First look at Windows 8.1

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by alanm, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. IcE

    IcE Don Snow Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,692
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
    I'm not even going to update. What's the point? If it was like a service pack then sure, but it's not.
     
  2. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    well it could be called a service pack. as it does include all the updates and fixes sense 8.0 release, plus added enhancements.


    im using the same windowblinds theme for windows 7 and windows 8.1 and I'll forget which windows Im actually in.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2013
  3. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    It has a lot of improvements over 8, it's free and better than 8, why would you not ?
     
  4. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    8.1 is way better than 8. I've been running it the day after it leaked. This is what Windows 8 should of been.
     

  5. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,806
    Likes Received:
    4,818
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    So now it's like W7? I still see no reason to change OS.
     
  6. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,479
    Likes Received:
    263
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    No, it's better than Windows7.

    Whether it's worth the upgrade depends on how hassle a clean install might be.
     
  7. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    windows 8.1 decided it didnt like windows 7 being default in the boot menu and changed it by it self.... and I had legacy boot menu enabled, and it changed it back to standard.....

    how dare it make this decision without consulting me first....
     
  8. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,833
    Likes Received:
    1,373
    GPU:
    .
    How do I enable the right click context menu option to scan a folder/file with Windows Defender they way I can with MSE in Windows 7?

    In Device manager under HID there is an entry for HID compliant touch-screen. What is this doing here? I don't have a touch screen for my PC. 8.1 is running in a VM btw.
     
  9. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
  10. F1refly

    F1refly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
    I always had better luck with pre integrated ISO's rather than updating through WU when it comes to SP's. I may just keep 8.0 for a while as I plan to get a laptop and sell off the desktop eventually.
     

  11. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,104
    Likes Received:
    255
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    This.
     
  12. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    555
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Well I do automatic monthly backups with Acronis True Image 2013 anyway.

    Can anyone kindly link me (via a PM) where I can download a legitimate version of the Windows 8.1 update (final release only!) from please? I would like to try it over the weekend. Otherwise, I will just have to wait until the 18th when it is officially released. Thanks.
     
  13. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    You have PM.
     
  14. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Just upgraded my windows 8 installation. It fixed some issues I had with W8, it was probably corrupted installation (had memory issues earlier this year which caused some corruption and apparently I wasn't able to fix it all). Scored all time highest in 3DMark2011, broke 20K GPU score. IE11 is crazy fast and smooth. Firefox is incredibly laggy in everything compared to this.
     
  15. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    I'm wanting to know how Domain users are finding it.

    I tried to customise the Start Screen Layout by using the Export-StartLayout Powershell command and pushing the file out via group policy but it never works? Think the problem is using RSAT for Windows 8.1 Preview as RSAT for Windows 8.1 RTM isn't available yet. I'm just wondering if group policy has changed from 8.1 Preview to 8.1 RTM and this is the reason why it's not working?

    All is not lost as I can boot users straight to Desktop now and give them a redirected desktop with all their shortcuts, this part of Windows hasn't changed thankfully!!
     

  16. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    555
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Do FIFA 13 and 4 work with Windows 8.1? I read somewhere that FIFA 13 has incompatibility issues.
     
  17. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    There's still a few programs that have compatibility issues with 8.1 still. I'm hoping the few I have problems with get worked out before release. But for the most part, I have not had any real problems out of it.
     
  18. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,479
    Likes Received:
    263
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    The Fifa14 demo works perfectly on Window 8.1, don't have the full game yet.

    Might try 13 in a bit and see how it is, needs to be downloaded first though.
     
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,182
    Likes Received:
    1,928
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2013
  20. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I'd like to know something... Do you guys have this issue? Missing icon.
    [​IMG]

    And if I focus something...
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page