Fastest CPU for Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by WhiskeyBravo, Nov 26, 2009.

1. WhiskeyBravo

WhiskeyBravo New Member

GPU:
    Asus Nvidia GTX 275
    I've lost track a little with all the latest CPU offerings but I'm trying to squeeze a little more performance from my PC before I go for a major upgrade next year.

I've been looking at the Phenom chips and I inderstand that my mobo will take a AM2+ CPU, but there seem to be quite a few choices for AM2+ and I'm not sure which ones will be compatible with my mobo. The ASUS site specifies several Phenom chips but doesn't mention Phenom II chips for my mobo. So I'm a bit confused.

Ideally, I'd like a quad core for around the £100 mark. Is this realistic or am I better off just waiting till next year?

Regards,

WB.

2. gandalf21502

gandalf21502 Master Guru

GPU:
    EVGA 260GTX 216, 700/2300
    I have been running the 940 for a couple months now...gave me a NICE upgrade for this 'ole' motherboard...:)

3. Liranan

Liranan Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI 6870 1000/1200
    You could try the PII 620 or the X3 720.

4. WhiskeyBravo

WhiskeyBravo New Member

GPU:
    Asus Nvidia GTX 275
    Thanks for the replies folks.

Gandalf, is your 940 the same as this one?:

If so I can't match the manufacturers code to my mobo (or yours) so I'm guessing the codes/list of compatible CPU's may not be up to date at the ASUS website.

There's so many different models numbers etc these days it's a bit of a nightmare. I remember my very first upgrade was a choice between a Pentium 166 or a Pentium 200 both with MMX!!! Dead easy back then. :)

Regards,

WB.

5. Uncle Dude

Uncle Dude Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
  6. gandalf21502

gandalf21502 Master Guru

GPU: