we're not trying to push "DUMP YOUR OS", but that's probably the main cause of your driver issue, especially with that 8600gt.

    162.65 Release Date: November 9, 2007
    8600 Release Date: second quarter 2007

    That driver probably has a ton of unfixed crap.

    edit4 the last edit then ill shut up

    also get more ramz dood, max dat bitch out
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2013

  16. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger Banned

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which means your machine is probably part of a botnet and will have been for a very long time, and depending on your luck a keylogger in case you ever login to your bank online... not all viruses show something obvious, and if you have no AV you're not going to know when something installs itself through say an infected ad banner, which I've run into on even sites like Hotmail in the past, or just an attachment inside of something you download and install that looks all fine but has something in it anyway. But, hey, ignorance is bliss?
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Problem is no one can check on live system for you. And you hardly can find forums traced back to those days.
     
  18. AltS7

    AltS7 Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX 650
    @ trodas
    Try to search "nv*.exe" on system drive. I found nvcplui.exe in "\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\Control Panel Client" which runs CP.
    Well, that's on XP with driver 314.21 but there should be something similar in your case.
     
  19. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE NITRO 390x
    I remember that bug..

    always had to have the icon on the tasktray to work.



    but isnt that the reason the tasktray icon was removed afterward in newer driver and then returned later on?
     
  20. Sajittarius

    Sajittarius Master Guru

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti
    The drivers are from 2007, i would bet the guy who tested these DOESNT WORK THERE ANYMORE...
     

Share This Page