Folding@Home - Join The Fight!

Discussion in 'Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Apr 28, 2007.

Tags:
  1. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Whats a good driver version for folding on the HD4800 series?
     
  2. yoyo69

    yoyo69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 Sli
    As ar as I know, no particular driver stands out with higher PPD, so I would just go with the latest available (9.4 I believe).
    What PPD do you get with the 4890? I used oget around 2500 or so with my 4870's.
     
  3. yoyo69

    yoyo69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 Sli
    arabha123,

    which client are you running SMP/Console or Systray?
    Have you tried to do a complete new install (remember to delete any folders created under your users/documents and settings, or you may still have remnants of your old config cunfusing the issue.
     
  4. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    I can't get it running lol

    uhh it says dont use OEM drivers so im gona install none OEM 9.4 and see how i get on.

    edit ok got it working have to use the console version.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2009

  5. arabha123

    arabha123 Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ge Force 8400GS 256MB
    I'm using a single processor Systray client. The client is installed on my workplace computer having p4 processor(2.6GHz) HT. I still have to go home to install it on my home pc!

    I have deleted all the files and folders including the configuration file and reinstalled it. Still the client is unable to get a user ID from the Stanford servers(to my understanding of the problem). I tried searching in many forums and guides available but did not come across any solution to my problem or any person facing the same problem as myself. Majority of the problems were that the work units were not being downloaded, but in my case I have to get and id to even think about a work unit. Hope this problem gets a solution soon.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  6. arabha123

    arabha123 Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ge Force 8400GS 256MB
    Solution Found!!! :(

    I found the answer for the problem guys. The authentication for proxy is the culprit. I found out that FAH supports only basic authentication and thats different from what the proxy at the workplace requires. So I can't get past the proxy to connect to the Stanford servers. :(

    Anyway, if someone finds any way to get around this problem it would be very useful for people like me working behind proxies and if not, I just have to wait till I get home(end of May) to get my pc folding!
     
  7. yoyo69

    yoyo69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 Sli
    It still sound to me that the client is unable to connect to the server. Possible due to network/firewall configaration.
     
  8. invisible69

    invisible69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 4870x2 2GB
    Ok so I installed it today and joined the team :)

    Now is there any way that I can get the screensaver back? I remember something like two years ago lol I used to loved seeing the Protein screensaver on my P4 xD I know that I have to run v4 or before, but why is that? :(

    Oh, and is there some way to mae it use more of my CPU? Its not even hovering at 50% usage and I left it on th default setting of full and set the priority to High :p
     
  9. yoyo69

    yoyo69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 Sli
    I believe there to be no screen saver now, but there is a viewer with the systray client.
    To use more of yor cpu you need to either run the smp client (a little complicated to set up but you get good PPD) or multiple normal cpu clients.
     
  10. invisible69

    invisible69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 4870x2 2GB
    So I can run one client as MachineID 1, another as 2, as 3, etc... ?
     

  11. yoyo69

    yoyo69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 Sli
    It is a little more complicated than that to set up but yes.
     
  12. invisible69

    invisible69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 4870x2 2GB
    lol I'm running 4 instances of F@H with different ID's and it seems to work :D

    At least it's better than simply leaving my PC on just to download stuff xD
     
  13. yoyo69

    yoyo69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 Sli
    As your 9400GT is CUDA capable you could also run the GPU client on that to give you a points boost.(possibly 500PPD extra)?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2009
  14. invisible69

    invisible69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 4870x2 2GB
    I know, but it was basically too slow lol when I tried it. Might re-install again though ^^
     
  15. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,051
    Likes Received:
    668
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    lol, I tried it on an 8600GT when I first found F@H....my X2 5600 was faster....lol. My 4850 gets more WU in 1 night, than my X2 5600+8600GT SLI got in 1 week....scary. So, how much of an increase could I get by switching from an HD4850 to a GTX260?
     

  16. yoyo69

    yoyo69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 Sli
    Do you mean WU's or PPD?
     
  17. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,051
    Likes Received:
    668
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Either....both?
     
  18. barwell1992

    barwell1992 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS gtx560ti on T260HD
    how much do you think i could get on cpu and gpu's ?
     
  19. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    About 10,000PPD for the GPU alone.
     
  20. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,051
    Likes Received:
    668
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    I'm averaging 1000-1500ppd on GPU. I want max ppd and WU....but, either I have to stick with my 4850 or get a GTX260 Core 216....can't afford GTX275 and up, or 4890....and 4870 isn't enough of a step up to justify the $155 for the HIS card. Hell, I can volt mod my 4850 and get my GPU to 750mhz...lol...there goes the 4870's advantage for folding.
     

Share This Page