Download inSpectre

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 AMP! • H75
    Lol! mbk1969 did it first, then Ashampoo utility.
    I can bet I'll end up with more tools to remind me of upgrading, than one that actually FIXES THE ISSUE!
    I'm hating Intel right now...but not that much..my cpu is running real good tbh! PC parts can smell the aroma of "replacement" :D
     
    airbud7 and mbk1969 like this.
  2. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,225
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    Still nothing from Gigabyte for Z87.
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,915
    Likes Received:
    8,191
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Well, Microsoft did it first with their PowerShell script. And script is sky high cool. I just translated it to C# (to build standalone app) seeing many guys here having trouble with PowerShell.
     
  4. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Hold your anger my young padawan.

    There are no stable microcode updates for broadwell/haswell available so really an update is still required by intel.
     

  5. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Last BIOS update in 2012 :D

    [​IMG]
     
    LocoDiceGR likes this.
  6. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,360
    Likes Received:
    820
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3060 Ti
    -> NO
    -> YES
    -> SLOWER.

    Thanks M$.
     
  7. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,225
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    So let me get this right for my 4770K.

    1) Download UBU.
    2) Download MMTool 5.0.0.7.
    3) Download latest BIOS (F10e with MATS update).

    4) Extract UBU in UBU folder.
    5) Extract MMTool.exe in UBU folder.
    6) Extract BIOS in UBU folder.

    7) Start UBU.bat as Admin.
    8) Type 7 to select CPU Microcode Updater.
    9) Type 1 to show the list of Microcodes.
    10) Type 23 (latest available code from November 20, 2017) to update Microcode.

    11) Type 0 to Exit
    12) Type 1 to save the BIOS.
     
  8. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Yup you got it !!

    I usually rename the bios.bin that the tool created to the same name that my Mobo bios was initially.

    You then flash this new bios to your Mobo of course
     
    TheDeeGee likes this.
  9. AzzKickr

    AzzKickr Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Vega64
    A good weekly backup plan is what is protecting my machine. No slow down patches for me !
     
  10. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Don't update it.

    MCU for haswell/braodwell is not stable.

    Need to wait for a newer revision.
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,915
    Likes Received:
    8,191
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    No need to start UBU as Admin, as all it does is working with local files in subfolders.
     
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,915
    Likes Received:
    8,191
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    That will help against viruses. But Meltdown/Spectre is not about changing or adding files in OS.
     
  13. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    Haven't updated my Asrock Z370 Ex4 to v1.40 yet. Still on v1.30 bios.

    Which means Spectre might still get me!

    *Pulls eth plug!
     
  14. liveonloan

    liveonloan New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 770 2GB
    I also have strangeness, this tool gives me a different result than the microsoft powershell script check. With MS script I am supposed to be protected. With this tool I am not protected against Spectre.

    Asus Prime Z270-A with last BIOS 1203 (2018/01/09) and windows 10 LTSB x64 1607 with the latest update (kb4056890).
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
    OldTarget likes this.
  15. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,927
    Likes Received:
    882
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    GRC trust worth for sure, Not sure why Windows 10 complains about this is APP like one from windows store I had to change store setting from Store only to allow me but warn me. the exe doesnt actual install anything thought, it just wont run if app are set to store only.

    I protected from everything but spec which i already know
     

  16. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,225
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    Thanks, i will hold out for now then.

    Atleast i know how to update it now.

    Perhaps by the time a new Microcode comes out Gigabyte has an actual BIOS available.
     
  17. XP-200

    XP-200 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1080 Mini
    Yeah us poor Haswell/Broadwell users have to wait a bit more so don't update anything as of yet.
     
  18. OldTarget

    OldTarget New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 1080 Ti OC
    Same behavior there with Asus Z170-Pro and BIOS 3703
     
  19. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Perfectly stable here ;)

    Read some hearsay reports of servers or datacentres rebooting.... but I don’t think they are running a 4770k on a Z87 lol
     
  20. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Not just servers, other people are having issues.

    Among reboot/sleep issues, others are having constant CPU errors where they were stable pre-update even at stock settings.
     

Share This Page