Farcry 3!

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Strikerx80, Jun 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NeoEnigma

    NeoEnigma Master Guru

    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    AIGHT. Here is a comparison that goes through a ton of different AA combinations. Note that the framerate loss with FXAA is exaggerated by the fact that I go from PostFX low to PostFX ultra, which also enables depth of field and SSAO. I just wanted a simple comparison so I didn't disable those for this... but they can be disabled rather easily.

    1080p w/ no anti-aliasing
    1080p w/ 2xMSAA
    1080p w/ 4xMSAA
    1080p w/ 8xMSAA
    1080p w/ 8xMSAA + FXAA (ultra PostFX)
    1080p w/ 8xMSAA + FXAA (ultra PostFX) + alpha to coverage (enhanced)

    "Alpha to Coverage" blurs foliage a LOT.... but removes aliasing, so... there you go.

    2160p w/ no anti-aliasing
    2160p w/ 2xMSAA
    2160p w/ 4xMSAA
    2160p w/ 2xMSAA + FXAA (ultra PostFX)
    2160p w/ 4xMSAA + FXAA (ultra PostFX)

    My FPS is capped at 120 FPS... which is why there is no FPS loss from no AA - 4x MSAA
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  2. Wanny

    Wanny Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,480
    Likes Received:
    0
    What a difference with downsampling. Everything is just so much more refined. You have to be BLIND to not see the difference.
     
  3. Shataan

    Shataan Master Guru

    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    1
    "This game has the most inconsistent graphics ever. Sometimes it looks gorgeous then sometimes it looks like a 2005 game"

    This game is stunning on my system with DX 11 visuals. But ya really do notice how the lighting due to time of day.... how the visuals shift with the day/night cycle. A nice perk that.


    "Distant view is horrible. Well, I mean in comparison to FC2 and even FC1. e..g, climbing the tower and looking around, the distant mountains are all blurry and foggy-ish."

    THIS I totally agree with. Ya can`t tell me that the Devs couldn`t get the distance visuals better looking than that foggy mess.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  4. NeoEnigma

    NeoEnigma Master Guru

    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    The most shocking thing, to me, is the aliasing along the drivers seat in the jeep. It doesnt go away until you get to 2160p w/ 4x MSAA + FXAA @_@
     

  5. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    any consolero nooob to the pc seeing this right now is gonna ..well i dunno what but they're not gonna believe that'spossible with those framerates, well you know what i mean that looks just fab. :)

    just to mention i've turned in-game brightness down, seems better for me.
     
  6. Mikanoshi

    Mikanoshi Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    NeoEnigma
    Downsampling impact on fps is just huge! :) Jaggies are visible even on 2160p w/ 4xMSAA.
    IMHO simple 2x MSAA + FXAA is the best and FXAA must be always enabled, all other methods fail to remove aliasing in this game.
     
  7. F1refly

    F1refly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i finally get a couple hours to play my Steam pre order of this game and i already had it pre downloaded but i keep getting an error saying "an error occurred during update farcry 3 (awaiting install disc)

    this is all it does. i rebooted, i checked for validity...wtf. i'm so enraged right now.
     
  8. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  9. NeoEnigma

    NeoEnigma Master Guru

    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    2160p is a massive resolution. That was an extreme example of downsampling, of course. With just 2106p and SMAA (via sweetfx in DX9), I'm perfectly content... but not everybody can downsample at that resolution. It would be fantastic if we could use SMAA with DX11....
     
  10. Mikanoshi

    Mikanoshi Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    NeoEnigma
    Well, I prefer InjectFXAA anyway, have my own fxaaQuality* values for the best AA with minimum blurring (used and tested in Skyrim) :)
    But I've never seen such good ingame FXAA preset as the one in FC3, so probably injector is not worth it.
     

  11. freeman28

    freeman28 Member Guru

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a problem running the game on fullscreen. When i play at 1440p the game wont run on fullscreen. Any suggestions?
     
  12. NeoEnigma

    NeoEnigma Master Guru

    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't use the FXAA injector with DX11 anyway in this game :(
     
  13. captain_trips

    captain_trips Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    OMG, im such a #$%$ idiot...

    I had Farcry 2 set to manual AA modes in my NVidia control panel, not Farcry 3

    /facepalm


    nevermind... it works fine now. Sorry about the ruckus.
     
  14. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Game just download something through Steam for anyone else?
     
  15. mikeysg

    mikeysg Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    How big was the download? If it was about 250mb, it is prolly a patch to bring it up to version 1.02. It is supposed to help with performance and general stability and such.
     

  16. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been at version 1.02 since the game was released in the US.
     
  17. SliChillax

    SliChillax Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Getting sick of this. Yesterday the game was playing at a solid 60, today the fps is dropping all over the place and I haven't even done anything to the gamerprofile.
     
  18. Mikedogg

    Mikedogg Banned

    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Surprisingly enough, I'm getting a consistent 30FPS at 720p with a mixture of low and high. But the requirements for FC3 are still... High?
     
  19. Straykatt

    Straykatt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info.

    I got stuck at work again late but had a chance to play the game for a good hour great time. I can tell FC3 has a lot of potential. However, it needs better AA support from ubi or nvidia, someone needs to make it happen. The only way I can get AA to work is from in game settings. And I can see it reduce jagged edges. But if I force it through nvidia control panel or through inspector it doesn't work. From 2xAA - 32xAA, I've tried them all, no luck.
    What I don't understand is why the updated inspector sli AA bits for FC3 won't work for me. The bits got released for a reason right? So I assume they do work. I followed AndyB direction to the T. The only thing I can think of is when I launch the game from the ubi folder, the FC3 d11.exe it launches the ubi game launcher first then I have to select the game from there. Can it be the inspector path to the exe file is never getting reach because the ubi uplay interrupts it?
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  20. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,186
    Likes Received:
    1
    No the Ubisoft launcher then launchers FarCry.exe or FarCry_D3D11.exe so it should reach the proper profile. :)
    (Have you set up the SLI profile correctly? it seems so since you mention those bits but from what I've read even the latest drivers have that issue where FPS drops when you shoot something, I could have misread though.)

    Unsure about AA compatibility, I get a pretty massive performance penalty if I switch over to 4x from 2x so I assume the Edge-Detect algorithm I keep enabled (Only takes effect at 4x and 8x AA) is actually working though for never games the performance penalty is too large for it to be all that useful. :)

    You could also try to rely on downsampling, might introduce some blur (Or maybe that's been fixed.) but it should sort out all the aliasing depending on how you scale it.
    (1.5x or 2x and higher although higher than that would probably give a pretty severe performance penalty as well.)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page