EVGA 8800 GTS SLI 320s, 2600k P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Dmxinc, Jan 3, 2012.

1. Dmxinc

Dmxinc Member

GPU:
    Evga 6600gt SLI
    Hi everyone. Obvious Noob here. I Just dismantled my AMD fx62 A8n-SLI Deluxe with EVGA 8800 GTS 320 SLI setup,

and got a 2600k with Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen 3.

Should I even bother with the SLI of the 8800 GTS 320 setup, or just use one in conjunction with the Z68 setup? And of course save for GTX 560 TI

Use:
    Moderate Gaming, Moderate HD Movies and Conversions

Windows 7 Sp1
    8GB Corsair 99924
    Corsair 650w modular PS

Any advice is appreciated. Links for me to study, even better....

2. The Chubu

The Chubu Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
    Try it for teh lulz.

I have mad fun when i can do that sort of stuff (like snapping an Athlon heatsink to my old Ge Force 8600 GT lol )

3. Agent-A01

Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4090 FE H20
    I suppose it wont hurt, but them 8800gts 320mb are going to run badly in any newish games..

4. shaithis

shaithis Guest

Wow, for those tasks you should have bought a 2500k, a much cheaper motherboard and a 560Ti - for the same price!

Your going to see no benefit from the extra layout you have incurred yourself :/

A single 8800 320 is going to be very poor in todays games unless you run @ low settings/resolution....so yes, SLI them.

5. Hlafordlaes

Hlafordlaes Active Member

GPU:
    GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    About old gear... I am still on an 8800 GTS 640, running in a PCIe 4x slot (weird dual AGP-PCIe mobo) and powered by a lowly E4500 CPU. I like the challenge of tweaking the OS, drivers, chipset (pci registers), and game to get still good graphics in spite of my gear. Without resorting to low-res and poor quality, I run Skyrim with enough FPS to enjoy myself.

Not all that long ago I was still running Oblivion on a 7600GT on a PIII Tualatin system. OK, poor grass, but all else was really fairly good.