Fallout 4 Performance Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by RexOmnipotentus, Nov 9, 2015.

  1. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Which is correct up to now. If it wasn't that, how do you explain the performance equalization when the CPU doesn't matter? Why relative performance is "correct" in 4k, but the 970 is faster than the 390x at 1080p? What's your explanation considering the nature of this game (open world, a ****load of draw calls for every object you can interact with).
     
  2. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    poorly optimized.

    it will get patched, just like always.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  3. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Seems to be running fine with NVIDIA hardware, doesn't it? More on that: What is poorly optimized? It doesn't seem to be godrays or any other expensive graphics tech, since AMD cards are fine at 4k...

    This is a game with many more objects to interact than the previous games they've done. Isn't it obvious what's going on by now?

    Whoever has the game and RadeonPro: Can you please run it with the Anti-Aliasing compatibility profile for Assassin's Creed Unity? The .exe is ACU.exe. Don't touch anything else, and check if there are any stutter improvements.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    its an nvidia sponsored game, what did you expect?
     

  5. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Poor performance on AMD hardware.
     
  6. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    exactamundo....
     
  7. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    That still means nothing. The Witcher 3 is an NVIDIA game, FarCry4 is an NVIDIA game, Arkham Knight is an NVIDIA game. AMD relative performance is ok in all of them. I'll give you that this one was made by people who didn't really care about draw calls and the rest, that still means that AMD is behind because their DX11 driver is slow.
     
  8. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    not on release they werent...

    gimpworks...
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  9. kevnb

    kevnb Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Zotac 1070
    I dont quite trust eurogamer, or maybe something is wrong with their configuration. I dont get the same results they do. CPU bound games are still slower on a 960 than my 7950 even when I had an fx 6300
     
  10. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Far Cry 4 was fine for my GPU on launch. Same for the Witcher with no Hairworks (where NVIDIA hardware was slaughtered too). Arkham Knight had ridiculously good relative AMD performance, even on the ultra bad original release. Don't make me go around and dig up links, please, you know I'm telling the truth.

    Can you FRAPS a similar run to what they show on the video and share?
     

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,851
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    OMG, That game runs silky smooth in:
    Ultra+TXAA all nv Features Ultra + I give in ini reflection's sky on water
    60FPS capped and solid (even when fighting 6 enemies)
    1792:1344 90Hz (it's a little more than FHD)
    + i give Mod for shadows ans disabled Blur (i don't use blur i don't like it)

    No lag, no stutter, OK on mY RIG

    You have My screens in RadeonMOD thread BTW :)
     
  12. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    What did you do for the shadows mod?

    Which thread you mean exactly? The "Fine utilize" one?
     
  13. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    Hell, no.
     
  14. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    The Mac has his fits again, don't mind him :D

    We'll have a fight again, we'll agree/disagree/find enlightenment together (again), and everything will be fine. :D
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,851
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Yep It's Only One i Have with Tweaks for Games also.
    But Game Tweaks are beneath the Main Tweaking Page.
    I've reserved couple down the bottom on 1st one ;-)

    It's pinned, i've asked Hillbert :)

    And shadows are 1024 (is enough belive me, but 2048 also works OK)
    Best for 390 and X 4096
    For Fury you can go for 8192, :3eyes: but what for lol
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015

  16. JonMS

    JonMS Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
    I don't understand the problems here. Game runs perfectly on my 6600K and R9 390 rig. 2560x1440 with a mixture of ULTRA and HIGH settings
     
  17. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,022
    Likes Received:
    3,130
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Gotta love how every time something doesn't work like expected on AMD cards it's Nvidia's shady tactics and gw games fault. :rolleyes:
     
  18. BoMbY

    BoMbY Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X
    Well, maybe because it is? What I really wonder is, why AMD hasn't filed complains with the FTC and the European Commission, because NVidia abuses their market share and is trying to build a monopoly by this shady practices.
     
  19. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,022
    Likes Received:
    3,130
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Care to show us any hard proof?
     
  20. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,762
    Likes Received:
    2,204
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    And what do you expect when gameworks is 'implemented' (read injected) into already glitchy and poorly optimized game engine?

    What anyone expects? Any title with gameworks is no-buy for me till it proves it runs well. And at that it mostly fails. Even many nVidia users with very good hardware have problems with it.
     

Share This Page