Fallout 4 Performance Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by RexOmnipotentus, Nov 9, 2015.

  1. WarDocsRevenge

    WarDocsRevenge Master Guru

    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury-x Crossfire
    i am playing fallout 4 now testing it on a real system and will report back
     
  2. millibyte

    millibyte Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    2070 subpar RTX OFF
    Is the game CPU or GPU bound? I don't care if I have to turn down some GPU heavy (unoptimized) nvidia crap but if it's chugging on the CPU side then that's a different story. Funny that in 2008, Far Cry 2 had great looking sun rays that had little impact on performance but in 2015, we need gameworks god rays that run like garbage. Well, Bethesda wont be getting a penny from me until performance is sorted and that includes a working crossfire profile.
     
  3. DavidGX

    DavidGX Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Fury X
    I'm kind of worried now. If I load the game up with the newest drivers and Crossfire isn't working, that's an instant Steam refund for me. I'll NEED it to work, considering I'm running on two OC'd 7970s.
     
  4. RexOmnipotentus

    RexOmnipotentus Master Guru

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Try disabling ambient occlusion.
     

  5. Yecnot

    Yecnot Master Guru

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 270 2GB
    So this is the result of degrees and years of experience in programming...
     
  6. RexOmnipotentus

    RexOmnipotentus Master Guru

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Cancel your order. CrossFire isn't working. Maybe you could try your luck with one of the hunderds of gaming profiles from other games.
     
  7. DavidGX

    DavidGX Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Fury X
    I'd rather wait a bit longer and see if AMD releases anything.

    I'm stupid for hoping, I know. AMD has garbage support/drivers, Nvidia is garbage as a company. I really wish there was a third option...
     
  8. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    sli appears to be busted too, so most likely a Bethesda problem.
     
  9. RexOmnipotentus

    RexOmnipotentus Master Guru

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Or you buy the game the moment AMD releases something? It's up to you really. As far as i know you can only play the games for 2 hours if you want a refund.

    By the way, SLI isn't working either. So it might be game related.
     
  10. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    896
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    More like garbage amd dx11 drivers coupled with the fact that creation engine is cpu bound, no wonder amd cards are 50% slower
     

  11. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,313
    Likes Received:
    462
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Taken from a Fallout 4 PC performance article.

    Same old story. :(
     
  12. zer0_c0ol

    zer0_c0ol Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryX cf
    tbf here nvidia failed with this title also.. a 980ti for 1440p 60.. that is some bethesda right there
     
  13. zer0_c0ol

    zer0_c0ol Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryX cf
    and yet in start citizen amd cpu drivers are fine.. star citizen is more cpu bound the f4
     
  14. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    896
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    That doesnt matter, creation engine is not a well threaded game, look back at skyrim and it used mainly one thread/core

    and no dx11 drivers are bad there too

    http://media.Disney.net/images/media/2015/game-bench/star-citizen-bench-1080vh.png
     
  15. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Creation and Engine seems not match in this game. :)
     

  16. millibyte

    millibyte Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    2070 subpar RTX OFF
    Gosh, looking at more screenshots, the game looks so mediocre on a graphical level. A single high end card should smash it even at 4k. Bethesda are such amateurs when it comes to sprucing up their 3-legged dog of an engine.
     
  17. nav-jack

    nav-jack Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 ti 1520/2000
    how many reviewers actually went into drivers and disabled texture optimization and used high quality mode? I ALWAYS WONDER THIS, it bothers me that i'm going to have to test this myself when it unlocks. 64x tessellation with highest quality textures and high quality AF in drivers and adaptive multisample anti-aliasing.
     
  18. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    No way. This screams overhead. Godrays don't require that much from the tesselator (hence the good performance on Kepler) and AMD cards are usually faster at HBAO+ than NVIDIA cards. What's happening here is that you have the freakin' Morrowind engine running all the important stuff in a single thread, and a retarded driver that doesn't know what to do if it's not fed fast enough.
    Look what happens at 4K when the CPU performance stops being a factor. Even with GameWorks on, the performance normalizes where it should have been. Look how "normal" everything is at 4k. The 390x is on par with the GTX 980, the 980Ti is ahead.
    http://media.Disney.net/images/media/2015/game-bench/fallout-4-gpu-bench-4k-ultra.png

    Now look when the CPU starts mattering again.
    1440p:
    http://media.Disney.net/images/media/2015/game-bench/fallout-4-gpu-bench-1440-ultra.png

    And finally 1080p, where the 970 is faster than the 390x:
    http://media.Disney.net/images/media/2015/game-bench/fallout-4-gpu-bench-1080-ultra.png

    If this is not an overhead problem, I don't know what it is. This is a big open world game that has a ton of draw calls. It is obvious that NVIDIA have tuned their software scheduler to the max for this, and they get almost 100% utilization. I don't know what AMD will, or can, do. Don't blame this on GameWorks though, it's really the wrong target and that's proven by the 1440p/4k performance, where overhead matters less.

    There are limits to the Morrowind engine, and Bethesda are not exactly known for their technical prowess. All of their games since Morrowind have been horrible technically. Most people forget it because they end up playing them with vastly better hardware than the one they had when the games first launched.

    EDIT: Clarification: GameWorks and the whole idea behind it is a hideous pile of steaming crap, oozing on top of PC gaming like the worst cancer since the days of 3dfx and Glide.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015
  19. nav-jack

    nav-jack Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 ti 1520/2000
    <..< i thought someone looked at the 15.11 beta drivers and found fallout 4 mentioned for application profile preset settings. so essentially we could already have at least basic driver settings already here and gameready drivers aren't needed just yet. wait for the team to bake the settings out a little bit so its nice and warm and sitting in the windowcil for all of us to enjoy

    EDIT: if its driver overhead i'll use process lasso to do some tweaking on the fallout4.exe to take whatever i can out of the equation.
     
  20. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    overhead, overhead, overhead...

    you sound like a broken record.

    AMD is a more parallel architecture, Nvidia is more serialized.

    DX11 lends itself better to a more serialized architecture.

    DX12 lends itself more towards paralyzed architecture.

    It really as simple as that.

    this Overhead BS, is just that: BS.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2015

Share This Page