Eight new Spectre Variant Vulnerabilities for Intel Discovered - four of them critical

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, May 3, 2018.

  1. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,371
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Even if they do break past security for the everyday Joe, there are over a billion average Joes wordwide. All the other Joes would be alerted far in advance. I still havent installed the CPU microcode bios update available for my chip due to that. I will wait until millions are complaining that their lives have been upturned before I do this.
     
    airbud7 and Robbo9999 like this.
  2. DeskStar

    DeskStar Master Guru

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 HC
    Just saying that proves your worth....

    Anyone talking about the NSA in any form on a computer being bias toward a particular brand is simply hysterical in and of its own..

    You're on the internet.............enough said!!
     
  3. Kaarme

    Kaarme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    622
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    Sure, Intel will give you back in the form of a new CPU and chipset generation that you can buy for the full price. Your old mobo will be no good even if you just wanted to switch to a new, more secure CPU. Intel even tries to make sure you absolutely and objectively know what you are buying by only sending review sample CPUs to rubber stamp review sites on their payroll.
     
    AsiJu, carnivore and Dragondale13 like this.
  4. DeskStar

    DeskStar Master Guru

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 HC
    Yessir..... Same here!!
     

  5. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,841
    Likes Received:
    963
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 590
    Sorry , i just had to post this lol ...


    [​IMG]
     
    HitokiriX likes this.
  6. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,502
    Likes Received:
    2,514
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    If you want botnet, then this is gold mine. Secondly who's to say that unpatched workstations in corporations are not going to be part of botnets. They will. So it is free bonus, they'll just pull IP address list of infected systems and match it with mask of targeted corporation... instant profit.
     
    chispy likes this.
  7. Dimitrios1983

    Dimitrios1983 Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX560 4GB
    Don't worry folks INTEL will just hire more AMD workers like the 3-4 they have in the last 2-3 months. Add in their usual monopoly tactics and they will be back in business!
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
    HonoredShadow likes this.
  8. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,371
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Botnets can be a serious threat. But mostly to people with little to no PC skills. Pretty sure most of us here can detect it on our systems and with proper AV or anti-malware programs deal with them quickly. So not too worried about that. AV companies usually discover them before they've spread too far and wide. Not been a victim of a botnet so far. Secondly, dont see how these Spectre vulnerabilities could be used to generate botnets (although I presume botnets can be made to target them).
     
  9. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    141
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 AMP! • H75
    +1
    "The truth is an offense, but not a sin" - Bob Marley
    "The truth is the truth, even if you're in a minority of one" - Mahatma Gandhi
     
  10. Reddoguk

    Reddoguk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    Guru3d GTX 980 G1
    At this rate cpus will be useless soon. More holes than a second hand dart board.
     
    chispy likes this.

  11. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,855
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    GPU:
    .
    I guess succeeding models will only be making up the performance losses at this rate?!
     
  12. D3Master

    D3Master Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    SLI Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    Browsers have had to fix those as well. It is sort of a set of containers (websites in this case) that is supposed to be isolated from the host sensitive data, just like VMs, and that isolation simply breaks down on Spectre/Meltdown. So, assuming you are reading this with a browser, you should care about them.
     
  13. wavetrex

    wavetrex Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    664
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    A browser doesn't run raw machine code, like an executable in the VM. It runs JavaScript, which can not run arbitrary machine code designed to exploit these vulnerabilities.
    You can't simply "access a CPU register" or "memory location" with JS ... browsers are not vulnerable to these ones, and have never been ( unless the browser maker INTENTIONALLY puts the exploit in their code, which would be completely ridiculous )

    Yes, I agree, in corporate/datacenter/virtualization environments.. these are a problem. But for home user patching these is just "free" loss of performance for no actual benefit.
     
  14. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,531
    Likes Received:
    581
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    if they have not been made public yet why is there news about... this ridiculous the people/companies need to stop "leaking" this stuff I still have yet to use Microcode update to last one, more microcodes to come? more to hit the performances?

    I expect in next month we will seeing AMD affliction of this am I the only one that find it strange all these security flaws are being "outed"
     
  15. Raider0001

    Raider0001 Master Guru

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Good that Intel doesn't make operating systems, Microsoft is patching their own for years now and they still did not finish, Intels would generate more holes than the amount of patches possible to load on 1 PC in 1 day
     

  16. Dimitrios1983

    Dimitrios1983 Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX560 4GB
    INTEL will announce buy one CPU get one for FREE! Fine print will be because you need a separate CPU do run the millions of patches on the original CPU.
     
  17. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    627
    GPU:
    RTX2070 SUPER
    Would be nice to have utility that would disable/uninstall/prevent to install all these security fixes at once permamently.
     
  18. vonSternberg

    vonSternberg Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    ECS GT430
    I haven't heard of anyone being affected by Spectre or the other one. Maybe I'm not looking too hard into it or maybe it's an overblown issue
     
  19. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    254
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    Well I enabled "Strict Site Isolation" in Google Chrome browser when I first heard about Spectre/Meltdown, so that's another layer of protection:
    https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/7623121?hl=en-GB
    https://www.chromium.org/Home/chromium-security/site-isolation
     
  20. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    254
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    InSpectre does this:
    http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/download-inspectre.html
    You click on the Enable/Disable buttons for Meltdown & Spectre to turn them on or off - it requires a PC restart to take effect.
     
    airbud7 likes this.

Share This Page