Fermi Cards - Powersavings Driver Issue (GTX460 only or all Fermis)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by BetA, Jul 31, 2010.

?

DPC Issues or not? What u got?

  1. GF100 - Yes, i also have these Issues

    10 vote(s)
    5.5%
  2. GF100 - No, I dont have these Issues

    45 vote(s)
    24.9%
  3. GF104 - Yes, I have these Issues

    39 vote(s)
    21.5%
  4. GF104 - No, I dont have these Issues

    31 vote(s)
    17.1%
  5. Other GF - Yes, I have also Issues

    6 vote(s)
    3.3%
  6. Other GF - No, I dont have those issues

    8 vote(s)
    4.4%
  7. What the Hell are you talking about ?

    42 vote(s)
    23.2%
  1. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    I started a new thread just about F1 2010, I also get really bad performance in that game only. GPU is @40% and still only 40fps? But im glad its not just me, but you guys with this issue please add youre comments on the f1 thread. We know that ATI reads these forums, maybe others do it as well? Atleast we can hope so? :)
     
  2. senna89

    senna89 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    patriot
    Are ther news about this issue ?
     
  3. Hog54

    Hog54 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    Asus Tuf RTX 3070
    I dont have an issue playing any game and I also dont check dpc latency.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2010
  4. Veeshush

    Veeshush Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 680 Lightning
    I've started a thread over at the nvidia forums with 66 people and their setups listed. They're all having lockups determined by what motherboard they place their cards in.
    http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=187401&st=0

    I think the exact same thing is causing these lockups. We're getting lockups before Windows even loads, so I don't think a driver is going to fix this for us.

    The reason I think this is the same issue is because it only happens in combination with certain mainboards, just like you're saying.
     

  5. IndianScout

    IndianScout Banned

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX580 SLI
    with my brand new Gigabyte 560ti OC - Gigabyte EP45-UD3L

    fresh win7 install drivers and updates..

    [​IMG]

    :bang::bang:
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  6. DesGaizu

    DesGaizu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    74
    GPU:
    AORUS 3060TI
    Thats quite bad, theres something seriously up with either a driver or hardware on your pc, have you tryed disabling network drivers/ wireless ect your pc is struggling to communicate data around.
     
  7. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    its all nv driver fault.. I had a thought its gonna be the same sheit with 560gtx as its basically the same as 460gtx when it comes to driver dependency.


    Indianscout what gpu driver did you use?
     
  8. IndianScout

    IndianScout Banned

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX580 SLI
    I've tried the following

    .24
    .26
    270's
    266.66 that came with the card

    everyone of them show the same latency

    I've disabled

    lan, usb, xfi, nothing seems to affect it, I have all the latest drivers for the mobo installed also..
     
  9. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
  10. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,373
    Likes Received:
    310
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    here, this is what i did..
    I sent all that over to gigabyte, cause my card was from them, they contactet NVidia and after a few weeks it was fixed per driver..

    maybe u wanna take a look into it ;)

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=326155
     

  11. IndianScout

    IndianScout Banned

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX580 SLI
    ok just sent a ticket in to Gigabyte, I uninstalled the video, sound and updated the motherboard drivers, rebooted with no video or sound drivers, the DPC is still the same

    no change at all..

    grrrrrrrrrrrrr
     
  12. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,373
    Likes Received:
    310
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    if its the same without the VGA Driver its likely something else thats causing this..

    Do u have another vga card around? put this one in and test it..if its still there, it cant be the new GTX560 ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  13. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    btw do you use any hw monitoring gadgets?
     
  14. IndianScout

    IndianScout Banned

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX580 SLI

    since they are both Gigabyte I'm actually thinking it's the mobo at this point, I'm going to tear down and use another mobo with a 965 chipset later today to see if that fixes it..
     
  15. IndianScout

    IndianScout Banned

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX580 SLI
    ok I went back thru my steps and reinstalled the mobo drivers after a good cleaning with driver cleaner

    booted - same result,

    so I installed the 266.44 drivers without the sound and 3d apps..

    but this time I DIDN'T reboot

    here's the result..

    [​IMG]

    I've disabled everything I can in services and the device manager none of them made any difference but doing that did, so it has to be in the drivers..


    as soon as I rebooted it came back

    :3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2011

  16. Cru_N_cher

    Cru_N_cher Master Guru

    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI NX8800GT OC
    In those regards be aware of ASUS AI Suite 2 the Probe 2 part is so bad programmed that whenever it pools (default 5 second) it causes a DPC spike, you should be really careful what you run in the background anyway and whenever you experience frame drops anywhere 3D Games or Video (also Micro stutter i read so often here about can be caused by this, bad use of timers can cause a Engine to drop frames happens for example in the Final Fantasy Benchmark) you should debug the problem you will be surprised how many Software is plain bad programmed, though it got much better over the last years.

    And no Nvidias Driver got fixed and here its working and i saw that DPC improvement even on my G92 based card (which doesn't switch states) when it got fixed for GTX460 users mainly (DPC significantly lowered).

    I can only say try Rivatuner it's the most efficient sensor programm ever developed for Windows nothing can cope with it neither Aida nor Hwinfo nothing else is as efficient programmed as Rivatuner and its Kernel Drivers :)

    The Windows Sidebar and its Gadgets also often cause to much damage especially if you plaster your sidebar full with Gadgets you shouldn't be surprised that your PCs performance degrades ;)

    This is how it can look but it needs Time to tweak everything for High Resolution (on my new Sandy Bridge H67 Core I5)

    [​IMG]

    This is Windows XP though on Vista/7 its harder especially with enabled DWM as it causes latency for the Direct3D based Aero all the time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  17. IndianScout

    IndianScout Banned

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX580 SLI
    well I tore the box down installed a P965 board, installed xp x64,

    reboot no drivers, same result,

    installed windows 7

    reboot no drivers, same result,

    installed my P45 board installed xp64

    same results

    installed windows 7 x64

    no drivers same result

    during all this I had the onboard lan, sound, and all intel e1st and VM turned off

    so I loaded all the drivers for windows 7, but check this out

    http://i54.tinypic.com/2gtr9ft.jpg

    notice in the top left corner and in the performance tab, there are 0 DPC calls being polled

    I find this very odd..
     
  18. BeoWulf_

    BeoWulf_ Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 G1
    [​IMG]

    No problems.. left the DPC checker running while completed a session of Crysis2 demo, and waited for the gfx to clock down to idle.. and no change.
     
  19. tvavra

    tvavra Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX460 768MB
    Go to Power options and set it on Gaming mode(or something like that :) ), my dpc latency droped from 360 to +-100. Or u can try this: Click Start --> Search for "Power Options" and open this control panel --> (on default "Balanced (recommended)" is selected) Choose "change plan settings" --> "Change advanced power settings" --> "Processor power management" --> "Minimum processor state" --> change setting to "100%"

    try it helps to u
     
  20. Infinity7_00

    Infinity7_00 Banned

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX580SC 1536mb
    Uninstall the NVidia HDMI Audio Driver in Add/Remove Programs. After you reboot your PC will install some generic Microsoft HDMI Audio driver for it which you'll be able to see in Device Manager/Sound Devices. It's not enough to just disable them there. Ya hafta uninstall the NVidia HDMI Audio Driver in Add/Remove Programs and don't let your PC put that driver back in. The generic Microsoft driver for them is ok though.
     

Share This Page