Epic Games launcher will receive a patch to fix CPU usage

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 30, 2020.

  1. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    522
    GPU:
    .
    I believe in TCP/IP stack analysis. Disabling the proper telemetry services and task, you don't sand nothing in idle.
     
  2. DeskStar

    DeskStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    163
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti/3090FTW
    Keep on keepin on.

    Hey. I "WON'T" take that money you left out. Because I said I wouldn't.... And you hit the button to not allow me to.

    Just watch your internet accessibility and tell me there's no cross talk going on in your system that you didn't allow.

    And besides. There's truly that much and or that important of information on your computer to be singled out for some sort of attack?

    Or do you do enough shady shite that you might pick up an infection and get robbed?!?

    I don't get the mentality is all. Conspiracy this and conspiracy that.
     
    tunejunky likes this.
  3. DeskStar

    DeskStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    163
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti/3090FTW
    It does it itself.
     
  4. tunejunky

    tunejunky Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    422
    GPU:
    RadeonVII RTX 2070
    i freaked out when i saw this on my program list.
    but i realized what it was after a little prodding. for me it affects my 3950x but ALSO my i7 8th gen mobile
     

  5. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,396
    Likes Received:
    920
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Besides the CPU usage, did anyone actually look at GPU usage?

    Watching the store carousel images, GPU usage was spiking up and down.
    Kinda ridiculous to see 150w of GPU usage on some slideshow lol
     
    386SX likes this.
  6. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    Not really, every single game launcher collects some sort of data, even besides the de-selectable options.
    If you would be really concerned about your privacy you wouldn't even run any sort of commercial piece of software, OS and browser included.
     
    DeskStar and Gandul like this.
  7. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,131
    Likes Received:
    3,124
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Welcome to Chromium Embedded Frameworks.
     
    Agent-A01 likes this.
  8. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    245
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    @DeskStar
    cause no one uses a computer for anything but porn and cracks, right? lol
    what about email, browsing or just online banking.
    i dont need to do shady things, to end up with/in trouble.
    same way not everyone that has an accident, is drunk.
     
  9. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,507
    Likes Received:
    2,541
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Hey this is actually still an issue despite them claiming to have fixed it, now that I have a ryzen chip I remembered this issue and started the epic launcher and left it idle for a little while and the cpu is idling at between 3.7 to 4ghz and in task manager some of the cores are doing something, then I closed the epic launcher and it went back down to 2.62ghz idle and in task manager all cores went flat.

    The launcher is definitely doing something in the background.
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  10. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    3,982
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    Yep, I just checked and it makes my CPU usage go up from 1-2% to 9-10%
     

  11. Freeman

    Freeman Member Guru

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    460 768Mb
    With 4 likes for my simple reply.

    It dont matter who they are, China or whatever. Its a data farm to monetise.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page