Fermi bios editor guide

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by civato, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce

    Really need help here guys, nvflash is not working, all I get is cannot open file error ( bios.rom file when trying to flash in DOS ) .
     
  2. baltazhor

    baltazhor New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte + EVGA GTX460 1G
    Try with nvflash 5.9.

    Previous versions didn't work for me.
     
  3. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce
    Did you also get the "cannot find file" error message?
     
  4. baltazhor

    baltazhor New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte + EVGA GTX460 1G
    i think so. I had to use that version.

    regards
     

  5. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce
    Not working.

    Tried with 5.95 version now.

    Have tried turning EEPROM off to create new bios.rom files for me to mod and still no go.

    Just get a simple error message saying "I/O error, cannot open file, "<filename.rom>"

    Thats it, it simply isn't working.

    Are there any other flash programs I could try?
     
  6. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce
    Working for me now, used too long filenames when trying to save it in .rom and then run it in DOS.

    Using 3 letter names now and it worked like a charm, running 1.213 volts now and looking for maximum OC :)
     
  7. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
    All tools are in the dowload package , Nvflash 5.100 the latest is in there.

    Multi monitor setup find solution here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3960221&postcount=111

    Please guys use search , I think almost any problem has been covered.
    And use short flash names , always make a backup of your original bios.
    Did you guys read the flashing guide ? Blind flash ? etc.......
    Always save your bios as a .bin file after editing.

    I don't want to offend any one but I'm very busy right now , XDA A500 Flexspeed rom and mods , This Fermi bios editing , Clan admin , Translate update for Msi Afterburner , My day job,Wife , 2kids, family and friends.

    So I cannot keep answering questions that already have been answered or covered in this thread !!
     
  8. Fr0stx

    Fr0stx Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX780SC@1100Mhz 1.087v
    Just a quick update, Nvidia driver 290.36 seems to have remove the extra voltage (+0.013v) behavior we had with modofied bios on previous drivers. My opinion is now re-enforced that they where adding one step of voltage via software to cure some games... or they just fixed the thing, who knows... But my voltage is now accurate in Nvidia inspector.
     
  9. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
    Some history , I adressed the voltage read out on driver 280... was incorrect if you modded the bios

    My question and the answer
    Now the read out with 290.. is back the same as what the bios shows.
    So I think that is a good thing.
    The readout was always correct in GPU-Z even with driver 280...
     
  10. landerfha

    landerfha Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 TI
    My 470's bios is NCspecV81's 480 based one. It's bumped shader was calculated as if it's a 480. I just edited and flashed a higher clock but forgot to account for that. In keeping with the 480 base I should have set 1440/1513, but I set it to 1440/1508 cause I selected 470 on the fermi calc. Will this effect anything? Is it worth flashing it to 1513? I'm not really clear on just what the bumped shader setting does or exactly what went into modding this bios to work on a 470. It could be whatever reason the 480 needed that setting doesn't carry over onto the 470 hardware even though it's a 480 bios. I have no idea haha
     

  11. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
    bumped shader is for stability, you need to use the calculation for your card.
     
  12. Calle2003

    Calle2003 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX560 1GB+GT430 1GB
    When you have two monitors connected to one Nvidia graphics card the GPU core clock increases so yeah it's normal.
     
  13. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,345
    Likes Received:
    290
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    yep, its normal, BUT u can change that with NVInspector..orbmu2k made an tool just for that ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Odellot

    Odellot Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    TUF RTX 3090 XG438Q
    Could Anyone Edit my new Palit GTX 570 Bios? I want core clock 865mhz and 1730 shader clock. and 2080 memory clock with 1050mV voltage. 100% maximum clock speed. Tnx in advance. http://www.mediafire.com/?lxx010r6344ds21
     
  15. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire

  16. Hans Gruber

    Hans Gruber New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus ENGTX560 DC/2DI/1GD5
    I'm having trouble adjusting the fan speeds on my Asus GTX560, I can't seem to open the BIOS properly in any editor. The default min fan speed is 20% or 1800rpm which is pretty noisy. I'd really appreciate it if anyone could edit my BIOS to lower that minimum speed to 10 or 15% (or a version with each would be great).

    Link to the BIOS ripped with gpu-z - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2049162/GF114.bin
     
  17. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
    Fan min 15% :GTX15 nvflash command is nvflash GTX15.rom

    Fan min 10% : GTX10 nvflash command is nvflash GTX10.rom
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  18. Hans Gruber

    Hans Gruber New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus ENGTX560 DC/2DI/1GD5
    Thanks for that.

    I've tried flashing but although the fan speed minimum lowers the RPM stays the same. HW Monitor and MSI afterburner both say the fan is running at 10% but the actual fan speed is the same as it was when running at 20%. Seems odd.
     
  19. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
    That is possible , maybe the fan controller doesn't allow it to be lower then a fixed rpm speed.
     
  20. WMoreira

    WMoreira New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 550Ti 1GB
    Hey guys, I have an GTX550 and it has three clocks: 3D full (910/1820/2052), medium (405/810/324) and 2D idle (50/101/135). I want to put the medium clocks at 250/500/324, but I don't know how to change the clocks in nibitor. I identified the medium clocks as P7 in the Fermi Clock Domain Editor in nibitor, and it seems that the P7 does not follow the same rule of the full 3D (P15) clocks. See the picture to understand better:
    [​IMG]

    I'm thinking to change where is 810 to 500 (shader), 405 to 250 (gpu main clock) and where is 324 stays the same.
    What do you think? I'm right?
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2012

Share This Page