Fan profiles disappearing!

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by James01, Apr 17, 2008.

1. James01

James01 Member

GPU:
    MSI 8800GTX @ 621/1566/972Mhz
    I believe I mentioned this several weeks ago, when 2.07 was released. It's still happening. Since then, both my HDD and graphics card have been replaced. It's a fresh Windows install with the latest drivers and RivaTuner version. No previous RivaTuner or driver versions have been installed on this Windows install.

Seemingly randomly, I'll get a popup from RivaTuner saying something along the lines of "fan profile not found". When I go to check, all my fan profiles have vanished, so obviously my thresholds no longer work.

I'm running Vista 32 bit, RivaTuner 2.08, and ForceWare 174.74 (it happened with earlier drivers as well). Vista's UAC is turned off, and I'm an administrator. I have had both a standard MSI 8800GTX and a factory OC MSI 8800GTX in the time this has been happening.

Hope someone can shed some light on what's going on. :)

EDIT: It just happened again. Here's a screenshot of the exact message:
    http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/3535/capturekx4.jpg

And the follow up message if I click "yes""
    http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/1619/65019065un5.jpg

Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  2. pxmm

pxmm Member

GPU:
    AMD 280X
    Mine does this occasionally too, sometimes it says there's no fan profiles when there are so when I click yes they're there. Other times the profiles have actually disappeared so I just recreate them.

I run Vista x64 with UAC in silent mode (auto elevates)

3. James01

James01 Member

GPU:
    So I'm not alone at least! I really hope there's a fix for this. It gets quite annoying as you can imagine.

4. boogieman

boogieman Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080X
    Check your settings, Rt is telling you that you've made settings that conflict. Start over.

5. James01

James01 Member

GPU:
    What settings? These are my scheduler settings: