Ever bought a GPu that was faulty/defective?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Spongeguard, Jun 25, 2010.

1. Spongeguard

Spongeguard Member

GPU:
    ATI / HD 5770 / 1024mb
    If so, what were the symptoms?
    I'm just asking mostly out of curiosity, since I'm relatively new to the whole high end GPU market.

2. Dustpuppy

Dustpuppy Ancient Guru

GPU:
    integrated - fffffffuuuuu
    After one of my old gpu's bit it there would be nothing on the monitor but windows would still do it's little sound thingy after booting.

Some mobo's are supposed to do beep codes if the vga fails but I've never heard them.

3. BetA

BetA Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
    jup i did one time..its loong ago^^
    that was an 6800gt i belive...the shaders where broke..i had lines all over the monitor..
    since then i never bought from Leadtech again.....

since then i had fully operational vga cards with no problem :)

greetz Beta

4. Veteran

Veteran Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    I had a faulty gtx 280 that i bought from OCUK,i phoned them up and told them it was faulty and they was funny about it,anyhow i sent it back and they sent me a return gtx 280 that was faulty as well!It took them 2 weeks to send the replacement out...i posted in there forum and they suspended me lol....talk about a bunch of pricks lol...Anyhow i sent my 280 off to BFG and they replaced it with a brand new one,i will never ever buy from OCUK again.

5. Reddoguk

Reddoguk Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Guru3d GTX 980 G1
    The Nvidia 8800 series were known to have alot of issues.
    Search youtube for people cooking them in an oven lol.

Yes thats right, wrapped in tinfoil and baked at 200 degrees fixed some of them.

6. Svein_Skogen

Svein_Skogen Maha Guru

GPU:
    2x GTX570, ASUS+eVGA