Far Cry 5 Thread:

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by ramthegamer, May 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    211
    GPU:
    2080ti watercooled
    and i found this line in my config (Uplay store version)

    HDTexturesOptionSeen=
     
  2. Thelmet

    Thelmet Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    the only issue i have with this game is it stutters every time i do something like complete a quest or discover a new area. its like every time there is a pop up or an autosave? haven't seen anyone else complaining about this here.
     
    drewho and signex like this.
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,971
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Performance wise interviews on PCGamesHardware and Overclock3D shows a little bit of what they've done for the game engine.
    https://overclock3d.net/news/softwa...fp16_compute_rapid_packed_math_in_far_cry_5/1

    https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Far-Cry-5-Spiel-60934/Specials/FP16-Berechnungen-1252784/&edit-text=&act=url

    Rapid packed math and shader intrinsics plus async compute on console and having the level of detail being very close to the player thus why stuff like LOD and similar can look a bit poor further away and the same also goes for the water effects.

    There are three known DLC for the game and four currently unused slots from SteamDB's overview for the game so chances are that fourth one could be a HD texture pack since while the terrain and it's reliance on photogrammetry holds up very well many other props and assets such as character and creature models do often feel a bit lower-res and with the game trying to keep at 4 GB VRAM usage that makes sense and would allow for a texture pack to have a nice impact on texture detail for people with 6 to 8 GB of VRAM or more for display resolutions such as 3840x2160 and above. :)

    EDIT: Which I wonder if AMD had any say in that particular part, keeping 4 GB for users with 4 GB Polaris GPU's and perhaps the aging but still active Fury.

    This thing needs a upgrade but paying 2x to 3x or higher than MSRP for a GPU upgrade that while it would solve the VRAM issue overall performance wouldn't be worth the cost well yeah for now all one can do is wait and maybe NVIDIA's new GP11 announcement and eventual release will shake stuff up a bit more ha ha.
     
  4. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,728
    Likes Received:
    141
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2060 S
    I have that too when it needs to load an area i think. But not sure about quests, i don't think i've seen a stutter during that.

    But there is something wrong with textures for sure, it's like anistropic filtering isn't working and it's very very noticeable.
    My vram stays at around 3,8gb at 3440x1440 with resolution scale set to 0.8. (Game still looks gorgeous but not as sharp but i kinda like how it looks this way.)
    And i can almost hold 58fps most of the time with a mix of medium/high settings and low shadows.
     

  5. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,992
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    I sure am :) Always.
     
    StarvinMarvinDK likes this.
  6. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,992
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    I just hope they don't wait too long with the HD pack. It's no use to those who have already finished the game.
     
    Dragam1337 and StarvinMarvinDK like this.
  7. MarkyG

    MarkyG Master Guru

    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Super
    Holy Hell this game runs and looks superb. Am enjoying it so far, even if it's just a "Ubisoft's greatest hits all molded into one package" - Also, the enemy spawns are relentless and ridiculous. It's a cracking entry into the franchise though. Colour me impressed. One of Ubi's best PC ports IMO.
     
    signex likes this.
  8. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    703
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Hmm, since you are experiencing stuttering, have you tried the following settings ? g-sync on, v-sync forced on in global profile, fps cap in rtss at 2 fps lower than your screen hz
     
  9. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    703
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Agree - i kinda wanna wait with playing it till that hd texture pack comes, cause those horribly low quality textures are really distracting me !
     
  10. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    AMD RX5700 8gb
    Am I missing something obvious in how to have multiple saves for different playthroughs? I want to have one playthrough that's completely SP and one that I play coop with the wife, I only want to unlock stuff in the playthrough of the coop version with her (if that makes sense)?
     
    DocStrangelove likes this.

  11. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,728
    Likes Received:
    141
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2060 S
    Yep, and it's not my vram so it's definitely the textures. Make the roads really blurry up close. You can see the textures also loading in when you rotate the camera.
     
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  12. archie123

    archie123 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080ti Extreme
    Am I missing something obvious or do I have to go to a shop to take my suppressor off?
     
  13. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,971
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    I don't think there's a attachment toggle key so I guess, unless there's a way from the inventory or item wheel I'm completely overlooking but I guess Ubisoft assumed people would keep them as permanent upgrades since there's no downsides to equipping them.
    (Then again there's multiple scopes and while a few have superior stats other might be better for the situation or just having a better viewing area.)
     
    archie123 likes this.
  14. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    AMD RX5700 8gb
    Got the freeze/ctd when viewing the map in coop four times in less than an hour, bloody annoying, anyone know of a fix?
     
  15. niczerus

    niczerus Master Guru

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GamingX 580 4GB
    RX580 , on some points i see drops to 50-40 fps , but on general runs on 60 fps .
     

  16. slick3

    slick3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 +85/1200
    The AI is dumb. I'm playing on Hard and the only challenge I ever got was at the beginning from the car chase.

    Otherwise the AIs just stand there, with no reaction - I can literally just run to them press F everytime. I may shoot a few of the men down and the rest within close proximity will again show no reaction... doing nothing... watching nothing. It's almost as if they were set on 'Harmless'.

    I'm enjoying the game, but I would like a challenge. Anyone can relate?
     
  17. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    479
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    Guess this is the same problem like in AC Unity, only 1 saveslot.
    You could avoid this if you always join her game so that won't affect your progress.


    Love the game so far, but i think there's too much going on besides in midair.
    In FC3 or 4 you could easily enjoy the silence for minutes while walking through nature to the nearest target location. Here's its impossible, you get attacked by anything within 30secs.
    So i take to the skies with my helo, then jump off via BATsu.... wingsuit when over the target.

    Still - too many cutscenes in this game. Gets on your nerves when you have sit there and listen to a bad guy's blah blah. :p
     
    AsiJu, StarvinMarvinDK and Death_LV like this.
  18. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    211
    GPU:
    2080ti watercooled
    is this game easy ??

    i'm hardly aiming at the enemies and those idiots are falling like flies
     
    slick3 likes this.
  19. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,728
    Likes Received:
    141
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2060 S
    The story seems too short imo, i'm already at 80% completed and i have only played for 17 hours. I even completed most side missions.

    Wildlands has such a huuuuge giant map with so many regions.
    But i guess it's cause FC5 is based on a single region in America.
     
  20. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    AMD RX5700 8gb
    Turns out it's SLI/Crossfire related (as posted by others on the Ubi forums), turned off Crossfire last night and then no crashes for the next couple of hours.

    Yeah I always do join her game but I don't want to unlock new weapons/vehicles in SP that I haven't "earned" with her in coop, I'm just weird I guess :)
     

Share This Page