Fallout 4 Performance Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by RexOmnipotentus, Nov 9, 2015.

  1. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,775
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    Yeah so are 16nm gpus scheduled for next year :) Zen is coming late in the year we might actually have new gpus out before it.
     
  2. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Nexus Mod Manager 0.61.0 added support for Fallout 4 modding.

    :D
     
  3. RexOmnipotentus

    RexOmnipotentus Master Guru

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    I just realized that Bethesda doesn't really care about CrossFire/SLI. Don't expect CrossFire to work any time soon.

    The elder scrolls online didn't have CrossFire, because there was no fullscreen mode at launch (only borderless fullscreen). It took them a long time to finally implement it.

    The id****5 engine doesn't like more than one GPU, so no CrossFire/SLI for Wolfenstein and Rage.

    I also read reports about Skyrim not having good multi-gpu support for a long time. I didn't have CrossFire back then, so i don't know if it's true.

    Don't expect CrossFire to work with any bethesda game. Just be warned and don't pre-order Doom 4 as a CrossFire user. ;):p
     
  4. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    [​IMG]
     

  5. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,309
    Likes Received:
    462
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
  6. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Its nice to see improvements in minim fps and how things works with Gamewrecks GodRays Tessellated tech (which does look not bad).
    They are almost at the same performance.But Gtx 980TI is at maximum perf,FuryX still have time &resources to be improved.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2015
  7. zeljkoni

    zeljkoni Banned

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX660 twin frozr OC
    Tested 15.11.1 with 290x + Haswell i5 3.6GHz on place where is ~37fps, did not help at all... GPU usage is up/down, CPU usage goes 60-80%, optimization is crap

    Maximum tessallation as 16x
     
  8. RexOmnipotentus

    RexOmnipotentus Master Guru

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Lowering Shadow distance to medium might help in those situations.
     
  9. zeljkoni

    zeljkoni Banned

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX660 twin frozr OC
    Yes now its fine, with medium, constant 60 there
     
  10. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    you dont need to force tess to 16x any more, there is a new profile in 15.11.1 that fixes it.
     

  11. Zweite93

    Zweite93 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 290X Core Edition
    Try to overclock your ram to 2133mhz or higher.
     
  12. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,775
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
  13. nexxusting

    nexxusting Banned

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 SC /w EK-FCGTX980
    Ive done 4x2GB 2000mhz CAS 9 sticks with an i5 2500k CPU on that motherboard before.

    You should be fine for 2x4 or 2x8 2133mhz. Depending on your CPU's IMC. Still, the mobo handled it fine.
     
  14. PieEyedPiper

    PieEyedPiper Master Guru

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
    The profile in 15.11.1 directly addresses tesselation?
    Just wondering if we have a source for this. Does the profile automatically force 16x tess now or something?
     
  15. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2015

  16. Dygaza

    Dygaza Master Guru

    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X 4GB
    Yep, I haven't found big difference between different tesselation levels either. It's not gameworks in this game that causes stalls. Just too much drawcalls occasionally for this engine. Especially on AMD hardware.
     
  17. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    there was a big difference in tess on 15.11
     
  18. PieEyedPiper

    PieEyedPiper Master Guru

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
    Copy that.

    I didn't bother messing with tess on 15.11 so I don't have a proper frame of reference. Gonna try though with 15.11.1... 3fps is 3fps ;)

    EDIT: May have gained that 3 fps by manually switching to 16x w/ 15.11.1 it's kinda hard to tell when you're counting pennies. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2015
  19. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    I'm just wondering here...how this game feels in windows 10? And in general...does AMD gpu's (or even cpu's) performs any better in 10? Compared to 8.1 ofc. I mean, 10586 is out...should I even bother atm? =) ...anyone with firsthand experience?
     
  20. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I didn't see a difference going from 8.1 to 10, 10 to 10 TH2. But that's because I was running Windows 10 drivers before hand before they released the CPU overhead optimized drivers for the rest. WDDM 2.0 was supposed to make a difference but I don't see it.
    I upgraded for DX12.
     

Share This Page