Enable AMD Freesync w/ Registry?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by xeltic, Mar 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xeltic

    xeltic Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD R9 280x
    anyway to do this? since there are people finding out new hacks for VSR is there maybe an option for freesync?
     
  2. Despoiler

    Despoiler Master Guru

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire TRI-X R9 Fury
    Not possible. The tcon/scaler in your monitor needs to support it.
     
  3. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Freesync is working on single GPUs if you have a FreeSync enabled monitor.

    Crossfire support in the next month driver. I hope.
     
  4. MacT

    MacT Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Sapphire HD 7970 OC
    Depends also on what you want freesync for too. Besides needing to buy a freesync monitor, if you are thinking it will be great for gaming then you will be out of luck with a HD 7950.

    From AMD:
    All AMD Radeon™ graphics cards in the AMD Radeon™ HD 7000, HD 8000, R7 or R9 Series will support AMD FreeSync™ technology for video playback and power-saving purposes. The AMD Radeon™ R9 295X2, 290X, R9 290, R9 285, R7 260X and R7 260 GPUs additionally feature updated display controllers that will support dynamic refresh rates during gaming.

    :(
     

  5. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    You did it again AMD?

    Another "hardware" limited feature like VSR?

    :thumbdown

    What about Freesync crossfire game support it will be also "hardware" limited to a next restricted amount of GPUs?

    To which GPUs?
     
  6. xeltic

    xeltic Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD R9 280x
    Even without a monitor there has to be someway to just enable it?, I can currently get 4k 39hz on my monitor(edid overrides thanks to ToastyX) but the screen tearing makes me wanna kill myself so I wanted to try it with freesync enabled even without a freesync monitor to see if there is a difference etc, I dont understand why the option wont be present in the registry though. Maybe with a custom monitor driver that has freesync added in the original monitor then the option might be present?
     
  7. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Freesync is a 2 part feature:

    - AMD GPU with freesync suported by the driver.

    - Monitor with Freesync enabled.

    The 2 sides needs to do their job.

    To be able to use Freesync the monitor MUST have DP 1.2a Adaptative Sync enabled (Freesync), this is MANDATORY no matter what you do in the computer side can solves this need.
     
  8. MacT

    MacT Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Sapphire HD 7970 OC
    Your not too bright are you, going on about the "hardware" limited VSR (here and in another thread on VSR). What is so hard to understand?

    Fact, there were to be 2 phases of implementation of VSR.
    Phase 1 : Hardware specific implementation of VSR. Obviously the later model GPU's were made with the appropriate hardware incorporated. They got it first because it was easy and ready to go (as in " use the included hardware to VSR" - simple).

    No mystery. No lying from AMD. Initial VSR release (phase 1) was hardware limited! If your card didn't have the required hardware, then it wouldn't work under initial Phase 1 release.

    Fact, for older GPU's that did not have this specific incorporated hardware, they required a fully software based solution to implement a VSR. As AMD stated long time ago, this software based solution (Phase 2) would be provided at a later date.

    So hardware implementation first for the new cards. Software implementation for the older cards later. Again, which bit don't you understand there?

    Now, as to what peeps have found in a few of these latest CCC packages? Presumably it is AMD's software based VSR solution (Phase 2) for the older cards. And whether it was a mistake or not in that AMD have let this software solution out already, who knows. But since they didn't announce it, I will guess that maybe it is still a work in progress and wasn't intended yet for release.

    And back to the freesync issue.

    WOW WTF. A new freesync feature that old cards won't be able to do! Sounds like: Why can't my CD player play DVDs? OR If a new Ford Mustang can do 150 mph, why can't my 1968 Ford Escort do 150mph too? ANSWER: Because it is OLD and can't handle it!!!

    Seriously, new features sometimes require new hardware to run said new features.
     
  9. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,823
    Likes Received:
    711
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    FreeSync is more complicated than downscaling.

    Judging by the rest of your answer, you don't sound like the brightest bulb either. And your manners are abhorrent.

    You realize that everyone (even 5000 series) can use VSR with a registry trick, right? The only differentiation is the resolution they can upscale to.

    Their official representative in this forum said that 7000 series cards won't be able to use VSR because they didn't have a required hardware scaler. Two days after even people with 5000 series cards have VSR, with all the driver releases (including Catalyst 14.12).

    AMD artificially disabled the feature in cards that could use it, so that only their "cool" R series cards would get it. There is no hardware requirement, unless you wanna do a transform in the downscaled frame using the programmable video engine that Radeons have since the 2000 series.

    He understood that a guy with a 5770 is using it, with the "Phase 1" drivers. He also understands that AMDMatt said that not even 7000 series cards would get it, yet here I am downsampling.

    What we found is that AMD "introduced" VSR by simply lifting the artificial restraint of custom resolutions that the had put in their drivers years ago. There are no "extra files", it's just a registry trick.

    The feature works perfectly, their only problem is that they didn't lock it and everybody caught on their bull****.

    That's a nice analogy, but the truth is that we simply have no idea and we have to take AMD's word for it. Granted, that word is not worth so much lately.

    In closing this, I don't know what your problem is, but it's surely great.
     
  10. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    You are right is more complicated but the amount of cards fully supported doesn't seem to be higher than VSR ones.

    For the rest i must agree with your toughts about this subject and in fact your English is way better than mine to express it!

    Thanks to track my post.

    Yes i'm not too bright in fact i'm not bright at all.

    Do you believe to be "brighter" than me?

    Good for you. :)

    How many "*Mac*" members lives in this forum and why they seem to be so upset with me?

