F1 2010 bad performance with GTX460OC?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by HaZe303, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Thx, is there a nhancer that works with 260.63 driver? And I think we need a patch for the game.
     
  2. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    dunno, that's why I tested in nvcpl first.

    I think I need better driver first. 66% gpu usage is minimal.

    edit: it was gpu fans @ 66%, gpu usage 55-63%
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2010
  3. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    Forcefully disabled SLI for this game and I still see gpu usage of 23% for card 2...probably means heavy PhysX caclulations. Anyhow, far better fps than with SLI; over 40fps, looks awesome and feels good. CPU usage (4.2GHz quad) according to taskman: ~50%, 25%, 30%, 60%

    Will now test setting Physx to CPU and enable SLI once more, maybe jackpot and 60fps+ ? Expecting cpu usage to be higher than before :) EDIT /// after testing: Same as above for gpu and cpu usage :3eyes:

    So, for best experience today, I disable SLI for this game in nvcpl, giving 99% gpu usage on 1st card for 35-50fps, 100% satisfied game feel.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2010
  4. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    This game does not use physx.
     

  5. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    I disabled SLI completely and gpu usage shows only 80%, giving a barely OK 30fps.

    With SLI enabled globally, but SLI disabled for the specific game, I get 99% gpu usage, and 35-50fps.

    50% fps missing there. there is only one benefit: cards can't go hot ! :)
     
  6. ThEcLiT

    ThEcLiT Master Guru

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 460 1gb OC
  7. Solinari

    Solinari Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr
    Well, I was disappointed when I first enabled Direct X 11 because the performance seemed to take a slight hit but that seems to be the case for the first track in the season. When I went to Melbourne I was pleasantly surprised to see my framerates go back up to previous levels I had on Spa and Monaco, so I'm definitely happy with the performance I'm getting on the majority of tracks. Strange thing about that is the Bahrain Shakir track seems to be fairly sparse compared to Monaco or even Spa, so you would think that since there is much less details (trees, buildings, crowds etc) that the framerate would reflect that, whereas on Monaco for instance there is much more track detail and I get much better framerates.

    I am getting off topic here nut I am very pleased with my week old build that cost me just £400 for a Phenom II x4 955 BE, a mid range Asus M4A87TD/USB3 SATA 6Gb, relatively good 2GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3 1600 and a nice MSI GTX 460 OC Demon Overclocker (Tweakers essential award goes to the MSI GTX 460 Cyclone 768MB, Gigabyte GTX 460768MB OC) - Tweakers essential award goes to the MSI GTX 460 Cyclone 768MB, Gigabyte GTX 460768MB OC and I got a Samsung F3 SpinPoint which I am very happy with. So all that for £400 and that included a cheap but very good case which i couldn't be happier with and i since i only have 1 x 2GB RAM in Single Channel in Win 7 I am sure when I get another identical RAM module I'm sure I will get another 5 to 7% increase in performance

    So with all that taken in to account, I think I have got myself a mid-high end gaming PC that will play most new games on High settings or at worst Medium - High settings with good Anti Aliasing. Oh I also installed GTA IV and I couldn't be happier with that either, on my Athlon 64 x2 3800 @ 2.8Ghz (40% OC) with 2GB of RAM and an 8800GTS 640MB which would play GTA IV at the lowest settings possible and I barely got 25FPS, now with my new system I'm getting 50 - 60FPS with most settings on High and high resolution.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2010
  8. dack1

    dack1 Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX460 900-2200
  9. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    currently i only have this game installed on my second computer which has dual 8800GTS 640mb's and a Q6600 @ 3.4

    i run the game at 2048x1152 8xMSAA 16xAF max ingame settings, and i get 50-60 fps with 75-95% GPU usage on both card's. i'm using 260.63 beta ... runs smooth.
     
  10. macdaddy

    macdaddy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    TITAN X

  11. Hammie

    Hammie Banned

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    760 SMG 28"
  12. erm

    erm Master Guru

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 560 1GB
    lol, Trackmania is my favorite game !!! :D
     
  13. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    why you guys spoiling out here, get back to your damn game !

    F1 2010 runs 85fps avg with own tweaks(see games F1 2010 section), no way I could make one card run even half...just wait for drivers.
     
  14. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
  15. NoviceRei

    NoviceRei Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D 460 825/1079/1650
    anyone here who's got the game to run @ near 100% GPU load with the 460? mine is still running at 40-60% during races. running with more AA and ultra settings doesn't change anything with the GPU load. consequently, on the menus the GPU is working perfectly at close to 100% (97-99% iirc).

    is this an issue with the driver or the game's coding?
     

  16. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    The game does run a bit better with the 258.96 driver.
     
  17. Hayden202

    Hayden202 Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI-TF560ti 2GB - SLI
    Hello, this is my first post so I apologize if I screw something up.

    I have been back and forth between codemasters, nvidia, and palit on this issue.

    I have a Palit Geforce GTX 460 Sonic Platinum (1GB) card and in Dirt 2 and F1 2010 i get extremely low GPU usage. Around 30-50% and about 28-32fps for F1 2010. Dirt 2 is slightly better but not great.

    I figured my 460 should be able to pump up to near 95 or 100% usage with settings maxed and set a pretty good avg FPS. But as many have said the game is buggy I suppose.

    I am running the 260.63 beta drivers which i finally got to work after a bios update on from Palit for the 460. However, I had the same exact frame rate and gpu usage issues with the 258.96 drivers. The most annoying thing is when I adjust settings from High to Low or whichever way I get no change in usage or frame rate.

    I don't think its a CPU bottleneck as my CPU (intel q9550 quad core-Stock 2.83ghz) is not working that hard according to hardware monitor and in Heaven benchmark i can get 100% usage on the GPU no problem and adjusting settings does affect frame rate.

    It all seems to point toward a driver/game optimization issue. I seem to be able to run other titles pretty well without this issue, for example Final Fantasy XIV (even with its serious server lag bugs) gets the GPU up to 95% usage or so in open areas.

    Any suggestions? Tried the replay file fix thing, trying clean installs, etc.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2010
  18. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    We need more NEW GF104 optimized drivers, the gtx460 is still new so we need more mature drivers. And a patch from codemasters for f1.
     
  19. NoviceRei

    NoviceRei Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D 460 825/1079/1650

    don't worry mate, others are also having low GPU usage with the game so it's prolly a codemasters issue. :)
     
  20. Hayden202

    Hayden202 Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI-TF560ti 2GB - SLI
    Got it thanks so much for the help. I hope those new 260.63 officials launch soon but I can't imagine they will be far off from the Beta's so I'm not expecting too much:( Yeah hopefully codemasters gets a patch out F1 seems like it would be awesome!
     

Share This Page