Fix game stutter on Win 10 1703-1809

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Mott, Apr 3, 2018.

  1. uKER

    uKER Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2070
    I'm using AveYo's solution, and while right clicking the executable and selecting "run as administrator" works fine, the scheduled task is not freeing the memory.
    I'd blame this on it not running elevated.
    The task's properties show it running as SYSTEM, and it does have "run with the highest privileges" checked.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,009
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
  3. AveYo

    AveYo Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    8800GS 384MB
    The sheduled task probably works as intended: clear the standby memory if it's really needed i.e. only when free physical memory goes under 1500MB (default number is less aggressive for better compatibility with x86 systems - yes, people still game on potatoes).

    If you have lots of RAM that never gets depleted, then it won't clear it. You also should not get stutters either - and if you do, the cause is something else and neither standby clear solutions will help.

    You can however force a clear by adjusting the target CLEAR_WHEN_UNDER_MB batch script parameter to do it more often (let's say a value of 3000 or 6000) or each time (anything above your RAM - let's say 30000)

    After a succesful setup the script should output something like:
    Code:
    C:\Windows\system32>/*   2>nul  || title FreeStandbyMemory.bat by AveYo v2018.12.03
    FreeStandbyMemory.exe         1 file(s) copied.
    SUCCESS: The scheduled task "FreeStandbyMemory" has successfully been created.
    SUCCESS: Attempted to run the scheduled task "FreeStandbyMemory".
    
     Clearing StandbyMemory every 3 minutes ONLY if available memory goes under 1500 MB
     Can force a clear manually from Command Prompt (Admin) by entering: freestandbymemory
    
    ADDED! Run "freestandbymemory.bat" again to remove compiled snippet and schedule!
    
    Press any key to continue ...
    The schedule should then run each 3 minutes, and in Task Scheduler should list it's next and last run time along with last result of 0x0. Manually entering freestandbymemory in a CMD/PS (Admin) should trigger a forced clear. Best visible with Process Explorer - System Information - Memory window open.

    Again, clearing the standby memory pointlessly is very bad for multitasking and leads to more usage of virtual memory and paging because Windows will quickly refill the standby list with memory needed by open processes. With a HDD, it can cause stutters by itself - this is the primary reason why I've created the script as a bit smarter alternative to popular simple brute-force schedule.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  4. eGGroLLiO

    eGGroLLiO Member Guru

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    69
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080ti FTW3 UG

    Actually I'm using your script and thanks! ; )
     
    AveYo likes this.

  5. uKER

    uKER Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2070
    @AveYo Thanks for the clarification.
     
  6. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,009
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    read that 20h1 doesn't need this trick.
     
  7. uKER

    uKER Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2070
    @AveYo Debugging your C# code I just found the problem why it didn't work.
    The function you're using to query the free memory counts the standby memory as free (probably adding up free, zeroed and standby).
    You can check the value against the one in Windows' performance monitor.

    Therefore, say you have half your memory on standby and you're seeing 0 bytes free in the performance monitor.
    Upon running, your .exe will think there's half the physical memory free and do nothing.

    I'm in the process of looking for a function that reports the free memory the way the performance monitor does.
    Either that or the amount of standby memory.
    Any of the two would do.
    Will let you know if I find it.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2019
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,856
    Likes Received:
    6,806
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @uKER

    Browse this thread, we found and discussed many functions here.
     
  9. ZloY SloN

    ZloY SloN Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1080ti
    Hello! I have stuttering in Watch Dogs 2 (i7-2600K @ 4.4 + 16Gb + 1080ti + Win10 1903). After some time of playing the stuttering increases. Will these solutions help me? Which of them can you recommend?
     
  10. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC

  11. ZloY SloN

    ZloY SloN Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1080ti
    OK. And what about ISLC settings? Should I change them? It has "max list size 1024MB" and "min free mem 1024MB" by default. If free memory never goes under 1024MB will this tool work?
     
  12. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    No, don't change anything.
     
  13. ZloY SloN

    ZloY SloN Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1080ti
    OK, thanks!
     
  14. uKER

    uKER Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2070
    No worries.
    I already managed to implement it using WMI.
    I have created a tool of my own and will be releasing it here on Guru3D in the next few days.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2019
    BuildeR2, Undying and eGGroLLiO like this.
  15. Vicalvi

    Vicalvi Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 680 SC Signature
    Any news?

    Thank you
     

  16. uKER

    uKER Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2070
    Seeing nobody seemed to care, I had forgotten about it, but here you go.
    Check it out and let me know how it goes.
     
  17. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070
    I guess this issue only applies to people that never shut down their PC when they go bed?

    Because i shut down my PC twice a day.
     
  18. Hemisfear

    Hemisfear Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    If I remember correctly, it's standby+free aka available memory.
    That's why I chose to use ISLC. Otherwise frostbite games are unplayable for me. -.-
     
  19. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    It'll still happen if you shut down the PC twice a day.
     
  20. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    248
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    It depends on the application, your workload habits and how long your session is in the game/app.
    For me, I shut down at night and with my main game (BFv) if I play where the in-game round last 1/2 I see no issue but if I run a game mode that goes 1+hr I see this pop up after around 1.5hrs of gameplay.
    Plus it depends on what apps have been run, if I fire up VMware, then close it, then run BFv it will trigger a little sooner.

    PS: I have 16gig of memory.
     

Share This Page