Far Cry 3 - Graphical Tweaks & Problem Solving

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by NeoEnigma, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. darkempire

    darkempire New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX680 2GB
    Oke, but about Antialasing metode?, with Nvida Inspector?
    Texture Flickkeing is soo very enjoying,and i try all of In=Game setting, but
    it seems so very horrble,
     
  2. GDK78380

    GDK78380 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 680 OC TOP
    Hello,

    excuse me for my English, I'm French and I speak very bad English.

    I have a problem whith the grass and I search the lines of code for the distance display of vegetation.

    My problem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1YRrzWX_uU

    I want to change these lines of code in gamerprofile.xlm if possible.

    Thank you very much
     
  3. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    135
    GPU:
    1070Ti Phoenix
    have you tried switching shadow details and different AO mods? Dx11.exe and dx9?
     
  4. GDK78380

    GDK78380 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 680 OC TOP
    Yes I did all the settings... I play dx11 in ultra whith 50/60 fps

    I think that if I adjust the viewing distance, I correct the problem.
     

  5. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    135
    GPU:
    1070Ti Phoenix
    do you use fcdx11.exe to launch the game or just regular shortcut? Regular shortcut is dx9 although you can change to dx11 in settings it is not dx11. I ask this because one of those two might not have the issue with grass. Also, shaders on ultra enable cloud shadows, maybe they are problem?
     
  6. GDK78380

    GDK78380 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 680 OC TOP
    I start the game with farcry3_d3d11.exe

    I have the same problem with the exe dx9 and dx11.

    The problem comes from the game but I try to find a solution to force display.
    I already found a solution for the shadows, because I had the same problem.

    Sorry for my English.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  7. andressergio

    andressergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GALAX GTX 1080Ti HOF SLI
  8. marcosamerio

    marcosamerio Master Guru

    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ZOTA NVIDIA 1060
    Hi all, i have two simple questions:

    1- ¿How i can remove sun shafts or sun lights?

    2- ¿Where is located the savegames?

    Sorry for my english.

    Bye all
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  9. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,763
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    AMD FirePro M6100
  10. Dietrich

    Dietrich New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 680
    Tell me guys. Where can I download ready-to-use files with which seeing vegetation at distance can be enjoined and good/high detailisation at distanceas as well?
    Or where can one obtain a succint but useful tips for optical tweaks to the game? Because it takes long and difficult filtering scattered infos on the topis in the vast domain of Internet.
    Thanks you All in advance
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013

  11. andressergio

    andressergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GALAX GTX 1080Ti HOF SLI
  12. mohiuddin

    mohiuddin Master Guru

    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    83
    GPU:
    GTX670 4gb ll RX480 8gb
    Read only first page. Confusing.
    Can someone please tell me that what is needed to change the fov and increase water quality?
     
  13. mohiuddin

    mohiuddin Master Guru

    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    83
    GPU:
    GTX670 4gb ll RX480 8gb
    Got fov around 75.
    100 has awful corridor effect.
    Can anyone help me to adjust color?
    The colors in this game seem super-saturated.
     
  14. Elder III

    Elder III Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    292
    GPU:
    Both Red and Green
    You can adjust the FoV in the game menu - I have mine at 90.

    If you don't like the color saturation you could try recalibrating your monitor or use SweetFX. Lot's of people like that program, personally I think it's more trouble than it's worth, but it does let you change quite a few graphics features, so it might be what you are looking for. There is a lengthy thread about SweetFX that is stickied at the top of this forum. :)
     
  15. ra1den_GER

    ra1den_GER New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX580SC 1536MB
    Hey guys

    sorry for my english. I'm looking for Haoose's mods for version 1.05:

    "Removed icon over enemies in the allocation of their camera down, removed from the minimap: enemies, treasures, plants, vehicles, boats, gliders, kits, alarm"

    and

    "Hardcore mode + Removed icons quickly move from the map, will now go on foot or by transport"

    The links are dead or files are removed. :mad:

    Thank you!
     

