E6600 Bottleneck 9800GTX?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by hulksmash, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. hulksmash

    hulksmash Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560Ti SOC
    Hiya all!

    I'm currently using:
    E6600 2.4GHZ at stock speeds (mobo doesn't allow overclock)
    2GB Ram
    Ati HD 3850 512MB
    19 Inch Monitor

    I want to upgrade to a 9800GTX to get smoother FPS in games like Crysis around 1280x1024 but I haven't quite grasped the concept of how CPU bottleneck works yet.

    The E6600 will definately bottleneck the 9800GTX but I want to know if there's anything I can do to make the 9800GTX work its full potential without upgrading anything else in my system as I do not have enough money

    Lets pretend the game is Gears of War on max details. Numbers are random.


    ----------800 x 600-------1024x768------1280x1024-------1600x1200

    E8500-------300-------------240------------180--------------120---
    E6600-------150-------------150------------150--------------120---

    So basically is this how bottlenecks work? If I were to increase my resolution, it would close the gap and a E6600 would be no different from a E8500 because the card is stressed out enough? If so I would get a 9800GTX but if I see no difference in speed I'll just stick with my 3850.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  2. MileHighMilitia

    MileHighMilitia Master Guru

    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD4850 + TT DuOrb 700/1135
  3. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    "The E6600 will definately bottleneck the 9800GTX"

    No. It will probably be just on the edge at stock though, and if you do a simple and easy overclock to 3.0, it won't even begin to bottleneck.

    Remember, 9800GTX = 8800GTS G92 with minor modifications.
     
  4. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    893
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Im affraid at low resolutions yes you will have a bottleneck , you will only see a difference after 1600/1200 where you will need to try max out the eye candy to force the GPU to work harder.
     

  5. hulksmash

    hulksmash Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560Ti SOC
    Ok guys thanks a lot for clearing this up.

    Peezee my mobo came with Packard Bell and it locks you away from OC the CPU :(

    I've decided to go with the HD4850 cause it looks really awesome and once again thanks all!
     
  6. Chock

    Chock Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x670GTX @40"+26" Samsung
    dude you should decide to go for a new motherboard :)
     
  7. Xercerra

    Xercerra Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7900GTX 512MB @ 690/1740
    pop that cmos! :nerd:
     
  8. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    QFT :cheers:
     
  9. hulksmash

    hulksmash Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560Ti SOC
    Hmm a new motherboard you say?

    Can someone explain why that would help me? Cause if I play at 1600x1200 reso at stock speeds there will probably be no bottleneck and no need for CPU OC in the first place?

    Or is there another reason for me to get a new mobo?

    If I really need a new one, can someone recommend a good cheap board <£50 that allows CPU OC? It'll need to be Micro-ATX and supports LGA 775.

    P.S I make purchases from:
    www.aria.co.uk
    www.dabs.com
    www.misco.co.uk so any recommendations from this site would be much appreciate as I know I can trust these people :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2008
  10. blue5

    blue5 Banned

    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800GTX (685/1115)
    What is a good mobo OCing tool for an Asus P5NSLI mobo in vista?

    My processor must be bottlenecking my card.
     

  11. shady86

    shady86 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 260 Sonic
    core2 at 3.0ghz should eliminate any bottleneck. if u play at high reso, eg 1280x1024 or higher, bottleneck will be less even your c2d is at 2.4. i would suggesst u get hd 4850 for now because this card will only get faster when ATI improves their driver. 800 SPs will be good for newer games.
     
  12. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    893
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580


    http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/

    ;) Happy overclocking
     
  13. blue5

    blue5 Banned

    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800GTX (685/1115)
    thank you very much. Damn, this is one ****ty ass board.
     
  14. Skybullet

    Skybullet Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 GTS XXX , 640 mb
    i have a similar question. I play on 1280 x 1024. I have a core 2 duo e6700 running @ 3 GHz. I currently have a 8800 gts 640.

    would it make any difference if i would buy a 9800GTX or would it be the same as now because my e6700 will bottleneck it on 1280 x 1024 ??
     
  15. shady86

    shady86 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 260 Sonic
    e6700 at 3ghz should be enough and will not bottleneck 9800gtx. anyway upgrading too 9800 gtx will boost maybe 25% frames because 8800 gts is not that slow. I would rather OC the GTS or get gtx 260 or 280 to get major performance boost. GTX200 series will be bottlenecked by CPUs though. Since you are gaming at 1280x1024, I suggest u stick with gts or get HD 4850 instead of 9800gtx because the 800 SPs will help in future.
     

  16. hulksmash

    hulksmash Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560Ti SOC
    I'm pretty sure you will see an increase in speed if you upgrade to 9800 GTX.
     
  17. mr_anthrope

    mr_anthrope New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GeForce 9800GTX 512MB
    Erm...dude?
    You don't need a tool for the P5N-E SLI. That's one of the best OCing boards I've seen in the range.
    I OCed my E6550 2.33Ghz to 3.25Ghz with absolute ease, changing the FSB to 1850 and the CPU voltage to 1.42125V, on stock cooling. Works like a charm, passed all the Prime95 torture tests, so there :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2008
  18. Jonnyboy

    Jonnyboy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,598
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    EVGA SC GTX 1070
    dunno man...I think ABIT's IP35-E is one of the best and easiest over clockers so far I got my e4600 from 2.4ghz to 3.0ghz with a fsb at 250 and multiplier at 12 with the vcore at 3.6 voltage(just to be damn sure I got enough juice to supply the cpu).The temps on stock air cooling are between 20c-34c and with a load 35c-55c
     
  19. micketh

    micketh Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,730
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960
    i think thats a typo 3.6volts. For 3ghz you would be better with 333x9, and you shouldn't need 1.6volts for that. My 4300 does 3.0ghz on stock volts 1.325.
     
  20. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    is the 3.6 voltage core a typo?:3eyes:
     

Share This Page