Fallout 4 Performance Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by RexOmnipotentus, Nov 9, 2015.

  1. RexOmnipotentus

    RexOmnipotentus Master Guru

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    The new 15.11.1 beta driver seem to improve fallout performance.
     
  2. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    F@K me sideways...15.11.1 did the magic for me. My minimal FPS has been increased. No more huge FPS dips in places where it was before. Nice.
     
  3. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,517
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Definitely noticable improvement in minimum fps. Loaded up the save where it was droping to 38fps and now its 44fps minimum (same time of the day).
     
  4. kandata94

    kandata94 Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280X DirectCU II
    Amazing drivers for me, the fog (yes the fog cut my fps at half) and some places (corvega tower for example) still destroy my fps, but in the cities the improvement is noticeable. Well done AMD :banana:
     

  5. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Not bad AMD Tiger Team. :)
    Its just me or the chromatic(metallic) surfaces are more shiny? The game run well.
     
  6. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Tho it still runs like sh@t occasionally :D

    God...I don't wanna upgrade my rig right now. Maybe in 6 month or a year...not right now :wanker:

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  7. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    :D
    Your MB+CPU should be.The GPU is great but the CPU NOT. The old engine it depends on highly single thread of CPU.
    The game is bugged so we still wait for patches from Bethesda,maybe this year. :D
     
  8. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    @Turanis, I know my CPU isn't i7...believe me ;) But it's fine...more importantly, it's more than capable in most games...well, except Creation Engine...and CryEngine...and poorly optimized console ports...and if the game poorly optimized in general :LOL
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  9. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,517
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Well yes, its capable but no doubt its limiting your 280X. Hell i even feel my i5 at 4.8Ghz is sometimes limiting my card in this game. Just like Skyrim, singlethreaded performance all the way for Fallout 4.
     
  10. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Not necesarily i7.You forget UE3.
    Yeah some games are garbage console port,others shine but are not too many on the market.
     

  11. PieEyedPiper

    PieEyedPiper Master Guru

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
    Lol, I'm surprised Pr Minister isn't all over this already, unless I've missed it.

    Seriously guys, try to tune fallout around the drawcalls. I was able to reduce mine from 16k+ down to about 8k with no visible graphics reduction. Gained about 15fps in cities, etc.

    http://enbdev.com
    http://www.nexusmods.com/fallout4/mods/332/?

    Now I'm actually glad that fallout4 is essentially re-skinned skyrim. :)

    I've yet to combine with 15.11.1
     
  12. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Yeah yeah, I know...but I really want to wait for AMD Zen release. I mean, what if...they can be on par (performance wise) with INTEL this time? :D If so I will be buying Zen + Fury...otherwise Intel + Nvidia...
     
  13. ObscureangelPT

    ObscureangelPT Master Guru

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1650 Supe
    Well on concord i did have a massive bottleneck, but reducing shadow distance, improve a lotttttttt the FPS, and my GPU Usage raised, as my FPS that were stuck bottleneck in 34-40 and then 55-60 XD

    Try out, you gonna love it.
     
  14. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    ~
    fov 90 70
    saveini


    Done. My performance issues (while playin on ULTRA) in city areas are gone :LOL

    Now I just need to get used to 70 fov :D

    EDIT:

    Well. Default FOV kinda OK. 5 fps less than with 70...but I can live with that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  15. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    FOV over 80(default) will make game kinda run weird.And if you put iFPSClamp=60 will be weirdness. :D

    I put both FOV=80(in both ini files) and runs fine.But I put fShadowsDist on 2500.0000(both). :banana:

    Nvidia?Not yet,not this year,maybe not this century. :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2015

  16. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,282
    Likes Received:
    3,327
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Hmm? Nvidia users can't alter the ini files? Or did you edit the files exclusive to AMD drivers?
     
  17. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    How is that? You can edit all ini files and make them read-only in \Documents\My Games\Fallout4 and Steam folder.
     
  18. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,517
    Likes Received:
    1,963
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    FOV is actually very taxing on the hardware. I started with overkill 100 then reduced to default 80, got 10fps more on average.
     
  19. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Yes it did.I put it initially at 90 but after some research i put back to 80.
    This old bloody engine dont like 60+ fps and FOV over 80.
     
  20. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,282
    Likes Received:
    3,327
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    So what I was wondering, why shouldn't Nvidia be able to do that? I haven't got the game and maybe that's why I don't understand, I'm just curious :)
     

Share This Page