Downsampling with AMD Crimson: Demonstration

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fr33jack, Nov 25, 2015.

  1. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    143
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    But the resolution isn't VSR. It's CRU like.
     
  2. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Right.

    Can you say me what is the right way to add it using the easy way in registry?

    I mean 3840x2160.
     
  3. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    i agree, what you say is logical so don't understand why you can't go 4K. try 3200x2000 in DALNonStandardModesBCD1 and tell me if it works.
     
  4. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    3200x1800 works.

    Even 3360x1890 works adding it as 33 60 18 90 00 00 00 60 60 DALNonStandardModesBCD1 value.
     

  5. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Added 38 40 21 60 00 00 00 60 60.

    "Invalid input" in monitor, the driver is not trating this res as VSR but as real res.
     
  6. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    yes i think that too, maybe someone or OP can explain why.
     
  7. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    So coming back to my original question:

    Can you explain EXACTLY how you added 3840x2160 as usable VSR res resolution?

    What do you have as DALNonStandardModesBCD1 value?

    :)
     
  8. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    after applying the patch to unlock pixel clock limits i did a reboot, i went to DALNonStandardModesBCD1 and i added this 38 40 21 60 00 00 00 60. i closed the regedit. and i opened the display settings, and i found 3840x2160 added to the menu.
     
  9. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    @sammarbella i think i found a workaround, go to crimson and try to add a custom resolution, add this resolution 4096x2304 @20fps with CVT. after that open a game to try if it works, like pcars in exemple, set everything to low and vsync to off, and see if the game is running at 4096x2304 @60fps. i run pcars at 60fps even if the custom resolution is set to 20fps.
     
  10. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Thanks to try to help me with this but it still don't work.

    Using DP the res you suggested can't be applied cause when i click on "verify" to be able to add it as res it fails and the monitor show me the "Invalid input".

    I tried using HDMI and i was able to add it as res but selecting in a game (i.e. GTA V) it fails (no signal) and revert to 1080p (last one before try 4096x2304).

    Now using HDMI i also see VSR as "not supported".

    :(
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015

  11. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I unninstalled Crimson hotfix, DDU and reinstall using only HDMI connection to monitor.

    I enabled VSR, 1800p works, i applied pixel patch and tried to add your res (4096x2304 at 20hz CTV) now it doesn't work and the res is not added.

    ?¿?¿
     
  12. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    Displayport is better than HDMI, so use it.
    then through Crimson custom resolution try to find your biggest 16:9 resolution working at 30fps.
    to check if it's working set your desktop to the new custom resolution.
    if you successfully set your desktop to your new custom resolution , then you can also use it in game @60fps even if you set 30fps in your custom resolution.
    Hope it will work for you.
     
  13. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    The problem is this method doesn't work here.

    I tried to add 3360x1890 60 hz as custom res but it don't work showing this message:

    [​IMG]

    BUT i can add this exactly same res in registry (DAL entry) as 33 60 18 90 00 00 00 60, the new res appear as selectable and work at desktop and in games.

    :3eyes:

    Edit: added one more pic...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
  14. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    i can't understand s**t, this very crimson is very weird XD
    but i'm interested on how far can you go up with your custom resolutions.
     
  15. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Humm i tought 3360x1890 was the higher usable res but i just added 3376x1899 as DAL registry value and it works.

    Let see what can i get using ONLY integers multipliers of 16 and 9 cause i use 16:9 monitor.

    So:

    3360/16=210 1890/9=210
    3376/16=211 1899/9=211
    .....

    :)

    edit: Adding new valid res:

    3392/16=212 1908/9=212
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015

  16. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
  17. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
  18. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    You are right 3408x1917 works, 3424x1926 doesn't work.

    This is the best i can get with HDMI and pixel patch applied at 60 hz.

    I can try now at 30 hz.

    edit: 3424x1926 30 hz doesn't work case closed in HDMI for me.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
  19. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    my max res that i can apply on desktop and in games is 3408x2130 16:10 and yours is 3408x1917 16:9. no way to go higher with crimson virtual limitation.
     
  20. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    You said it right: virtual limitation.

    As CFX user i'm not interested only in the single GPU VSR 4K i can get in 15.5 modded drivers cause CFX VSR is broken using modded drivers but for you as single GPU users it could be interesting.

    In this drivers VSR 3840x2160 (16:9) (240 multiplier) was possible so i guess VSR 3840x2400 (16:10)(240 multiplier) could be possible for your 16:10 monitor.
     

Share This Page