Downsampling with AMD: Guide and Demonstration

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by BlackZero, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Do you have VSR AND crossfire in games with modded drivers?

    If this is correct tell me how because i can't make it work with my 290X crossfire. :)

    4K VSR crossfire is broke here, right side of the screen is flickering while playing.

    However single GPU 4K VSR with modded drivers works fine.
     
  2. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    No I use the official drivers 15.4 and CRU to add my custom resolutions.
     
  3. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Ahhhh that's a different story.

    I'm non-CRU compatible as you know, i never had success with it. :(
     
  4. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB
    CRU doesnt work for me with 15.4 beta and my R9 290.
    Tried everything so I could have 4k to test before my new monitor arrives.
    id love to have CRU work so i can do more 21:9 resolutions above 2560x1080 in DX10/11 games.

    Ill use geodosato for everything else.
     

  5. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    1070 G1
    Just the obvious one...do your eyes a favor and that kind of stuff...you've heard it plenty by now I imagine ;)
     
  6. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    I'm also using 2560x1600 downscaled to 1920x1200, with 7950s in crossfire. It worked without any problem so far after enabling VSR in the drivers, it wasn't necessary to use any 3rd party utils. :)
     
  7. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    137
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    In GCN 1.0 it looks like Crossfire works with VSR.
     
  8. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    I believe they limited the VSR resolution for GCN 1.1 cards simply because of it's broken implementation of CrossFire.
     
  9. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    So VSR crossfire works in:

    - GCN 1.0 only with modded drivers up to ???? VSR.
    - GCN 1.1 with official driver up to 3200x1800 but modded drivers add 4K VSR but only in single GPU.
    - GCN 1.2 (R9 285) with official drivers up to 4K VSR.

    This seems very "logic" for happy customers! :banana:
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2015
  10. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    GCN 1.0 here, no modded drivers, CRU works (which is basically VSR).
    Negative thing though you can't set a much higher resolution than 2560x1600 (16:10).
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2015

  11. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Yeah adding CRU to the "mix" of reg codes and modded drivers tricks to have downsampling is even more user friendly.

    AMD must think the Nvidia click and select resolution up to 4K in 32 GPU for downsampling is too "boring" for his customers and it give us a better and fancy "solution".

    LOL
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2015
  12. jeckop

    jeckop Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xR9-290-H2O@1100/1400
    I'm wondering if I'm the only one having crossfire 4k vsr working with 15.4 using Asder modded files
     
  13. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    No true crossfire broken for R9295x2 cards as well..
     
  14. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    For GCN 1.0 the official limit seems to be 2560X1440, which seem to work with or without CrossFire unless you have installed a driver that has CrossFire broken from within the driver itself, a la the modded driver Asder posted.

    The GCN 1.1 cards have an official limit of 3200X1800? Anything above that is not official and CrossFire isn't supported. That's how it is.

    GCN 1.2 has 4K VSR simply because it works using CrossFire as well, these are my guesstimations. If it worked for the older cards, why do you think they are hesitant to release it?
     
  15. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    R9 295X2 has Two (2) R9 290X in it which is GCN 1.1.
     

  16. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    GCN 1.0 here, official drivers, downsampling with CRU. Maximum resolution is 2720x1700.
     
  17. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Yes it seems you are the only one and i wonder why.

    You have 2 290 who are GCN 1.1 and simply a limited version of the 290X one.

    So how can you have 4K VSR AND crossfire in games?

    ???
     
  18. jeckop

    jeckop Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xR9-290-H2O@1100/1400
    Weird thing with 15.4 is that I have side flickering bug with 1080p and 1800p but not with 1440p and 2160p :3eyes:

    Anyway I found that I only need two keys to be edited just after opening ccc and enabling VSR. I can pass you my edited reg keys later if you want.
     
  19. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    What about 4K VSR? Is it working in games along crossfire?

    Do you use DP, HDMI or DVI?

    One or multiple monitors attached?

    Hoppefully i can select all the previous options.

    Please share your settings and the keys, this crossfire problem is making me crazy!
     
  20. jeckop

    jeckop Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xR9-290-H2O@1100/1400
    2160p is 4k so it works!!

    Anyway I have a 1080p monitor on DVI and a 1080 TV on HDMI that I always use once at time. If you give me an email via PM I'll send you the reg files :)
     

Share This Page