DX 11 benchmark for ATI guys

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by gerardfraser, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. Passion Fruit

    Passion Fruit Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,017
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080
    I couldn't get it to run in DX11 either.

    I was getting over 100FPS in the benchmark (usually between 80 and 100) and it was pretty choppy
     
  2. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    DX11 worked here.
     
  3. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Cant wait to get 4 cards overclocked and dry ice on the proc for this bench.. still waiting for rma. this week I hope :)
     
  4. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream


    That's possible but it's not called a benchmark for nothing.

    A bench mark is a gauge to check how one's hardware performs. OKay it's a big maybe, the developers of this bench did not code it properly, well they are not doing anyone a favor since it's the first dx11 bench.


    Somehow from the look of things the very first games that use dx11 are probably going to act like this bench which is get lower frames when tess and dx 11 are enabled.
     

  5. Funky Doodle

    Funky Doodle Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte ATI HD 5830 1GB
  6. BlueDragon

    BlueDragon Member Guru

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5870
    Yes totally agree with you on that the benchmark does not impress I mean my bro came in add a look at it he thought it looked like xbox 1 graphics and I am like it uses tess he said I don’t care I have seen a lot better 2 years ago.

    When someone says that after the graphics on display are using state of the art direct x 11 you know something is not right I reckon dirt 2 with DX11 will be fine.

    Are you using windows 7 bit strange you can’t get DX11 part to work I am using vista just had the final update yesterday for DX11 to bring it up to windows 7 standard plus are using the latest drivers off the AMD site.

    Do you want to here something great I emailed AMD asking why I can’t get there DX11 demos to install on vista, add the reply today they say because windows 7 is the only OS to support DX11 vista is only DX10 I mean they made all the videos saying vista and windows 7 for DX11 gaming and all that, I have emailed them back showing how stupid this guy is who emailed me.
     
  7. chaotic1

    chaotic1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
    why does this benchmark only use 1 cpu core ? , is this a feature of dx11 ? . seems odd if you ask me
     
  8. isidore

    isidore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,276
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI GamingOC
    must be to stress the gpu more..
     
  9. chaotic1

    chaotic1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
    maybe but i would expect the 5870 to get a higher score than it does tbh , seems like the fx5800 ultra all over again . that performed bad in dx9 but great in dx8 etc , surely a card (5870) with this kind of power would perform better
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
  10. !H'Guru

    !H'Guru Master Guru

    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3090OC
    That's also to be said about the 8800 GTX, and the cheaper 8800 640 MB and 8800 320 MB GTS. Could they run the first ever DX10 3d Game?
    I mean, it was a card "with that kind of power".

    I do not think that will happen in DX11 because of performance tweaks. Also, the tesslation in this engine is the first to go public as a DX11 benchmark. I shouldn't worry.
     

  11. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    383
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    How's that? Nothing funny in it and they are running it using DX11 API. Heck, even my laptops Intel GMA 4500MHD can run it in DX11. The point in DX11 is that it's comptaible with DX10 cards and it actually even adds features to DX10 cards like compute shader 4.0.
     
  12. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,518
    Likes Received:
    2,912
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  13. StarvinMarvinDK

    StarvinMarvinDK Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    GB Gaming OC 3080
    Just can't get it to run ???

    5870, Catalyst 9.10, newest DirectX and Win 7 Home Premium

    What gives ???
     
  14. alcatraroz

    alcatraroz Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2Radeon HD 5850 CROSSFIRE
    Here's mine
    OC 1000/1250


    [​IMG]
     
  15. gamerk2

    gamerk2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 570 GTX 1.2 GB
    HardOCP just did a review of the benchmark.

    Conclusions:
    1: Tesseelation does more overall work, and sustains at least a 20% FPS penalty.
    2: The DX11 API is around 1% faster overall (never more then 3-4 frames) compared to DX10

    Can someone on Vista do the following [assuming a DX10 card]:
    1: Run without the DX11 API being installed
    2: Run after installing the DX11 API

    I want to see if the supposed multithreading in DX11 makes any effect on DX10 hardware.
     

  16. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,012
    Likes Received:
    1,201
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    This is a pathetic benchmark at best...I ran DX9, DX10 and DX11....my framerates never dropped below 40FPS....they RARELY dropped below 50FPS, yet it decided my "average FPS" was 46.9 in DX11, 47.8FPS in DX10, and 49.9 in DX9. In most tests, I was staying between 58FPS and 70FPS....I'd dip into the 40's for 2-3sec per "stage". In the DX9 benchmark, my lowest was 52FPS...how was my "average FPS" below my lowest FPS from the entire benchmark?????

    Funny to see people running ATI cards making such statements seeing as how DX10 contains most of the DX11 instructions, and the remaining instructions (with the exception of Tessellation) can be emulated by CPU. Guess you should have read the FAQ sheet on DX11. We may take a small performance hit due to the emulation, but unless trying to use Tessellation, we still get DX11.

    Because it wasn't written to fully use the DX11 API....which was designed for multi-core systems. They have intentionally limited it to 1 cpu core.
     
  17. chaotic1

    chaotic1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
    but why bottleneck the gfx ? , this will not give true performance of the 5*** series ? . i always thought a benchmark was to test the gfx etc to see what they could do
     
  18. ROYCE59

    ROYCE59 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    palit gtx 580 @970 1.1v
    why would you run a 5800 series card on that res?
     
  19. cyris69

    cyris69 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi 5970BE 900/1200 1.29v
    bad performance

    My OC'ed XFX Black edition 5970 is sad for performance if MSAA is on period it lags like a little baby.

    The GTX 480 I benched in my system took on the Heaven Benchmark like it was nothing maxed with MSAA on 8X. It took my card OC'ed at 900/1200 to just get 2k more points over the GTX in 3DMarks. I have a beast of a system as well.
    I got with the ati card a range from 32-38 average FPS in heaven bench min 11 max 140 the dragon seem crushed my card but was flawless with the gtx

    System Specs:
    Cat 10.6
    * Intel i7-930 @ 4.30 Ghz
    * Asus P6X58D Premium BIOS 0703
    * 6GB Kingston HyperX T1 Series KHX2000C9AD3T1FK3/6GX @1683Mhz
    * Corsair H50 Cooler Push/Pull 133CFM
    * Antec 1200 w/ 6 133CFM 120mm fans and top 200mm stock

    You can see the GTX bench on my blog still uploading the ati bench.
    http://www.therandomtechblog.com/

    ati at stock settings 3dmarks06 pro
    [​IMG]

    gtx 480 at stock
    [​IMG]

    We did about the same in Vantage and Heaven

    Now in Metro 2033 maxed and in DX11 I get about 60FPS where his did 27-35FPS with MSAA on or off I can't run the game period with multisampling on.

    I want to know why this beast of a card and hole in my pocket doesn't perform well at all also I am using an Arctic Cooling Accelero Extreme for my ati
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
  20. Atlas

    Atlas Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    290 x2, Saphire reference
    Heaven benchmark is tuned for Nvidia cards, and guess what? Metro 2033 is also tuned for those cards. When you look for benchmarks on those two cards you'll see that you picked the two titles that the GTX480 is faster then the HD5970.

    Edit: Why did you take 3dm06 as a reference? It's heavily cpu dependant. Take actual game benchmarks or even Vantage as a tool to look at the difference between those two cards.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010

Share This Page