DX12 on fermi

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Krzyslaw, May 15, 2016.

  1. phatbx133

    phatbx133 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1050ti 4GB
    Look like we have to upgrade to better card like 750ti and up.

    I am thinking about get GTX 960 4gb or wait for GTX 1060/1050 like 950/960.

    By the time Battlefield 1 coming out this fall, I will decide which card i need upgrade after somebody own Battlefield 1 with their gpus and leave some reviews, comments.

    My GTX 560 is pretty much dying...

    1. lack of vram 1GB
    2. lack of shadowplay
    3. lack of nvidia nvenc that i need for video editor.
    4. lack of true DX 12
    5. EOL is EOL.

    2 cents.:nerd:
     
  2. Krzyslaw

    Krzyslaw Master Guru

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    RTX2080S SHUNT MOD
    Despite the fact that I will be buying a new laptop, I'm waiting only for some msi laptop with gtx1070/1080, it would be nice to see promised dx12 on Fermi anyway ;)
     
  3. GiNaJuIcE

    GiNaJuIcE Master Guru

    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 1080 AMP
    im on the latest win 10 update and nvidia drivers. shows dx version 12 feature level 11.0

    the 700's series will never have anything more than feature level 11.0
     
  4. wheeljack12

    wheeljack12 Guest

    I have a gigabyte gtx 750 ti 2gb and I only get dx 11.0 on 10586,not 11.1,11.2 or 11.3 or even 12. Why is nvidia cutting off support on dx12 for 1st gen maxwell cards so low at just 11.0?
     

  5. fellix

    fellix Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    KFA² GTX 1080 Ti
    Kepler and Maxwell v1 (750Ti) are only FL11_0 capable architectures. They still have full driver support for the DX12 API, just without some key features.
     
  6. Kaill

    Kaill Member Guru

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    so has anyone looked in to this and tested it with GPU-Z?
     
  7. bandage106

    bandage106 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970 G1 Gaming
    I looked around on google and I found this thread and it caught my eye. If DX12 is really enabled on Fermi, I should be able to insert my GTX 590 into my case to see whether it'll allow it to use the full 3GB of V-ram on the 590 on a DX12 benchmark. I'm just not sure I want to do that.

    Unsinstalling my GPU means I may reset the configured bios once I un-install the drivers.
     
  8. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    DX12 will not allow to use "full VRAM" on any videocard. Developers may program their games under DX12 in such a way as to make them aware of the VRAM split in SLI/CF systems but that's not something which will happen automatically and it's unlikely to even suit all games out there.
     
  9. siriq

    siriq Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 570 Classified
    Last edited: May 30, 2016
  10. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    You won't get any more than FL11_0 on Fermi, ever, so not sure what you want to show with this screenshot.

    What does DXDiag say on Display tab about Feature Levels and Driver Model?

    You may also try running this tool to see what feature level and optional features the driver reports as supported.
     

  11. siriq

    siriq Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 570 Classified
    Well , you don't understand. It says DX 12 in dxdiag and GPU-Z too but the driver is lacking the DX 12 full implementation. It means, DX 12 is not activated fully in the driver. I am not talking about the feature level at all. WDDM 2.0 as it is long ago now. I hope it is more clear now to you. Anyway , i see the same thing as the kepler shows in dxdiag. I will try the tool later tomorrow. Just don't want to boot up on HDD now.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2016
  12. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    What makes you think that it's the driver which is lacking and not the Windows dev build you're running? If driver reports the support then the support is there, even if it doesn't work for some reason, which isn't very surprising on a beta version of OS.
     
  13. siriq

    siriq Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 570 Classified
    Before with the insider version we were able to run DX 12 tests.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2016
  14. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    869
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    Have you tried the dolphin dx12 renderer?
     
  15. siriq

    siriq Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 570 Classified
    No , i use that insider win 10 very rarely because of the HDD.
    I may try things this weekend. Specially, after nvidia driver f@ck up big time(around 2 weeks ago), so i had to spend 2 full days to recover it somehow and fix it completely.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016

  16. Kaill

    Kaill Member Guru

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    So then by saturday/sunday we will know if this is legit or some weird glitch.
     
  17. siriq

    siriq Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 570 Classified
    Hi! So i tried to choose the DX 12 render in dolphin. It is not working. Failed to initialized the render on the device or something like it. I don't even try more since the driver is lacking of DX 12 .
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2016
  18. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    869
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    Yeah seems likely that the dx 12 driver path isn't actually active or may not be present, the dx12 renderer on dolphin works pretty well with the 358.70 dev driver. I am suprised it has taken so long for nvidia to release a dx12 enabled fermi driver, since the 358.70 driver works quite well despite being more than 8 months old.
     
  19. Yxskaft

    Yxskaft Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    GTX Titan Sli
    I'd be more surprised if Nvidia actually still is working on Fermi's DX12 support after not saying a word about it and the delay period soon has reached one year
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2016
  20. siriq

    siriq Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 570 Classified
    I just installed the 358.70 driver on my regular WIN 10. Dolphin DX 12 works .
    Also did some 3Dmark API overhead test: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/12345651
    Over 4.1 mill now . I couldn't get more than 3.6x mill with GTX 570 before.
     

Share This Page