Far Cry 2 FPS problem

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Joe33345, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. Joe33345

    Joe33345 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 260 650/1200
    Hey I have a wierd problem in Far Cry 2 and I can't figure it out. I bought and built my new machine, here are the specs.

    Intel Q6600 Quad Core 2.4ghz stock
    4gb 2x2gb DDR1066 OCZ RAM
    Geforce GTX 260 Core 216 Overclocked to 650/1400/1200 <-- 2400 repectively
    OCZ GameXStream 600w Power Supply with 72A of Power <-- yes I know its a little overboard but I wanted to be able to SLI in the future ;D

    Now here's whats wierd. On my current setup I can run Crysis at 30+ FPS on 1680x1050 on 4xAA, yes I was amazed at that as well. But this game is different. When I tried to play it, maxed out on my old machine with a crappy AMD x2 3800+ and 8800GT I was getting 30+ FPS, now on this new machine I was expecting a jump in speed but it's about the exact same. I was expecting closer to 60FPS but this isn't the case.

    Any ideas as to why it's slow? It is patched also to the newest patch.
     
  2. xSLIX

    xSLIX Master Guru

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX470 WCSWIFTECH
    I use 70a not overkill. But if u took off heatsink to gtx280 its looked for lil sticker it says only 48a lol imo cryis suxs
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2008
  3. Joe33345

    Joe33345 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 260 650/1200
    well that didn't really help my problem... any ideas? also I'm on 180.84 on Windows XP 64 bit updated.
     
  4. stainer711

    stainer711 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 260 650/1160
    I have a gtx 260 overclocked to 650/1160 and a core 2 duo 2.5ghz processor overclocked to 3.4ghz. I get down to ~35 fps average in the areas with the yellow grass in the game and even lower if I am using the sniper rifle. I think it's just a flaw in the game. When you start out you get around 45 fps average or higher and then when you get into the savanna it goes much lower. I don't have this problem in any other game I play.
     

  5. cobhc2007

    cobhc2007 Member Guru

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 980ti JS
    I noticed I don't get the amount of performance I should from Far Cry 2 as well. According to the Guru3D benchmarks which were done on a 3ghz Dual Core (if I remember right) I should be getting 29 fps at stock and 35 fps with my 8800GTS Clocked to 9800GTX+ speeds. However I only hit 29 fps even WITH the overclock.
     
  6. Joe33345

    Joe33345 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 260 650/1200
    heh so its a flaw in the game. thats all I needed then
     
  7. StealthSilver

    StealthSilver Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GeForce 8800GT 512 SLI
    Try turning on DX10. See if that helps.
     
  8. stainer711

    stainer711 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 260 650/1160
    I think the game is just very CPU limited. In the performance reviews they were getting good fps with some lower end gpus, but their processors were ridiculous. They tested using a quad core 3.0ghz cpu. So unless you have the absolute top of the line processor your frame rate is going to be limited by the game. I'm guessing that it's because of all the foliage.
     
  9. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    That's the reason, stainer711. ;)

    Try overclocking your CPU, Joe33345. 3.0 GHz shouldn't be a problem with your CPU, but should provide a noticeable gain in fps. ;)

    Processors and motherboards Intel
    http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25

    HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=227317
     
  10. turbojoys

    turbojoys New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 9800GTX+
    i also hav a funny story about this game

    i m using 2X9800GTX+ in my rig, n every now n then i wood like to compare performance defference between single n dual GPU.

    when i tested them on this game on setting eveything max out with 4XMSAA (except for the physic), the difference was mouth watering. when single GPU i got arround 30 fps, n when in SLi, i got like 45-50 fps on average (for the first try). however, when i try repeat the test again for confirmation, i was desappointed. when single GPU i stil got around 30, when SLi i got the same frame rate as when single GPU (n in one particular area i got as low as 17 fps)

    i was never a give up type so i went back 2 window n try the comparison the third time. it went like the first test.

    so i am suspecting this is one of the flaw in 180 driver for SLi configuration
     

  11. stainer711

    stainer711 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 260 650/1160
    Your processor, like my processor, is inhibiting your frame-rate I do believe. :)
     
  12. stainer711

    stainer711 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 260 650/1160
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
  13. clairvoyant129

    clairvoyant129 Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA GTX 480 SC+
    Yea but they have a quad core with 8MB of L2 cache, while your processor only has 3MB of L2 cache, which was shown in Anandtech to be a big loss in performance compared to Wolfdale.

    Anyway, you guys need to overclock that Q6600... if it's a G0 and you have a decent motherboard, 9*400MHz FSB = 3.6GHz is easy.
     
  14. rgnuyda

    rgnuyda Member Guru

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI560GTX Ti Twin Frzr2OC
    It's not a flaw in the game. Don't fool yourselves.

    My rig (8800GT OC; AMD64 x2 5600 (2.9ghz)) runs FC2 flawlessly with 4xAA, maxxed running at 42-47 fps at DX9 even with sniper rifle, yellow grass, name it. The system is stable. I don't why your uber rigs can't handle it? There's definitely something wrong with your system. It's not the game. Definitely.
     
  15. stainer711

    stainer711 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 260 650/1160
    I seriously doubt your claim that your system doesn't go below 40 fps in certain areas.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009

  16. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,071
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    from all we know you could be doing lower res RGnuyda since you dont actually say your res. because no way you be able to do that much AA at 1920x1200 and get that much fps. Prolly not 1680x1050 either.
     
  17. rgnuyda

    rgnuyda Member Guru

    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI560GTX Ti Twin Frzr2OC
    My res is 1440x900 native but that's not the point.

    The point is that the TC's rig is far superior than many out there but yet it runs FC2 (w/c is not a rig killer) like crap. The problem is not FC2. Even at his res at least it should run greater than 35. Otherwise, it's inferior to a 9800 GTX with a 3.0ghz dual core. I recommend a complete overhaul, PSU rewiring, OS reformatting, reinstallation of all drivers, RAM re-sitting, etc. I bet that FC2 will run flawlessly and like a charm.
     
  18. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    on xp your forced to use dx9 which isnt gpu efficient in fc2. its especially noticeable with the sniper scope if you have geometry set to anything higher then high. I have the same card and when i tested dx9 mode, you get higher fps with everything on ultra and geometry on medium, then everything on medium and geometry on very high.

    get vista, or lower geometry detail.
     
  19. Joe33345

    Joe33345 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 260 650/1200
    Lol thats the 1st time ive heard of vista as a savior because of Dx10. well I do also have vista 64 bit on dual boot ill try that then and report back. well im typing this off of a cell because my internet is down. so... cyber thx for the links for overclocking my processor but im worried about doing that because ive never done that before. i dont wanna ruin a new system i just built lol. if i could find someone with a similar setup that can give me the same voltages and stuff then maybe I will try it. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2009
  20. Foes

    Foes Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Tri-Sli 260's
    180.48 are by far the best FPS drivers for FC2. You will also get a decent FPS boost by changing the "Adjust image settings" in the Nvidia control panel to Performance vice Quality. I have even tried the 185.20 and lost an average of 17FPS @ 1920x1200 Ultra high 4X A/A.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2009

Share This Page