FarCry 4 Thread

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Feb 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Yea, I was wondering why the XML uses double PP in the word Triple
    --

    Found this too, QualityEditor="editor_ps3"

    Guess that's just for the map editor?
     
  2. doktor1

    doktor1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    Look my control panel settings again.. I dont have triple enabled there...

    And yes, in GamerProfile is UseTrippleBuffering
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014
  3. tw1st

    tw1st Member Guru

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080GTX FTW ACX3.0
    Hoping that 1.4 comes sooner than later, and actually brings some fixes rather than just hairworks....
     
  4. Rafnagud

    Rafnagud Master Guru

    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    Yeah i know but i'm not talking about your GamerProfile but the driver setting.
     

  5. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,595
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Yes. Just logged in.
    Closed it, restarted... and logged in again.
     
  6. oxide

    oxide Master Guru

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX980Ti
    Its a completely different game and play through with the HUD disabled. Personally I think it forces you to really pay attention to your surroundings, how you will approach and strategize missions and there is less distraction. It also adds tension not knowing how much ammo you have or health. Again, forces you to play more strategically. I recommend to everyone looking for full immersion.
     
  7. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,595
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    From what I've read, people that have used the leaked version of the update are saying it did improve the game for them.

    Though Hairworks completely kills performance, otherwise it seems to improve the game.
     
  8. Slam

    Slam Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 XC
    No performance issues here.

    But I have a annoying lock up problem. If I go into the game with a fresh PC restart, it loads up fine. If I go out of the game, and come back in later, it locks up my pc during the load screen with the progress bar going across the bottom. Restart/lather/rinse/repeat.
     
  9. Adexus

    Adexus Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLi
    My Far Cry 4 on Uplay just updated, no hairworks, still stutters, doesn't seem to have done anything at all.
     
  10. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    This patch is 39MB, the 1.4.0 patch is somewhere near a GB, maybe a prerequisite
     

  11. CryZENx

    CryZENx Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980Ti ACX 2.0

    rhinos are to OP :infinity:
     
  12. Pigchild

    Pigchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,476
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 Super
    Oh yea, I am actually shocked that I'm getting solid FPS at ultra settings with this game. I do wish weapons selection in game was more simplified (more in the style of Crysis 3 would have been nice.)

    Some people probably like the challenge of having to unlock specific weapons. Call me Lazy, but I like when new weapons are simply available as the campaign progresses. That grappling hook really ticks me off. You should be able to utilize it and throw it to work at any high point it can reach, rather than the game dictating only specific areas and points in which it can be utilized.
     
  13. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,994
    Likes Received:
    509
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Eurogamer.net Face-Off: http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2014-far-cry-4-face-off

    It backs up what I said a week or so back about HRAA on the PS4 offering far better anti-aliasing than any of the options available in the PC version, especially when it comes to reducing shimmering on trees and foliage while in motion. It's a shame Ubisoft did not implement HRAA on PC because I personally think it is better than FXAA or SMAA plus it is obviously less intensive than the NVIDIA-only TXAA too.
     
  14. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,994
    Likes Received:
    509
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    P.S. It also mentions the stuttering issue on PC, which makes the game a far less enjoyable experience for me than the 30 fps PS4 version. As such I'm waiting for that to be fixed in a patch before returning back to the PC version. :(
     
  15. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    HardOCP performance benchmark: let say, the AMD are now faster with 1.3, (depend the setting ), but so much stutter.
    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2014/11/21/far_cry_4_video_card_performance_iq_preview#.VHNfncmSMic

    I dont have the game yet ( i wait it run a bit better ), so i cant confirm myself.
     

  16. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    i'm using the 1.4 update now too, the 'simulated' fur is immense. wow!
     
  17. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    I had a view minutes ago the patch 1.4, i start the game and the pach roll back to 1.3 WTF Ubitroll are you f*cking with me?
     
  18. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    Patch is out?
     
  19. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,226
    Likes Received:
    162
    GPU:
    1080TI Gaming editi
    that is wrong, nvidia need to fix the performance issues, or ubisoft. i hope it nvidia issue since no way patch killed nvidia performance, and 280X is faster than 780. If the fix is within ubisoft side, we might wait and wait and wait...
     
  20. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    39MB patch about 30 mins ago, now a 38MB patch
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page