  16. Elder III

    Elder III Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    292
    GPU:
    Both Red and Green
    I don't know if that exact mod is on there, but there are other mods on there that do similar things so one of them might work for you.

    http://farcry.nexusmods.com/
     
  17. TylerTron21

    TylerTron21 Guest

    Hey guys. I have about a tenth of the stutter/ screen tearing as before (vanilla) I am running legal version 1.05 which I bought through steam. nvidia 314.14Beta, Windows 8 64bit, Intel 920 not oc'd, Asus GTX 680 4gb twin slot. 12gigs ddr 1066. Samsung 256gig 840pro SSD, LG 1920x1200 LCD @ 60hz. Nothing is overclocked. I am running the beta 30 Days mod. v3.3. here are my inspector settings if you would like to try them out. They make the game playable for me My first playthrough was in windowed mode, 2 frame buffers, 900p res. it was bad.... lols. But now I can enjoy the game in full screen. BTW I play in dx9 with vsync frame 1 in game. With 1 frame butter in game clicked. Optimal settings very high / ultra.

    I will be posting this on Nvidia and Guru3d as well. Chicken scratch typing due to to many Flat Tire beers is now over, hope this works for you gamers

    [​IMG]
     
  18. flexy

    flexy Member Guru

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Riva 128
    After MANY tries to enhance my Far Cry 3 visually, using Nvidia Inspector, downsampling, SMAA Injector and similar, I found the BEST way to get amazing image quality


    DOWNSAMPLING with this Tool:

    http://www.tommti-systems.de/temp/SSAA_Tool.rar

    Edit Far Cry 3 Gamer Profile and double your vertical/horizontal resolutions. In my gamerprofile I have 1680 / 1050, so I replace the entries there with 3360 / 2100

    This effectively will later on render FC 3 in this resolution.

    In the Far Cry 3 in-game settings, DISABLE all AA.

    Read the doc for the SSAA tool, add your FC 3 exe (DX11 works too!) to the config.

    Start the SSAA Tool.

    Start your FC 3 exe.

    Popup comes up asking for mouse pointer fix, activate it!!

    Start FC3, in options set your new resolution, eg. 3360 / 2100

    Play!!

    It looks AMAZINGLY crisp and clear with jaggies almost entirely reduced.

    all the other methods I tried (SweetFX, SMAA) or "manual" downsampling or forcing AA via Inspector looked like shiate or didn't work.

    PLUS: This method works with DX11!
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2013
  19. vorob

    vorob New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Geforce 660m
    Hello, did you manage to solve this issue other than disabling Ambient Light? I've got absolutely same issue.
     
  20. clayhurst

    clayhurst New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760/2 Gb
    Multi-threading on Nvidia cards

    Please pardon the re-post. I put this up in the Nvidia forum but I have been :bang: for a month so I am anxious to resolve this. I am hoping that there will be a different experience base here and that you will have a different perspective.

    OK, so the multi-threading capability in FC3 is turned off for dx11. Under dx11, Precision X reports 19-21 fps when multi-threading is turned off. Manually editing the GamerProfile.XML file to turn it on greatly improves the gameplay. Bombing around the island in the buggy is still choppy but on foot you don't see it. It does seem to be slow at filling in surface textures and the HUD acts strange if you change settings on the fly but other than that I have yet to find a downside. So, I have a couple of questions:
    Is that multi-threading on the CPU or on the GPU?
    Why has Ubisoft disabled it?
    Is there a reason that I should not use it?
    PrecisionX only reports a steady 12-13 fps but that is clearly wrong. Is that because of the multiple threads or because I am buffering frames?

    My Rig:
    I7-950 @ 3.07 GHz CPU
    24 Gb of G-Skill memory
    EVGA GeForce GTX 760 GPU
    Asus X58 Sabertooth motherboard
    SoundBlaster Z gaming card
    Corsair 700 PSU
     

Share This Page