Driver or VRAM error?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Frozen, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. Frozen

    Frozen New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 4830
    Hello every1 i'm newbie here
    So it just have started yesterday when i try to overclock my videocard (Radeon 4830) .I try to overclock it upto 635/955 and test it with 3DMark06. Everything was fine, GPU temp. max was at 68°C. After test i started to play games and 30 minutes later game crashed :bang:. After that sometimes i can boot into windows and sometimes can't, also screen had artifact too (have artifact when in POST too).
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    but when run at safe mode everything back to normally :confused:
    [​IMG]
    I don't know exactly this is VRAM or driver error
    And what should i do to solve this
    Sorry for bad English.
    P.s: this card have normal clock at 575/900
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012
  2. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    If you get those artifacts during post it's definitely vram. Hate to say this but it prob fried from being overclocked.

    You can try running stock speeds, prob won't help though.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012
  3. Frozen

    Frozen New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 4830
    But why it still run normally at safe mode? Can't understand this, still running at default clock :behead:
    I'm using safe mode to post it lol
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012
  4. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I don't know why exactly, however I have seen other cards with faulty vram that were OK in safe mode but fubared with Windows running in normal mode.

    Try underclocking the memory....
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012

  5. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    did you change the vcore when you overclocked? I never saw a card diing by just overclock without changing the vcore.
     
  6. Frozen

    Frozen New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 4830
    I only change clock = ="
     
  7. popeye

    popeye Master Guru

    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GT 730M
    I think safe mode uses very basic memory location for video graphics and zero acceleration or anything special. Just enough to provide usable picture.

    Could try re-flashing the BIOS,
     
  8. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    safe mode is basic yes, but wouldnt POST/BIOS be even more basic or equal?
     
  9. popeye

    popeye Master Guru

    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GT 730M
    Yep, re-flash bios would be my personal next step. If still messed up then hardware problem.

    Could wipe the drive and start over. See if it works. Doubt it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012
  10. Frozen

    Frozen New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 4830
    After 1 day and now everything back to normal but i hadn't try with game = ="
    [​IMG]
    P\s: had tested with some light and normal game but don't dare to test with heavy games
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012

  11. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,809
    Likes Received:
    3,367
    GPU:
    6900XT+AW@240Hz
    VRAM - safe mode

    It really looks like vram problem. Difference between normal and safe mode may be amount of video memory allocated, it means safe mode may not be using affected memory chip(s).
     
  12. Kharenis

    Kharenis Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7950 @ 1100/1400
    If it starts happening again, if you try to RMA it then just tell them it randomly went fubar.

    Don't mention overclocking :)
     
  13. Daftshadow

    Daftshadow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    it's vram problem. i just had this happen to an older nvidia 6800 gtx card i have for another PC. everything looked fine in safe mode but anything else, artifacts everywhere.
     

Share This Page