Downsampling with AMD Crimson: Demonstration

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fr33jack, Nov 25, 2015.

  1. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    YEah. Downsampling limit and other artificial locks really getting on my nerves. I really close to convincing myself to buy a GTX970 and nevar look back to "reds" again...

    ...tho I loose interest in "AMD Drivers" forum section and all of you b*stards whom I hold dear to my heart after so many years of group torture :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2015
  2. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    AMD has his share of strange things like "required hardware" enabled by soft tricks but at least in "red team" 4 GB VRAM always means...

    ...4 GB VRAM.

    Until now, it's AMD after all.

    :D
     
  3. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    hi guys, i have an R9 290X reference card and an HP ZR24w 16:10 1920:1200 native resolution. i'm trying to unlock higher resolutions but i can't even reach the 3200 x 1800 stated in AMD sheet. the higher custom resolution i reached is 2560x1440. and the higher VSR resolution i reached is 2560x1600. Does anyone have an idea how i can at first reach the max official VSR resolution 3200x1800 supported by R9 290X cards? then maybe going above after that??
     
  4. IceVip

    IceVip Master Guru

    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    The resolution you need is 3200x2000 since the aspect ratio of your monitor is 16;10 but i don't see amd mentioning anywhere that 3k has a flexible aspect ration i've only see it do 16;9.
     

  5. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    so what's the max official resolution that i should reach with VSR?
     
  6. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    250
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I believe enabling VSR gives you 3200x1800 with 16:9.
     
  7. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    well i achieved "3840x2400" and "3840x2160 4KUHD" both at 30fps, because i'm limited with pixel clock at 300000khz. i tought that i can get 4k 60fps since i'm using a displayport.

    Edit: biggest custom resolution achieved at 60fps is 2800x1750 at 319.5Mhz.
    so i wonder how peoples reach 4k 60fps with hdmi cable, i'm using a display port and still need to pass over the limit of 319Mhz wich seems impossible.

    Edit2: i fully unlucked custom resolutions, i unlocked pixel clock with this: http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher
    after that all custom resolutions added in DALNonStandardModesBCD1. now even 4k for 16:10 (3840x2400) is working. but i still find this magical, because i don't know how this method overcome the 300Mhz pixel clock limit of the displayport cable.
    PS: this "hack" won't survive to the next crimson update, because it's against AMD business interests.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  8. b0uncyfr0

    b0uncyfr0 Member Guru

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gaming XXX 1070
    Excellent, finally 4k. Yep most likely it won't survive but for now at least we have it. Thanks :banana:
     
  9. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    you're welcome :)
     
  10. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    @amine4ever

    Can you please explain it step by step?

    Edit: i have hdmi, dp or active dp to hdmi (4k 30hz) as connections options.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2015

  11. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    step1: execute this patch http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher, it unlocks pixel clock limits.

    step2: use "easy Mode" in OP. you can set through this method any resolution you want. even others than 16:9 resolutions.
     
  12. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
  13. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    LOL enjoy :)
     
  14. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I said i only need "It works" because it doesn't work.

    using DP to DP cable, patch applied.

    No way:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    don't forget to reboot after editing DALNonStandardModesBCD1, and normally you will pass the pixel clock 330Mhz limits. if not, try to reapply the patch and reboot .if you still can't make it work, it means that the patch haven't unlocked the 330Mhz limit, and all you can achieve is custom resolutions/fps that respect the 330Mhz limit.
     

  16. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    i set 38 40 21 60 00 00 00 30 30

    so 3840x2160 at 30 hz it should not pass even 300 mhz, 272.54 Mhz.

    i see 38040x2160 in the list i click on it and.... "input not supported" from my monitor.

    If i set 3840x2160 at 60hz interleaved, 278.23 Mhz.

    now it disappear as res in combobox.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  17. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    38 40 21 60 00 00 00 30 30
    why do you write 30 two times?
     
  18. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    38 40 21 60 00 00 00 30

    38 40 21 60 00 00 00 30 30

    38 40 21 60 00 00 00 30 60

    All gave me the same "input not supported when i select 3840x2160 as resolution.
     
  19. amine4ever

    amine4ever Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    the first one is correct 38 40 21 60 00 00 00 30. The problem is that you "hacked" Crimson sccuessfully since you can select the resolution through your menu, and that's the goal of this topic. But now you have a second limitation, not the Crimson virtual limit, but your monitor limit.
     
  20. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Monitor limit?

    If this res is VSR we are sending 1080p 60 hz (native res) to the monitor not the "hacked" res who is only used internally.

    I guess that's the problem: the new res is not VSR res but REAL one.

    edit: If i select 3200x1800 it works and it's not sending 3200x1800 to my monitor obviously.

    It can't pass 1080p.
     

Share This Page