FarCry 4 Thread - Part 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by morbias, Nov 28, 2014.

  1. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,432
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Game runs smoother.
    Stuttering is basically gone, frame rates are higher. Mouse controls feel much better.



    Cutscenes still result in a black screen with no video, only audio. And as soon as the cutscene is over... game continues on as if nothing is wrong.
     
  2. binaryStar

    binaryStar Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 SC 1450/7800
    Patch has changed nothing for me. Stuttering while driving maybe, seems slightly better. Otherwise, still getting stutter, FPS drops all over the place, for no reason. Never had a problem with black cutscenes.

    Really no performance issues fixed whatsoever for me. I'm thinking a new Nvidia driver is going to be what fixes it, hopefully.
     
  3. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,432
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    The black cutscenes only just started happening for me.
    After about 18 hours of play. I had just taken out the first Fort and Pagan's first general guy, Paul.

    Did one mission for Longinus and then started a Shangri-La mission... and that's when it started.
    I've tried verifying the game files, reinstalling my GPU drivers, installing an older set. Reinstalling DX.
    Waiting for today's patch hoping it would fix it.

    I'm going to try uninstalling and reinstalling the game and see if that does anything.
    But, Ubisoft's support has been worthless on this.
    Their first message was "Make sure you graphics drivers are up to date, and send us a copy of your DXdiag... and get your DirectX version... "
     
  4. TaskMaster

    TaskMaster Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    323
    GPU:
    Strix 2080TI 11gb
    God at last I can play this damn game. The stuttering is virtually gone, its still there, but hardly noticeable.

    I play with 2xaa, Txaa looks terrible in this game. Why is Txaa so bad on here?
     

  5. Maddness

    Maddness Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    297
    GPU:
    Asus Strix RX 480
  6. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    Nice, i see more vram usage, also normal ram have a higher useage.
    -No stutters after 15 seconds
    -Hairworks
    -remove FOV slider ???

     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014
  7. Juzh

    Juzh New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GB 7950 x2 crossfire
    Crossfire still not enabling for me after the latest driver update. Anyone else got this problem?
     
  8. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    FC4 just crashed on me. Hairworks seems to be the culprit.

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: FarCry4.exe
    Application Version: 0.1.0.1
    Application Timestamp: 547c8f31
    Fault Module Name: GFSDK_HairWorks.win64.dll
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 54094149
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 000000000007e6b0
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 3081
    Additional Information 1: 3aba
    Additional Information 2: 3abadb4ca0207e7b7d208f3e4ccce570
    Additional Information 3: aef9
    Additional Information 4: aef90dbae6188eb0bd512b78c4d32949
     
  9. Xtreme512

    Xtreme512 Master Guru

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX1060 6GB
    yes finally hairworks! :)
     
  10. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,032
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    I did a mission involving getting 2 packages and delivering them to a door to a cave

    then I did some exploring and go stuck in a restricted part of the map. and game kept returning me to the same spot. so I exited the game and reloaded and have to repeat the mission but game keeps crashing after getting second package.
     

  11. Kolt

    Kolt Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,714
    Likes Received:
    544
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Oh trust me, I know.. I can't stand going without DSR now. The difference is night and day. I tried going 1080 + all kinds of AA in FC4 and they all just simply look worse than any bit of DSR. Adding SMAA to DSR is just icing on the cake. I don't think DSR is getting the attention and love it deserves. For me I guess I'm getting a lot more results from it because I game on a 42inch HDTV with a 1080 native screen (not the best IQ due to pixel density and screen size). DSR on an HDTV is just amazing, for my setup at least.
     
  12. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,432
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Just finished reinstalling the game. Reinstalling my graphics driver.
    Started up the game, cutscenes still go to a black screen with audio.


    I'm about to back up my save game files, and start a new game to see if the opening cutscene plays.
     
  13. Tree Dude

    Tree Dude Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Radeon R9 270X 2GB
    My initial thoughts on 1.5:

    - Game seems smoother
    - FPS when flying is a good 5-10 higher and stutters way less (though still does a little)
    - Load times have gone up a fair bit
    - System memory usage is now hitting up to 2.4-2.5GB over the 1.7-1.8GB it was before, so they are loading a lot more upfront
    - The game did crash after about an hour of playing just as it was auto saving

    Happy so far and hoping the crash was a fluke. Will be installing the new 14.12 drivers tonight and testing some more. My textures are on high and I am not disabling MIPS, but am using most of the other tweaks.
     
  14. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,174
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    I tried playing for a little while yesterday and was surprised in a positive way that most of the stuttering is gone. The game also felt more fluent and Fur works properly. Looks like I can continue playing this game now, maybe even try some AA.

    Still running on the FC3 SLI profile though, is the FC4 one safe to use yet?
     
  15. Seaclean

    Seaclean Master Guru

    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 4GB Gaming
    Woah, you play without AA? o_O
     

  16. litwicki22

    litwicki22 Guest

    What card is recomended for TXAA 4x? I have Gtx 980 and with Txaa 4x i have dips to 38fps when standing near trees. Is SLI for this?
     
  17. Tree Dude

    Tree Dude Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Radeon R9 270X 2GB
    Your FPS look to be on par with the FC4 tweak guide on geforce.com (they use a 980 in their examples). TXAA 4x averages about a 10 FPS lower than TXAA 2x. Stick with 2x if you want to keep your FPS up.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014
  18. lorikano

    lorikano Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Sapphire 7950@1150
    New patch broke Crossfire I was using AFR mode just fine but after patch its flickering and contains artifacts .Omega driver does not fix this either.
     
  19. darkkinder

    darkkinder Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX 480
    With the new patch 1.5 and the new amd driver the stuttering almost gone, driving is much better now : )
     
  20. sephking

    sephking Master Guru

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980ti Classified

Share This Page