    If you think "Your not too bright are you" is a soft form of insult i'm sure you could do better.

    A different "incarnation" of "*Mac" called me "Imbecile" and "troll concern" in OCN so i know for sure that you could do better.


    Hard to understand?

    Lies are easy forcefeed to "believers", normal people see the lies and are upset. :)

    I don't own a 7000 series and i'm not enough "bright" to understand the "hardware" differences between a rebranded 280 and them.

    AMD announced a future VSR support for the rebranded 7000 as 280 but not for orignal 7000 series.

    Is the "new" 4K VSR i get from my very old hardware 290X with modded drivers "hardware" or "software" VSR?

    Is simply "unlocked" VSR from the AMD drivers.



    Yes this was an AMD mistake.

    Please show me what is the "Hardware VSR" and where is the "software VSR".

    Could be something like this:

    - "Hardware VSR" is the AMD drivers enabled VSR for the GPUs AMD wants to support as a comercial decision...not a hardware limitation.

    - "Software VSR" is the AMD drivers enabled VSR for the GPUs AMD didn't want to support as a comercial decision and unlocked by modding the drivers...not a hardware limitation.


    Do you see the difference?

    Again:

    4K VSR in 290X from modded drivers is "hardware" or software" VSR?

    Maybe it's "Hardware Phase 1 and a half". :)

    Yes, like VSR needs new hardware sometimes....if you don't mod the drivers.!
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015

  11. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    I am the other Mac that called you an imbicile, and for good reason it seems.

    Freesync is a DP 1.2a spec.

    you cant suddenly make something that is 1.2 into a 1.2a with a software "hack". Its a hardware implementation.

    and of your conspiracy theory about VSR, if what you say was true, then i should have 4k.

    But i dont.

    Its pretty clear at this point: Phase 1 - hardware. Phase 2 - software (which they hinted at by saying it would support 280 which doesn't have the proper scaler hardware for phase 1).

    Your "hacks" are phase 2, which AMD did not intend to release yet, otherwise they would work in omega.

    So quit all this non-sense and wait and see what they end up doing.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015
  12. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Nice to see that you are able to insult in any forum and under any nickname. :)

    I'm sorry to don't be up to par...I only use one nickname and i don't like to insult other forum members.

    I never said this is posible.

    I said this:

    Freesync is a 2 part feature:

    - AMD GPU with freesync suported by the driver.

    - Monitor with Freesync enabled.

    The 2 sides needs to do their job.

    To be able to use Freesync the monitor MUST have DP 1.2a Adaptative Sync enabled (Freesync), this is MANDATORY no matter what you do in the computer side can solves this need.


    I guess it's posible that more GPUs could get freesync to use it with Freesync enabled monitors if AMD wants to support it in his drivers..

    I have 4K VSR with modded drivers as many others.

    If you don't have 4K VSR with modded drivers using your 290 you don't properly install them.Period.


    What is the difference at hardware level between 7000 series and rebranded model in 280 series?

    If my "hack" (not mine) is real "phase 2" unreleased Works...

    ...Why it didn't work for you?
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015
  13. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Since i don't have nothing personally against you.

    If you need help installing the modded drivers to get 4K VSR in your 290 i can help you if you want.

    :)
     
  14. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,823
    Likes Received:
    711
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    The "hacks" work with Omega, even on 5000 series cards. VSR is a marketing term for AMD enabling downsampling in their driver, that's all there is to it, the evidence are more than abundant at this point.
    As for the "scaler hardware, people here have it enabled on 5770s and 6870s.
    Every single word you say more on this subject, simply makes you look even more foolish.
     
  15. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    the hacks work with omega, becayse you are copying newer files.

    duh....

    those are the files with the software (phase 2) implementation.

    I am referring to natively in hardware..

    Ditto with 4k. If my scaler supportd it in HW, id have access to it. No "hacks" needed.

    If you think your scaler suddenly has HW support, you are living in a dream world...

    What all you delusional conspiracy theorist fail to realize is your hack IS NOT A HARDWARE IMPLEMENTATION. ITS SOFTWARE.

    The fact that you dont draw a distinction makes YOU look foolish.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015

  16. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    i know how to get it working, have done so, and moved back to native hardware based phase 1.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015
  17. Gapster

    Gapster Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xSapphire R9 290x Tri-x
    Hi there, just read entire thread. And want to say my thoughts. I think there is no secret in this situation. For some reason VSR first implements only for r9 290/x. And for some reason max resolution of VSR was not 4k and still like this. Let's see next drivers release for answers. And what AMDMatt says, not already true as rock. You know we are all people, and driver team is not just one man. Someone say to Matt that the reason is hardware, someone say that 7000 series wouldn't have VSR, he says this to us.
     
  18. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    im sure it was a business decision initially..

    They appear to be backtracking at this point, so all the conspiracy nuts should have no more complaints.
     
  19. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    No hack needed?

    Where is the 4K VSR for 290(X)/295X2 in official AMD drivers?

    Has 290(X)/295X2 the needed "hardware" for 4K VSR?

    As you are very bright and i must be an imbecile as you said, i'm sure that you can explain the following question:

    Is the 4K VSR we get with modded drivers on 290(X)/295X2:

    - "hardware" VSR
    - "software" VSR
    - Or even "hardware phase 1 and a half" VSR?


    :)
     
  20. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    OMG....

    what dont you understand?

    your "hack" is NOT HARWARE VSR.

    its frickin software...

    Thats why i dont have 4k, I DONT HAVE THE HARDWARE.

    the 285 is the only one that does.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page