FarCry 4 Thread

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Feb 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dnottis

    dnottis Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA SSC 970 GTX 4GB
    Did this the other day too, I just want to unlock some of the guns so I'm fine with doing that.
     
  2. Feed_Bucket

    Feed_Bucket Master Guru

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    Love this sell it broke now and fix it later industry we have here. Especially when it looks like I will have to use 4gb of my 10gb monthly bandwidth cap just to update this dumb game.

    Too bad we just accept this as standard practice.
     
  3. Duke Nil

    Duke Nil Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Really digging this game, got oxide's config from earlier in the thread but set some things to ultra instead of very high and disabled volumetric fog (I think the fog/godrays look terrible, much prefer without and it performs better). Still get 60-95 fps with very little stuttering and it looks amazing. One thing I recommend for anyone that uses his config is to set AlphaToCoverage="0" instead of 1, it basically does nothing and will affect performance a little bit. Check out here for more information

    I also really like not having the hud, it feels a little uncomfortable at first but it makes me start to look around and actually pay attention to what's happening rather than just focusing on the minimap and going on auto-pilot from waypoint to waypoint all the time
     
  4. BigBlockTowncar

    BigBlockTowncar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Evga GTX970 SC
    Has anyone run into unfinishable side missions? I started a delivery mission where you pick up the items and then take them somewhere else....I get to where I am supposed to put the items and I think the person I am supposed to give them to is dead....I can hear a beeping noise as if it supposed to draw attention, but I can't find where it is coming from.
     

  5. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,595
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Had it happen with a hijacking quest.
    I killed the driver of the truck, jumped in and start driving... but a few other guards drove up and threw a molotov at the truck.

    It set everything on fire, and I jumped out... and the truck blew up.
    But, the marker stayed at the camp for me to deliver the truck. Starting another side quest didn't stop it. Finally, I had to just restart the game.


    I also had a case were Sabal ran off and I couldn't start a quest.
    I walked up to the house he was at, say a propaganda poster... so I shot it with a fire arrow.
    Only... it started burning the house. The grass. The tree... the field in front of the house...
    And as the fire continued to spread, Sabal kept running further and further away.
    By the time the fire completely burnt out, Sabal was about 300+ meters from the house and nowhere to be seen.
    That one... I was too busy laughing at to get annoyed by. I just went off and did some other stuff for a while, and when I returned to the house... he was sitting on the porch... surrounded by burnt fields and trees like nothing had happened.
     
  6. oxide

    oxide Master Guru

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX980Ti
    For those with heavy setup GTX 780+ here is a new profile I've put together and am still testing. It is based on the stock 'NVIDIA' profile in game with a few tweaks. It is working well for me, with an occasional stutter here and there which I can live with for now, until a patch comes out to address it or a driver update. I'm thinking stuttering issues are driver related, but you never really can tell.

    What I find interesting that seems to work on my setup well is that in the profile there are two instances of "GPUMaxBufferedFrames' one at '0' and one at '3'. Please leave this as is and report on your results with this profile. For me, I get superior smoothness with this with no difference in quality. I'm curious how it affects others.

    For those with more modest setups, I suggest you try what others have mentioned in the thread (i.e. set alpha coverage to "0" and disableloadingmip to '1' if you're not worried about texture quality.

    I've set the following specific settings in my Nvidia Control Panel settings as follows:

