FarCry 4 Thread

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Feb 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sephking

    sephking Master Guru

    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980ti Classified
    Yeah I had the same issue. Seems to happen whenever I use TXAA or MSAA. If I used SMAA or disabled AA completely (and just increased the resolution to 1440p) it eliminates the issue. Haven't tried it with the latest nvidia drivers yet though.
     
  2. Danwillysxi

    Danwillysxi Master Guru

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    2080Ti
    Motion blur is not working for me? toggled on and off a few times and it definitely isn't making any difference either way. Anyone had this issue?

    Also when I set to borderless from fullscreen it goes awol! I can only see top left corner of the screen zoomed right in and I have to revert back to fullscreen. Again, anyone else had this issue or know a fix?

    Just to follow the above, apart from these minor issues the game seems to be running O.K for me (played for 30-60 mins last night). 40-50fps all on ultra with 2xMSAA @ 2560x1440 - I am pleasantly surprised by this as I have read quite a few comments with people having issues.
     
  3. Emille

    Emille Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Aorus Extreme
    I'm really pissed off with the weapon unlocks in this game.

    I am being forced to grind through an ungodly amount of side mission in order to unlock signature weapons ( which are 90% of the weapons in the game ) While I have 2 million dollars sitting in my wallet doing nothing because even though I have bought all the weapons and all the useless crap just to put my money to use it means nothing for the one thing you really want...more guns.

    I am going to need a weapon mod because frankly I would rather just play the story and unlock weapons or be able to buy them when I have enough money.

    As someone else said, they bloat the game time with stupid game mechanic walls. The real game time is probably 20 hours which is piss poor but given that they pulled the old 'complete more missions to reach the northern section' invisible wall it is only a pseudo open world game.
     
  4. ponhei9502

    ponhei9502 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 770 2 GB
    If you're experiencing a lot of stuttering in game while moving quickly, or simply at all then this might help you.

    I'd recommend turning off your page file. Doesn't stutter at all anymore for me and my frame rate is a lot higher.

    Also recommend going into "C:\Users\"your username"\Documents\My Games\Far Cry 4". Open GamerProfile.xml with notepad and search for "GPUMaxBufferedFrames". Then change it from 0 to 3-4.

    Don't know if this will work for anyone else but it could be worth giving it a try.
     

  5. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,924
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    All SLI users should either try the FC3 profile or play without SLI, I'll try this myself when I get home.
     
  6. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,924
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    I'll just leave this right here :)

     
  7. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    FC3 profile have some problems like flickering and glitch. There is still not a decent Sli profile for this crappy optimized game.

    I am really pissed off, every Ubi games is worse than the previous one.
     
  8. Dr.Puschkin

    Dr.Puschkin Member Guru

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLi
    No way. They only release every year, I'm sure that's enough time for quality product. /s
     
  9. TR2N

    TR2N Master Guru

    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    AMD
    I have reached 24/32 main mission.
    It's been helluva journey quite amazing but the one thing frustrating is the tanking of fps trying to load certain missions over and over to complete them.
    Even with the fixes the fps is not smooth even when over 30fps. Sometimes it's showing 45 and it feels stuttery.
    I hope they can fix this as moving around is critical to completion.
    Such a hummungous map how were they expecting users to run it smoothly. Seems it hasn't been coded correctly to work with a variety of systems which ultimately makes the game at times frustrating.
     
  10. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI DUKE OC
    I tried this but neither helped. Thanks anyway :(
     

  11. kampi71

    kampi71 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980ti OC
    Yeah, it's really a shame, because the benefits of SLI/Crossfire are undoubtable, especially when you have a 120Hz+ monitor. Once you enjoyed the smoothness of this you'll have a hard time to go back to 60 Hz. The downside is of course the sheer amount of GPU power that is necessary to reach the 100 fps+ goal without sacrificing too much visual fidelity. So the only way is to go for some highend SLI/crossfire system. I'm using SLI for many years and sure you have to be a bit more passible, haha. But in general PC gamers must have the ability to suffer, especially these days. BTW, I also own both so called NEXTGEN consoles but in terms of mulitplatform titles or especially shooters I always go for the PC, no doubt about that.
    Back to FC 4, well, the SLI support must and should be improved, because the current state is not ideal no doubt. Especially the AA issues together with some general streaming probs should be adressed by NVIDIA and Ubisoft.
     
  12. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    Well, consequence is that i'll have not enough money to spend for these puke from now on.
     
  13. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
    Playing at 60 fps average with 100% GPU usage sure is a big problem for me.
    /sarcasm.
     
  14. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 970
    i'm experiencing stuttering while running, moving normally doesn't stutter.
     
  15. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,924
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Oh damn. We'll, back to single-GPU (like with Shadow of Mordor). Maybe I'd better just sell both my 970s and buy a 980 :( It honestly feels more and more like a good idea.
     

  16. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,924
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Oh well that's all peachy then, boy.

    I adore the pitch black textures in the evening/night which makes me feel like I'm walking in a cave. Or the complete blur when using AA which makes me feel like I'm looking at the game through an aquarium. Or the stuttering while driving which makes me wonder if I or the game is on drugs.

    Honestly, you got something against me or what? We're having serious discussions here and the thread has increased with over ten pages since official launch. If the game and the driver associated were perfect, no one would be writing here...period, instead people would be playing and be happy about it. But since it isn't, we might aswell check's wrong and see if we can help each other (like the DisableLoadingMip0="1", helped a lot). If your game is working fine and you don't have anything constructive to post then go away.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2014
  17. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,002
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    You should have done that in the first place.

    Anyway, still nothing about how can we change gundraw fov? I saw one guy on youtube did it but i cant find a video.
     
  19. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    It seems to be a great IQ loss if you change this value DisableLoadingMip0="1"..yep, it helps a lot with stuttering but at what price?

    DisableLoadingMip0="0" // default

    [​IMG]

    DisableLoadingMip0="1" // custom

    [​IMG]

    ______________________________________

    Changing the value form "0" to "1" the game load only the low res textures, even with "ultra texture" enable. I've taken these ss from here: http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=934393&page=15
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2014
  20. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,977
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    As i thought..So..Waiting for an official patch.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page