Downsampling with AMD: Guide and Demonstration

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by BlackZero, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. davido6

    davido6 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 980 Ti WF
    VSR is pritty sweet tbh and welcome back to the red side :)
     
  2. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    1070 G1
    but it is disabled for mid range cards :banana: so pretty much most of cards can't use it (imho, r290 owners make up maybe few % ow amd's card owners, so majority got shafted)
     
  3. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    For now. Was reported that more cards will get compatibility later on.

    If I heard right, there's some kind of special hardware for handling the scaling or something present on currently supported cards, but I have no idea if that's the case or what.
     
  4. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,709
    Likes Received:
    135
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2060 S
    I really hope 7900 cards get supported too later on.

    But i highly doubt that.
     

  5. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    1070 G1
    It worked fine when there was custom resolution option available back up until some 11.xx version came out when they removed it. Granted, VSR is more user friendly, but users that will want to use VSR would probably have no problem using custom res or some other tools that worked back then.

    imho, AMD marketing trick, trying to boost 285 and 290 sales, nothing else. I hope I am wrong and that they haven't stooped so low.
     
  6. ezbluntz

    ezbluntz New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd hd 6570 1024
    Hi I have followed this instruction and achieved res of 2720x1514 @ 60 Hz, what I wanna know is ,can I modify the Hz to any value in the registry entry or does it have to stay at my native res wich is 60Hz.?
     
  7. ezbluntz

    ezbluntz New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd hd 6570 1024
    Please help!!!!

    1920x1080 @ 2720x1530

    Width = A0 0A
    Height = FA 05
    HTotal = 20 08
    HSyncStart = 30
    HSyncWidth = 20
    VTotal = 57 04
    VDisplay = 38 04
    VSyncWidth = 05
    PixelClock = E0 22 02
    can anyone give me the hex values needed to run 1920x1080 @ 3840x2160-60hz please!!!
    I am willing to make donation.
    the above res works perfectly @ 60 hz...but I would like to run 1920x1080 @3840x2160 thanks guys.
     
  8. admile5

    admile5 Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290X TriX 4GB
    You can always get the numbers in windows calculator (in programmer mode) by inputting dec values and then switching to hex. Just remember that in regedit you have to enter hex values backwards, so for example 0F 00 (3840 in dec) should be inputted as 00 0F.
    But speaking of 3840x2160, last time i checked anything above 1530p (or 2048p for 5:4) doesn't work on GCN cards ATM, but you can still try with your 6570 though, or just use Gedosato.
     
  9. xeltic

    xeltic Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD R9 280x
    hz dont matter, its the pixel clock that controls that stuff, for example my monitor support 144hz and downsampled only goes to 110hz @ 2720x1530. If anyone know how to downsample 4k or higher on amd 7900 cards please post
     
  10. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    1070 G1
    This really isn't the way we are supposed to be able to downsample. It's archaic registry hack, not intuitive and probably far from safe and definitely not user friendly.

    The way it should be done is like this:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTszNDyuAhg

    but AMD doesn't care, even VSR is reserved for top end cards only with (probably empty) promise to come to cheaper cards.

    sigh.
     

  11. stevvie

    stevvie Member Guru

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    5700XT Pulse
    But that's been the AMD way for a long time, look at the way they are still re-badging old cards with new names (R280X) to confuse people. And you have more chance of getting VSR than me, even though my card is faster it's actually older technology.
     
  12. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    1070 G1
    older but better....not the point, VSR is just auto-make-downsampling, nothing more. Cards are good and fast, too bad that AMD choose this road, it's just pointless. Average Joe doesn't care for VSR, probably wont open CCC more than twice in his life, but more advanced users will want more freedom and choices. Personally, I will go with nV again. Slower card for the money that could get me faster radeon but I get a premium service compared to this...
     
  13. griffz

    griffz Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB
    AMD lose the ball since last years. CFX sucks , execpt for benchmark app and dice engine.
    nvidia raped mantle with DX11 cpu optimization.

    amd is clueless now
     
  14. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    uh huh, sure.

    You keep believing that.

    lol

    Obvious troll is Obvious.
     
  15. griffz

    griffz Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB
    the only working game with my 7850 crossfire are BF3 / BF4. :puke2:
    everyother title suffer from graphics glitch to horrible framerate stuttering.

    ps: benchmark works great ...
     

  16. haz_mat

    haz_mat Master Guru

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1070 FE
    Stop spreading FUD and turn down your settings - a dual midrange setup isn't all that powerful. I had a dual 7850 setup until a couple weeks ago and it did fine for every game that I threw at it once I tuned the settings. You just cannot expect midrange crossfire to get you ultra settings in everything.
     
  17. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB
    Sorry but not sorry. Learn to properly use your setup or sell it.
    I have used HD 7850 2gb crossfire in 2014, and HD 7950 crossfire since 2014.
    No stuttering at all. Only time I didnt have crossfire profile was in Hardline beta and using bf4 profile worked.
    Do some research and stop acting like AMD stole from you.

    Not 1 problem with crossfire and I run 4 monitors.
     
  18. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB
    Smdh, nvidia did the same exact thing when they debuted DSR as well.
    Now we will all agree about AMD sucking making arse with no custom resolutions that can be made at driver level like nvidia.
     
  19. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    We need to make an official petition from community to AMD regarding custom resolutions and downsampling...like I suggested in this thread over a year ago :D

    To "Red doubters": If I was convinced that Nvidia have better gpu's atm I'd never coming back to "red side". But after over a year of owning an GTX 760 I didn't bought myself a GTX 770 recently...instead I bought myself an r9 280x...after I tested both of them. Currently AMD have one flaw - downsampling (the lack of it). VSR rendering will come I'm sure...like the DSR which is was available only for maxwell at its first release. We also can remind the AMD that such features as downsampling and such (DSR/ VSR or whatever you call it) are absolutely must be present in driver settings...

    We need a united community over this matter. And the person who can write it down...the person who freely speaks and thinks in english (as native language). And the people from this forum who gladly (i'm sure of it) sign over this petition...so we can rally the community from over forums and such...to show AMD that we are care about it...

    PS. guys...dudes, WE NEED THIS (downsampling) SH@T !!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015
  20. IcE

    IcE Don Snow Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,693
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
    Is it really necessary to cry every time someone "insults" AMD? He had a bad experience, so what? It's not trolling just because someone doesn't have positive things to say. With that said, this thread isn't the place for random complaints such as that. Please stay on topic.
     

Share This Page