    Maximum Pre-Rendered Frames =3
    Triple Buffering =ON
    V-Sync = Adaptive

    PHP:
    <GamerProfile>
        <
    SoundProfile MusicEnabled="1" MasterVolume="100" Language="english" />
        <
    ProfileSpecificGameProfile Sensitivity="1" MouseAcceleration="1" MouseAccelerationOn="0" MouseInvert_y="0" MouseInvert_y_Flying="0" MouseLookSensitivity="4.17232" Invert_x="0" Invert_y="0" Invert_y_Flying="1" Swap_Triggers="0" Flip_Triggers="0" InvertSticks="0" DefaultFlickFireDirection_y="0" ControllerLayoutVehicle="0" ControllerLayoutBuzzer="0" UseMouseSmooth="0" Smoothness="1" Smoothness_Ironsight="1" HelpCrosshair="0" Gamepad_vibration="0" UseRoadSignHilight="1" SubtitlesLanguage="invalid_language" TaggingEnabled="0" WikiUpdatedEnabled="1" CollectibleUpdatedEnabled="0" TutorialUpdatedEnabled="0" ObjectiveReminderEnabled="0" CraftingTipsEnabled="0" DisplayXPEnabled="0" DetectionIndicatorEnabled="0" HitIndicatorEnabled="0" ExplosiveIndicatorEnabled="1" MapIndicatorEnabled="0" HealthIndicatorEnabled="0" CrouchIndicatorEnabled="0" KarmaIndicatorEnabled="0" AmmoIndicatorEnabled="0" MinimapOpacity="3" LootReadoutEnabled="0" CoopPartnerIndicatorEnabled="0" UseAmbx="0" GamepadFeedbackLayout="0" Autosave="1" Machete="0" DrivingAssistEnabled="0" DifficultyLevel="1" IronsightToggleMode="0" ShowPVPTips="0" ShowPVPTimer="0" ShowPVPScorebar="0" ShowPVPPlayerTags="0" ShowPVPObituaryMessages="0" ShowPVPNotifications="0" ShowPVPMasterVoiceToggle="0" ShowPVPFactionPowerUpIcons="0" ShowPVPPlayerNames="0" PlayPVPIntroVideo="0" HasVisitedCoopMenu="0" SelectedLanguage="english" Coop_Friends_Only="0" DrivingAutoAimEnabled="1">
            <
    FireConfig QualitySetting="VeryHigh" />
            <
    CompressedClasses />
            <
    Statistics>
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
                <
    Stat Value="0" />
            </
    Statistics>
        </
    ProfileSpecificGameProfile>
        <
    RenderProfile AntiAliasingMode="0" MSAALevel="2" D3D11MultithreadedRendering="1" MaxDriverBufferedFrames="3" LodDitheringQuality="pc" GPUMaxBufferedFrames="3" SDSM="1" UseTrippleBuffering="1" VSyncMode="1" UseMotionBlur="1" SSAOLevel="3" EnableNvidiaPCSS="1" GodRaysLevel="2" FurLevel="2" TreeTessellationLevel="1" Version="1" AlphaToCoverage="1" ResolutionX="1920" ResolutionY="1080" Quality="nvidia" QualityEditor="editor_ps3" Fullscreen="1" Borderless="0" UseD3D11="1" WidescreenLetterbox="0" UseWidescreenFOV="1" FOVScaleFactor="0.997408" AspectRatio="0" VSync="0" VSyncWindow="0" RefreshRate="0" DisableLoadingMip0="0" GPUMaxBufferedFrames="0" ShowFPS="0" Brightness="1" Contrast="1" CalibrationScreensShown="0" GammaRamp="1" AllowAsynchShaderLoading="1" SafeFrameAreaWidth="0.85" SafeFrameAreaHeight="0.85">
            <
    CustomQuality>
                <
    quality ResolutionX="1280" ResolutionY="720" OtherQuality="high" EnvironmentQuality="ultrahigh" AntiPortalQuality="default" PortalQuality="default" PostFxQuality="ultrahigh" TextureQuality="ultrahigh" WaterQuality="ultrahigh" DepthPassQuality="high" VegetationQuality="ultrahigh" TerrainQuality="ultrahigh" GeometryQuality="ultrahigh" LightingQuality="high" ShadowQuality="softshadow" ShadowCinematicQuality="high" EditorQuality="default" Hdr="1" HdrFP32="1" ReflectionHdr="1" EnableVertexBinding="1" id="custom" />
            </
    CustomQuality>
        </
    RenderProfile>
        <
    NetworkProfile VoiceChatEnabled="1" CustomMapMaxUploadRateInBitsOnline="10240000" OnlineEnginePort="9000" OnlineServicePort="9001" FileTransferHostPort="9002" FileTransferClientPort="9003" LanHostBroadcastPort="9004" LanClientBroadcastPort="9005" ScanFreePorts="1" ScanPortRange="1000" ScanPortStart="9000" SessionProvider="" MaxUploadInbpsOnline="10240000">
            <
    Accounts />
        </
    NetworkProfile>
        <
    GameProfile />
        <
    RealTreeProfile Quality="Ultra" />
        <
    EngineProfile>
            <
    PhysicConfig QualitySetting="VeryHigh" />
            <
    QcConfig GatherFPS="1" GatherAICnt="1" GatherDialogs="0" IsQcTester="0" />
            <
    InputConfig />
            <
    ZoneConfig />
        </
    EngineProfile>
    </
    GamerProfile>
     
  7. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    What the hell ? I found a bug, if i choose NVIDIA preset, the shadows/lightning are going crazy.This bug doesn't occur with any other preset(Low/Medium/High etc).Choosing any other preset and changing the settings manually works flawlessly though.Damn, i thought it was a driver issue..
     
