1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FAQ of the Software/Operating Systems section

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Animatrix, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
    Instead of Part1, part2 etc, could you give names like :

    Part 1 : General trouble shooting
    ........................
    Part 3 : Tweaks

    etc, etc
     
  2. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    I did think about doing that and it's a good idea. It's just im not sure i can have or keep each part containing only one subject, so im a bit in doubt. But i guess i can give a part a name that has all the subjects in it.

    Like this "Part 3: Virus and Spyware Help, Programs, Miscellaneous stuff".

    What do you think ?.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2006
  3. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
    Yes That's better. btw you added a lot of new stuff. got to go through the dll part tomorrow morning. Great links man :thumbup:
     
  4. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    That looks ok i think, thank for mentioning it i might not have do so otherwise. ;)

    Yes the dll stuff is interesting, i just hope nobody kills there system. :D
     

  5. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
  6. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    I added a Uninstall issues to part 2.
     
  7. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    I have add a bunch of links to the "Virus and Spyware Help:" part.
     
  8. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
    I went through that browser security check, Firefox found 1 medium vulnerability, where as there was 0 in IE 7 ......... however IE7 acted up strangely, automatically opened many tabs, could'nt close some of them, Automatically opened WMP, and generated an error "cannot play file" ............ :D

    btw ... i noticed in IE7, you cannot close all tabs in IE7. Minimum 1 must be opened. Whereas in Firefox, if you close the last tab opened, it automatically opens a new blank tab
     
  9. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    Mmm that's funny i passed with a Trunk build yesterday. Which one failed exactly ?.


    The tab behavior can be changed on FF either a tab is always visible or not. Using Hide the tab bar when only one web site is open

    In any case IE and FF tab code is not the same at all (or any other tab browser).
     
  10. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
    The recomendations seemed funny !! :D:D I already have a higher version than that specified
     

  11. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
  12. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
    All tests are OK in the branch : Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.1) Gecko/20060202 Firefox/1.5.0.1

    But I still get that in the trunk(even with a new profile), and running only that test : Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060208 Firefox/1.6a1

    Now that's really strange, as you say your trunk passed all those tests
    and securityfocus doesn't like to open in my computer I think. It is taking a lot of time .......... :( :p

    Edit : Ok at last it opened. But I don't see it much helpful. And it looks like a very OLD bug. I don't see how I am getting velnerable to it
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2006
  13. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    Woops im not running the Trunk...LOL im using tete009 build that's a Branch build (it's using the trunks artwork that's why i missed it ;)).

    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.1) Gecko/20060202 Firefox/1.5.0.1 (tete009 SSE)

    Let me try in a Trunk and come back to you on it.
     
  14. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    Nop it checks out fine.

    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060208 Firefox/1.6a1

    I don't get it bak you should not be vulnerable, i'll have a look on this matter and see what i can find.
     
  15. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    I can figure this out man, all i can see is this bug was fixed on 2002 ????. Ok im not done with this, cause this can't be right. I'll think about it some more.

    XMLSerializer needs same-origin check (Fixed)
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=147754

    XMLSerializer.serializeToStream needs same origin check (Fixed)
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=169982

    bugzilla query (just remember open security bugs has access denied to the public)
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/buglis...er+Same+Origin+Policy+Violation+Vulnerability


    Vulnerability reports
    http://xforce.iss.net/xforce/xfdb/10547
    http://www.remoteassessment.com/arc.../mozilla-xmlserializer-bypass-domain.4645.txt
    XMLSerializer
    http://xulplanet.com/references/objref/XMLSerializer.html

    Parsing and serializing XML
    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Parsing_and_serializing_XML

    ---
    EDIT: bakuryu can you try running the Trunk on another PC and do the test ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2006

  16. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
    That's a problem, since I cannot persuade them any of my friends to download 6MB (and that too trunk ... unofficial) in a 56K line (almost all connections here are) just for that single test.
     
  17. darknight909

    darknight909 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070
    nice to see my windows 64bit thread made it into your FAQ
     
  18. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    Sure no problem darknight909, if you have other good 64-bit resources/links you would like to see linked just let me know and i'll add them.


    On another note i fix the quick links to each part they were messed up (apparently no one uses them :D). In any case if anyone finds any dead, missing or wrong links please do let me know about it. ;)
     
  19. bakuryu

    bakuryu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 6600LE @ 430/490
    lol ... actually there are so many links, in this thread, that you will find it very difficult to find a dead link, unless you accidently click on it.
     
  20. StatykiVi

    StatykiVi Master Guru

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 570 SC
    I still refer to Linux as a flat out operating system to my mother, not a kernel. She isn't very computer literate. :p
     

Share This Page