Failure to display security and shutdown options.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Kira, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. Kira

    Kira Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Matrix 780Ti
    Failure to display security and shutdown options. The logon process was unable to display security and logon options when CTRL+ALT+DELETE was pressed. If the operating system does not respond, press ESC or restart the computer by using the power switch.

    Hey guys,
    I get this error since saturday 6th.
    I haven´t change anything, installed a programm or downloaded something.
    After 40min. - 1h my PC freezes and I get this message. I cant press Ctrl+alt+Delete or whatever, I can only restart the Pc every damn time, after 40min. it crash again.

    What have I tried:
    - repair Windows 7 with the Install CD - / No error was found.
    - CMD Command sfc/scannow - / No error was found.
    - CMD Command netsh winsock reset (normal and save mode) - nothing changed. Like here
    - run Malwarebyte´s - nothing was found.
    - run (like 10x) Avira Antivir - after 40min. or 45% the Pc crashes, in save and normal mode. (Malwarebyte´s runs well in save and normal mode).

    Please help me...

    System:
    Msi P67A-GD65 (b3)
    i5 2500k @4,2ghz
    Ram 4x4-> 16gb Kingston
    Seasonic X-Series 660W +80Gold
    HD 7970 + 560Ti Hybrid PhysX
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,567
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Have you read event logs for a clues?

    Edit: You can try download and burn Rescue Disk Image like from Eset, Kaspersky (http://support.kaspersky.com/viruses/rescuedisk/), then boot from burnt CD and scan PC for a viruses.

    Edit2: You can post event logs here (under the spoiler tags) so gurus could browse them...
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
  3. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,009
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    XFX RX 470
    Go here: BitDefender QuickScan and run scan....then...

    Download this: 60-Second Virus Scanner and install it alongside Avira Antivir. It's a very light companion antivirus from BitDefender.

    Online virus scanners are better than local because the database is more uptodate....and it's more common for malware to target locally installed antivirus software.
     
  4. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Do you get the same error message when you press CTRL+ALT+DELETE before the PC freezes? In other words, is the PC able "to display security and shutdown options" anyway?
    And have you checked for (power) options for any timers set to 40 minutes?
     

  5. Kira

    Kira Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Matrix 780Ti
    So, sorry for the waiting.
    I´ve deinstalled Avira Antivirus, because someone had the same error and the Antivirus programm was the problem, but mine, it wasnt.
    I´ve searched the Hard drives for errors with chdsk. Some errors were found and fixed, but my problem is even there.

    I´ve called an IT-Specialist and he told me that the RAM could be the problem, because I´ve got 1x Bluescreen and byside the Ctrl+alt+del message 2x Memory messages "Memory could not 0x0000xxxxx bla bla 0x000xxxx...."

    I try now every Ram on every slot, maybe he´s right.

    Will answer soon, if it helped.

    @Fatboynl, yes, not every time, because it freezes total, but sometimes I got the same message after ctrl+alt+del and then it freezes complete or the pc restart by his own.

    By the way, do you think that it could be a power supply problem ?
    He meant, that my power supply may cannot provide accurate anymore my system.
    Seasonic X Series 660W+80gold

    i5 2500k @4,2ghz
    Matrix 7970 + Msi 560Ti
    Ram 4x4-> 16gb Kingston
    SSD + HDD
    7 Fans.

    Do you think that my power supply may not work well enough anymore ?
    I use this Hybrid PhysX System since december and had no energy problems.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,567
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Easy to check - move Msi 560Ti out...
     
  7. Kira

    Kira Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Matrix 780Ti
    Ok, I´ve tried the Rams and the Slots, after exact 1h it freezes. No error, no message. I cant even run Avira Antivrus, because it crashes.

    Is it necessary to take the 560Ti out of the case or can I as well remove only the power cable ? Because it is closely and I cant put the Ti out without removing something other.

    If the System even freezes after the removing of the Ti (and Rams), I will install W7 new. I think my W7 is broken or I have a ugly time-virus.
    As I said, I havent download, installed or change something, so I guess, it´s a time activated virus :/
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2013
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,567
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    It is necessary to take out because videocard recieves some voltage through PCi-E bus.

    As for virus you (we) can only guess due to existance of so many ways for intrusion. The best solution ever is regular backups (not only against viruses).
     
  9. Kira

    Kira Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Matrix 780Ti
    Ok.
    I will take later the card out and see if the power supply is the problem.
    If not, I will try the thing with the Linux Hardware CD and Virus CD.
    And if that does not work, I need to re-install Windows 7...
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,567
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    Also you can post here event logs (in spoiler tags). With help of PowerShell it will be easy.
     

  11. Kira

    Kira Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Matrix 780Ti
    Ok guys, I think that i´ve got the problem.
    My SSD M4 Crucial (All M4 Crucial from a certain release date) has a bug, which causes after 51xx hours this crash, after ~1h Pc in use.
    I thought it could be the Ram, because ive got "Memory could not 0x0xxxx..." messages, but it wasnt.

    I found a Thread where a guy had the same problems, Bluescreen, crash after 1h, error messages and he fixed it with an firmware update for his m4 crucial.

    Right now, my system runs since 2;55h stable :banana:
    Problem solved, I think :thumbup:
     

Share This Page