Driver install blew my system?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Inspector999, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. slckb0y

    slckb0y Banned

    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GV-N470SO-13I@900/2000 x3
  2. buddybd

    buddybd Master Guru

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Damn so many horror stories and I still hav absolutely no issues. I went from a 570 Classified to a 580 SLi yesterday (reinstalled driver of course), and still everything's fine.

    I don't even use Driver Sweeper and I don't install the 3D drivers either.
     
  3. DarkTerror

    DarkTerror Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 660ti
    Yay another blame on Nvidia for anything that happens to PC.
     
  4. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,430
    Likes Received:
    941
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    read thread before trolling. OPs problem was mobo.
     

  5. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Yes your right the was a driver i think it was the 175.xx i think,i do remember the driver being withdrawn by nvidia,it worked for some and didnt work for others,it worked ok for me on my on my 280gtx in sli,if Hunter was still around he would be able to tell you the exact driver...he was pretty good with drivers.
     
  6. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    MSI 970 @1.55ghz
    speak for yourself. OPs real problem was found, meanwhile, even uninstalling my drivers didnt help, driver sweeper didnt help, i had to manually wipe every single 290.53 file to get my random BSODs and 3d lockups to stop.
     
  7. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,803
    Likes Received:
    158
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3050 Ti
    I think something similar happened to me too, but PC is fine.
    Just black screen and nothing happened, restarted and the system was fine again.

    I booted up WoW in windowed mode and screen went black again.

    So restarted PC again and set the 295 back to clock speeds and now i didn't see a black screen anymore.

    But when i went to bed, i heard the PC restart twice o_O

    Well i can't say it's the drivers to blame though, i just got a new graphics card and power supply.
     
  8. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
    I don't know if it's drivers' fault, but since I've installed them my system became quite unstable: black screens, colored screen at logon window, flashing pixels, BSODs, but the worst thing is that when I turn the PC power on (directly from PSU or from the power strip), I have a blackout in the whole apartment. I'm starting to think that these drivers screwed up seriously my Maximus Formula causing these huge overcharges... I even changed PSU but after a week the electricity was gone again... Some minutes ago another blackout. It wasn't happening before...
     
  9. seercirra

    seercirra Member Guru

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX480 Nitro+O.C.
    theyre beta drivers for a reason..

    really they should let nvidia know this is happening so it doesnt happen to more people
     
  10. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,883
    Likes Received:
    389
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    It wasn't the driver :D


    Reminds me, is it normal to have a Hello Kitty image on the BIOS startup screen after installing 300.11?
     

  11. Virtue

    Virtue Master Guru

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 WF3
    Perfectly normal
     
  12. buddybd

    buddybd Master Guru

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Those drivers installed Paranormal Activity in your house? o_O

    Seriously though, I doubt drivers can cause those lol. Did you try changing your motherboard, power strip/socket?
     
  13. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
    LOL... Was thinking about that... :D

    Anyway, I've changed the power strip and the day after same problem, even tried to plug the PC to others light sockets but same issue... Since some of you said that these drivers may stress the northbridge too much I thought they damaged some component of my mobo, which was working very well since now. Didn't try to change mobo though, it's quite expensive and with sandy bridge in the air the best thing would be a total rebuilt of my system... :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  14. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,883
    Likes Received:
    389
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    There was one driver (196.75) that did cause a serious problem for many users.
    ATI fanboys always bring it up when discussing drivers.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  15. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    So what did you do?


    I just got BF3 and now my ram isnt stable anymore with 290.53 -_-

    I was greeted with high pitch sound freeze after a while, again.. I raised mch further from 0.300v to 0.325v and tRFC form 92 to 96 but still it keeps happening, i had to back down my oc to 445mhz fsb (ram 1068mhz, mch 0.275v and kinda high timings tRFC 84) and so far its ok.. I didn't have such problems with 285.xx

    edit: yep now that i lowered my OC its fine.. heh, i guess its older LGA775 that can suffer the most, esp. when Oc'ed.

    But to have such a difference 290.36 vs 290.53 is a bit worrying. I mean i had 1000% stable OC with 290.36 and now with 290.53 its not even with much higher voltage and relaxed timings.. Nice optimization hacks, not :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012

  16. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
    ^ First I'm going to replace my GTX470 which is causing various issues and maybe an abnormal current absorption, then I'll call an electrician who will check my house for anomalies and then the Ghostbusters... Hope they won't cross the streams. LOL :D

    Anyway my system OC is stable so far, so I'm not experiencing your kind of troubles, but that's really a pain in the a.. I guess...
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  17. southeastblue

    southeastblue Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HiS IceQ 7950 3GB
    May be entirely coincidental but since installing those beta drivers weird stuff has been happening to my computer also.

    BF3 was randomly freezing, which required ctrl, alt + del to get me back to the desktop where it says BF3 is not responding. Then I've been having a weird problem where my graphics card doesn't display anything when I turn my computer on in the morning, and requires me to turn the monitor on/off a couple of times to get a picture.

    Obviously this could be unrelated, but it definitely ties in time wise with when I 1st started using those beta drivers. I since uninstalled, used driver sweeper in safe mode and reinstalled the latest WHQL. Hopefully this solves at least some crashes... :3eyes:
     
  18. elite69

    elite69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    my gpu also f......... i was playing bf3 sudnly bsod and my gpu puff only the fan went to maximum but mine actualy fried my luck the gpu was stil under warranty so rma but was working with this crapy drivers it might be a coincidence maybe not i thinck i wil buy a ati or some becouse or nvidia change the Guy that make these crapy beta drivers or i thinck its best for me to change brands becouse Dam i had a 8800gt some years back and shes stil intact but i didnt instal this drivers on her it might BLOW nvidia fix this crapy branch
     
  19. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,883
    Likes Received:
    389
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    What makes you so sure of that it was the driver?
     
  20. buddybd

    buddybd Master Guru

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    I have been playing BF3 a lot recently, and so far no problems at all :S RAM is at stock clocks and timings (manually up'd voltage a little) but my processor is overclocked.
     

Share This Page