driver 16.101.1611.1002 (works with non gcn)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by user1, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    http://download.windowsupdate.com/d/msdownload/update/driver/drvs/2016/04/20866024_54347982aeac8e37aaae553795dd39d1be9ca984.cab


    on windows update as a win10 64bit driver for r5 430M , seems to include support for carrizo and stoney

    oddly enough it contains pre gcn driver path, and it works with an inf mod on my HD6870

    [​IMG]

    :thumbup:

    Updated:added TrinityDesktop and Trinity mobile gpus

    Edit:Here is Modded inf, https://www.sendspace.com/file/cnj3o9
    with includes ids for all NI (Thanks vinyl for pointing out missing barts ids) Wrestler,Vancouver,VancouverA (might br fixed for 6700m),TrinityDesktop,TrinityMobile gpus.

    will add more if wanted
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
  2. mysteriously

    mysteriously Guest

    that's interesting. let me check this out.

    //"A service installation section in the INF is invalid" the error states on my own modified inf.

    I did not try to use already available sections (2nd way to mod the inf)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2016
  3. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,364
    Likes Received:
    904
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    How do you mod the inf. when i do it, says the file has been tampered with due to hash mismatch

    Edit: i added mine 6770m into the the inf but on install it says this driver does not contain support for this version of windows or some such.

    I put it into test mode, disabled driver enforcment
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  4. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    yeah the inf mod for these drivers is a bit more extensive, since its missing certain sections,

    you need to copy all the missing sections for your gpu from the 16.2.1 beta drivers, its quite a bit,

    but if you want to just try the drivers, you can just copy the appropriate dlls from the driver to a games folder(where the exe is) and try them,

    Edit: I added the 6700m series to the inf http://paste.ofcode.org/jD2DbqWMRtnHqLPRTWdSLP

    here is download for inf if lazy
    https://www.sendspace.com/file/zvada7

    it contains entries for legacy product(already in there) but i highly doubt the dlls actually contain the driver path for them

    EDIT2: Added wrestler gpus(hd 6320) to inf including missing sections Mysteriously
    http://paste.ofcode.org/jDurASF7Pw6rzNaGkubTtQ
    and for the lazy https://www.sendspace.com/file/vc073s
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016

  5. vinyl

    vinyl Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6870(OC) @ 975mhz
    Thanks for the inf files.. Wasn't lazy but FLEM was bugging out so when I gave yours a try it's giving me "These drivers are not supported by this version of Windows" ??

    I'm stumped as I see the AMDxxx10.0 sections and my card does show up in device manager (6800 series) if I update.

    Running Windows 10 b14393 (RS1) which I believe should support any 10 driver? Any ideas?? There's actually another INF in there which also has the 10.0 sections. I'll have to try it on a Windows 10 b10586 box sometime to see if the culprit is RS1 (final release!?) build. Not sure what else to do except wait for the super modder Asder?
     
  6. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,364
    Likes Received:
    904
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    That's what mine said as well.

    Don't care about the games, just like to have a more up-to-date driver.
     
  7. vinyl

    vinyl Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6870(OC) @ 975mhz
    Yup... Ok, glad it's not just me! (RS1 or TH2?) And I also rather not drop dll's into everything I run. The only thing I can think of is it's expecting compressed files with the extension *.dl_ but since it actually "tries" to install I don't believe that's the reason. :bang:
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  8. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    thats strange, i am running the driver on windows 2016 server preview 5, which is 14300 .RS1, Did you disable driver signature enforcement?, i had problems with turning on test signing, so i used the shift+restart method

    make sure you delete the other inf(C0301710) in the driver folder, it may interfere.

    edit: also you might want to wipe your drivers since, it can be confusing as windows will keep adding each driver you try to install to the driverstore
    I know it made me confused a few times.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  9. vinyl

    vinyl Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6870(OC) @ 975mhz
    All I did was disable driver enforcement, i'll try the test mode now.. Thanks for the input.

    edit: yes i deleted the other INF, i'm going to try wiping and installing now
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
  10. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    Modding the inf for the 6700M series I noticed was more complicated due to the fact that it uses ati2mtag_VancouverA entries as well as ati2mtag_Vancouver entries in the inf , its kinda confusing, i may have missed something,Ill look for errors. you can try fixing it too if you want.
     

  11. mysteriously

    mysteriously Guest

  12. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    cool:grin:
     
  13. vinyl

    vinyl Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6870(OC) @ 975mhz
    Update: I had originally removed the other inf as discussed and just did a DDU clean. Still no go with same error :wanker:

    Well, it's not just happening to me and I also have the same GPU (6870). Very odd, going to take another look at the inf and see, if not, back to 16.2b I go I guess...
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
  14. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    what is the device id of your 6870? (full string from hardware ids device manager)

    edit:you could try the inf that i edited in wrestler support, i tried and it works.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
  15. vinyl

    vinyl Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6870(OC) @ 975mhz
    It's a Barts...

    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6739&SUBSYS_174B174B&REV_00

    I have tried both inf's to no avail with:

    Just added the above (6739.1-.4) and VOILA!!! :banana::banana:

    EDIT: And it has the new CNext!

    EDIT2: Here's the new inf for those in need
    http://paste.ofcode.org/qSfkQZdk9tLLANWN4APC9U
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016

  16. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    ahh so it was the newer barts, mines a launch reference (6738).
     
  17. vinyl

    vinyl Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6870(OC) @ 975mhz
    Yup, it's a old sapphire with a bios mod 6850->6870 (minus shaders). It once had a nice overclock at 975 until i changed t-grease now i can't get it past 900? Oh well, still a large bump from 775 tho.

    Driver feels placebo-a-bly solid... I didn't think it would ever happen, good find man! I went into the dark room for an bit to check on those newer R7 wu sets from last month. What's a telltale sign that doesn't contain legacy upgrade path for non-gcn besides trial and error / plug and pray?

    EDIT: Someone had posted this also on station-drivers around 12 hours ago.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
  18. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    I found this driver (16.101.1611.1002), and a few other 16.101.1201.1001 ones (reported lower ogl version in doom than 1611),
    ,i noticed the doom demo reports a higher ogl compatibility context version than the regular crimson 16.2.1. so there are at least a few bug fixes here or there.

    My guess is that amd pulled the plug on the non-gcn driver path with the 16.15 driver branch, which is when they released the vulkan driver, anything before that might work, anything after probably wont.
     
  19. FunkyMike

    FunkyMike Master Guru

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 6850m /Intel HD3000

    The actual driver kernel of this driver is ancient from 2012.



    never mind what I just said .. I totally failed at comparing the driver.

    :bang:

    Update.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
  20. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    Word travels fast i guess lmao.:smoke:
     

Share This Page