  8. zimzoid

    zimzoid Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    2xEVGA980TiSC+(H20) Swift
    Hi, using the Maximum Pre-Rendered Frames =3 and Triple Buffering =ON setting plus changing the GPUMaxBufferedFrames setting to 3 seems to have eliminated the occasional stutter i have been getting especially when driving, still testing...
     
  9. BigBlockTowncar

    BigBlockTowncar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Evga GTX970 SC
    I figured it out, there was an extra bag of crap under some objects that were covering it. There is a notification at the top of the screen 1/2 or 0/2 for the items you need to retrieve and you always give them to one of those locked doors where the guy says you can't come in.

    The outpost master side missions are bugged for everyone it seems; once completed the game freezes with a black and gray screen.
     
  10. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI DUKE OC
    Here are my own tweaks that I have been playing with for the past week. This is the smoothest it's felt.

    Everything is set to ultra except fur simulation which is bugged.

    Hyper threading off...(this is the most important.changed the way the game felt and stopped the drops in framerate or at least the fluctuations)

    Max pre rendered frames=3(1 in game)

    prefer max performance + single display mode

    Use all cuda in control panel

    fur on not simulated

    Alpha to coverage "0" this makes hardly any difference to image at all.

    MSAA X 2. Ideally I would use SMAA but this is bugged with SLI.

    Motion Blur off.

    All smoothing options set to "0" in the profile.

    Timer tool set to 0.500(1 or 2 fps more if that)

    Vsync off.

    These setting provide me with a minimum of 60fps(usually hovers around 80) at 1920 x 1080.

    I use the SLI profile for far cry 4 and as yet havn't been to put out by the dark shadows but using the far cry 3 sli bits that don't scale as well do get rid of this.
     

  11. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Is anyone else not able to log in to Uplay client? I've even tried the reset password thing in case id just put in the wrong password, but they dont even send you the email to reset it.

    Edit: Problem seems to be at my end.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014
  12. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    you tits could make a much better game no doubt.
     
  13. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    My problem is with the client.

    But Im certainly not the only one to notice the lack of quality coming out of Ubisoft for the last 10 years. Though I suppose having common sense, logic and self control over my wallet to not impulse by everything the gaming industries marketing departments tell me to buy makes me a hater, right?

    What is it with so many gamers these days. If myself and others who aren't so inept, blind and deluded refuse to buy poorly developed games, we're some how 'haters'.

    There, I took the bait. Happy?

    Now, can you or can you not log into Uplay?
     
  14. doktor1

    doktor1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    I managed to remove stuttering completely.
    Here is video

    I blocked FPS on 30 just to show there is no FPS drop; and shadowplay takes few FPS, (like in AC: Unity, shadowplay takes cca 4 FPS only if running in backround and not recording :3eyes:) ...
    I play on this setting and have cca 40 FPS. Before I had drops to around 20 FPS no matter what settings I use, especaliy while driving...

    GamerProfile.xml:
    GPUMaxBufferedFrames=3
    UseTrippleBuffering="1"
    AlphaToCoverage="0"

    Nvidia control panel settings:
    [​IMG]

    And, here is screenshot gallery :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014
  15. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,226
    Likes Received:
    162
    GPU:
    1080TI Gaming editi
    Offtopic but i think FC4 poor performance and sutter are nvidia issue mainly, looking at Dragon age Inquisition, it shows AGAIN bad performance on nvidia part. where the 280X best the GTX780, and 780ti are far behind the simple R9 290.

    Something wrong with nvidia driver and those two titles.
     

  16. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Can anyone else log into uplay?

    Also, does the command gfx_maxFps still work in this iteration of Dunia? I know in FC2 that some people had to cap the fps at 60 (for example) as the default value of 9999 caused stuttering and slight tearing even with vsync on.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014
  17. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Did you copy/paste that from your XML file?

    Because "Triple" only has 1 p in the correct spelling, is it meant to have a double p ?
     
  18. 3Dghost

    3Dghost Master Guru

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Ed
    Animal encounters are just amazing. One moment you see an eagle snatching a goat or I saw tiger fighting a bear.
     
  19. 3Dghost

    3Dghost Master Guru

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Ed
    Maybe better, they will have more time to do it right.
     
  20. Rafnagud

    Rafnagud Master Guru

    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    It's Triple and the nVidia driver setting is only for OpenGL so it's useless. If you want Triple Buffering in DirectX games you have to use the ingame setting or D3DOverrider or RadeonPro.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page