First look at Windows 8.1

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by alanm, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Guest

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    I found one more cool thing about win8.1

    well i'm not using my sound card currently, just using my mobo's sound plugged into my speakers ..

    without audio drivers whatsoever.
     
  2. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,808
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    GPU:
    .
    I've been doing that since Vista :p Even in 7 the only driver I install is my graphics card.
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,110
    Likes Received:
    2,611
    GPU:
    3080TI iChill Black
    For those that are still hesitating, 3weeks to go :)

    http://www.computerworld.com/s/arti...igration_to_Windows_8.1_Update_within_5_weeks
     
  4. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,808
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    GPU:
    .
    I'm still having trouble with flash on youtube in IE 11 :( Flash works on other sites but youtube still uses the html 5 player.

    Edit: Is this behaviour intended with IE11? The youtube html5 page states that it is used when possible instead of the usual request HTML5 link, which is still seen when viewed in palemoon browser.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2014

  5. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Guest

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    You tried clearing cookies / cache / resetting IE ?

    EDIT - Just checked and mine defaults to HTML5 too
     
  6. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,492
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    Asus RX6700XT
  7. MusicStudent

    MusicStudent Guest

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    A touch irrelevant but I was so used to the older systems (XP,7,Vista) I can't sit down and learn the new way.
     
  8. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,808
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    GPU:
    .
    You won't need to soon :p Install classic shell until then.
     
  9. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
    Suppose I deleted some stuff in the C:\Program Data and C:\Users\VultureX\AppData\Local\Packages folders and now all my apps are broken (including the windows store) and running appsDiagnostic.diagcab does not help and running wsreset.exe returns a ms-windows-store:purgeCaches error.

    What can I do besides reinstalling windows to make my apps work again? :p
     
  10. rflair

    rflair Don Coleus Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,913
    Likes Received:
    1,782
    GPU:
    5700XT
    None of these works?

    http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/2269-system-recovery-options-boot-windows-8-a.html
     

  11. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,808
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    GPU:
    .
    Looks like it really is on Youtube's side. Reliability is much better now and RAM usage is also significantly better because of flash being out of the picture. I also like the bigger size of the player in html5. About time ... a very welcome change :D I've enabled it on Palemoon as well now.
     
  12. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
    Those methods are all a bit too intrusive.
    I've fixed it by moving some folders in AppData\Local\Packages from another fairly clean windows 8.1 install to my pc.
    This only fixed the App Store. appsDiagnostic.diagcab and wsreset.exe were still borked, but I could work around everything by uninstalling and reinstalling all the pre-installed apps from the app store. :D
     
  13. MasterBash

    MasterBash Guest

    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX970 SSC+
    I have a big list of tweaks based on my preference and they all install during windows installation. Unfortunately, there are some registry settings I am unable to find or are not working (such as disabling all windows sound), even if it is disabled, it doesnt work.
     
  14. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,110
    Likes Received:
    2,611
    GPU:
    3080TI iChill Black
    New windows updates are live, just updated mine..
     
  15. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    Nvidia 4070
    I did a clean install of windows 8.1 on my dualboot system.


    I wasn't aware that windows 8.1 synced everything including desktop folders and documents.


    I logged in with my hotmail account and my documents/music/photos an desktop items was restored.

    kinda impressive in a way. but also invasion of privacy as I didnt know it copied my desktop folders as well.


    all that fancy stuff and it still had the wrong time zone.
     

  16. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,492
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    Asus RX6700XT
    If you use a Microsoft account, it will sync to "the cloud".... If you use a local account, that doesn't happen.
     
  17. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    Nvidia 4070
    I had this weird thing happen.

    after I finished putting the hardware in my new case.

    I booted up windows 8

    and then it wouldnt shutdown.


    I would click shutdown and it would saying shutting down. and then the screen would turn off. but then it would come back on showing the lockscreen.


    logged back in and told it turn shutdown and it did it again.

    and 3 times I figured out something in up with the fastboot option in windows 8.

    I turned it off and then the computer shut off.
     
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,110
    Likes Received:
    2,611
    GPU:
    3080TI iChill Black
    New windows updates are live, just got a prompt from nod32 security8. But damn, stupid office2013, again almost 1gb updates just for office..
     
  19. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Guest

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Thanks - I stuck with Office 2010 after finding out they removed Office Picture manager from 2013, I use that every day
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2015
  20. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,808
    Likes Received:
    1,384
    GPU:
    .
    I hope they fix those update sizes in the upcoming clippy edition.
     

Share This Page