1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

evga 8800 GTS 512

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by 8800gts512, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. 8800gts512

    8800gts512 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVga 8800 GTS 512
    i have a 8800 GTS 512 that i cannot overclock i tried using ntune and it crashes my computer, tried rivatune and that didn't work for some reason it says riva tune has not been tested with the currently installed display driver. i am running driver version 7.15.11.6928 windows vista 32 bit, and when i click customize on the screen NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512 / Generic PnP monitor the only options are low level refresh rate settings, low level desktop color schemes, and graphics subsystem diagnostics report. my forceware version is 169.28. any ideas or reasons why it wouldn't be working?
     
  2. ice_chiney

    ice_chiney Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Dual 690s
    well i can OC and wat not from my ntune program..but i cannt get riva to work

    get the same message as u..

    does anyone kno the prob?

    mine is a BFG btw...
     
  3. LedHed

    LedHed Banned

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
    In order to use RivaTuner on the G92 GTS you need to go into your Program Files RivaTuner Directory and edit "rivatuner.cfg" to include this:

    G92 = 610h-61Fh,600h

    Find that line under [GPU_10DE] and add in the part in bold

    Now the G92 GTS will work.
     
  4. Cpt. Price

    Cpt. Price Banned

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS ATI HD 3850 512
    Just do what that guy said.
     

  5. 8800gts512

    8800gts512 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVga 8800 GTS 512
    thank you so much! my fan was only running at 22% and my mo bo has auto shutdown at 70c so my computer was cutting off and it was getting on my nerves- it's now running at 36 c right along with my processors :) thanks again
    btw red n white its nc state GO PACK!
     
  6. 8800gts512

    8800gts512 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVga 8800 GTS 512
    what do you reccomend as far as clocks? right now im running 775/1900

    what are you 512 gts guys using? i tried 800/2000 but my pc shut down
     
  7. gamepagol

    gamepagol Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Intel G41 Chipset
    well my card is running @ 730/1825/1944 as default its pre-overclocked... though i dont like overclocking just for a test i reach around 806/2025/2150 and load temp is around 75C for 2hrs ATiTool no artifacts (fan speed 60% duty)... hope can go further but never tried... pretty happy with my default speed... very stable indeed....
     
  8. ice_chiney

    ice_chiney Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Dual 690s
    thanks guys

    running an easy 802/2000/2000
     
  9. RKOver

    RKOver Banned

    Messages:
    1,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5870 @ 900MHz
    Damn.
     
  10. LedHed

    LedHed Banned

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
    I'll throw on my Thermalright HR-03 Rev A + 120mm Antec TriCool Fan and see what this baby can do :D
     

  11. desertjedi

    desertjedi Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 260
    Are you doing this on stock cooling???

    I have no cooling problems - the highest I've ever seen my gpu in 3DMark06 is in the mid-50s C but I can't even clock the GPU at 730 or that app will crash-to-desktop. I always thought the problem was insufficient voltage.
     
  12. ice_chiney

    ice_chiney Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Dual 690s
    stock cooler.. i can go higher..but no need too

    i get over 14k in 3dmark06

    and like 24k in 3dmark05

    and im still using a dual core at 4ghz..
    if i had a quad that score wud sky!!
     
  13. 8800gts512

    8800gts512 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVga 8800 GTS 512
    ok well for some reason I can only get my memory clock to 1166 mhz and riva tune will only let me go up to 1460 and i tried that and it was terrible

    i thought the stock memory clock on a 8800gts 512 was 2000mhz do i have a defective card? it says my defauly memory clock is 972mhz?

    also i tried to check for artifacts with ati tool and it says that the card i selected for overclocking is not used by windows... do i need to the config file for ati tool too?
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2008
  14. 8800gts512

    8800gts512 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVga 8800 GTS 512
    actully i tried to get my mem clock to 1460 which was the limit for rivatune (i have no idea how that guy got 2 ghz on mem clock ) but when i did my screen had more artifacts than a museum.

    gpu - z validation

    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/vgddz/
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2008
  15. LedHed

    LedHed Banned

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
    Your actual memory clock speed should read 1000mhz since it's GDDR3. If your clock speed is 1000mhz your effective is at 2000mhz. No one is running their GTS memory at 1460 (2x1460=2920mhz) 2000mhz is the limit on most of the GTS memory anything over it provides no gains and instability.
     

  16. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    Shader overclock gives the most gain from my test
     
  17. jimday

    jimday New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gigabyte 8800gts 512mb
    i have a gigabyte 8800gts 512mb, and had the same problem. rivatuner wasn't able to determine my card, until i tweaked that .cfg file (thx LedHed)
    the stock frequencies are:
    -core:700mhz
    -memory:2000mhz effective
    -shader: 1700mhz

    will keep you up to date with my oc., soon

    so, i've managed to raise the frequencies to: 782/1068/1917

    but sadly, in 3dmark 06 with stock config i've got ~8000points, and with oc ~8400points :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2008
  18. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    Put the shader upto 1900 (unlink it)
     
  19. ice_chiney

    ice_chiney Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Dual 690s
    im almost to the 15k line with a c2d processor...

    i`ll get there..
    once u get that 15k break.. i`ll get a valid 3dmark06 test and put it up
     
  20. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    nice i get that with my quad
     

Share This Page