Download & Discuss - AMD Radeon Software Crimson Thread (Beta7 November 2015)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Havel, Nov 24, 2015.

  1. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,755
    Likes Received:
    2,203
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    Do you remember that ugly artifacting sword hilt in Witcher 2? If it is anything like that it is due to shader doing some weird math.
    Maybe shader cache? Especially if it does for many users. People making shaders often make them like alchemy with trial error till it looks good to them. Unreal Engine has very good shader studio, but CoD AW, I do not think that engine has very good tooling.
     
  2. nav-jack

    nav-jack Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 ti 1520/2000
    i hate to be that guy... but no problems still with crimson. i don't play many games. csgo, fo4, borderlands 2 and bf4.... but i guess the problems some people report are also just the way i run my gpu most of the time. in afterburner i have a profile for my overclock and then a profile saved with all the sliders down for when i'm afk. i disable powerplay and all that jazz to lock my clock speeds so i take away that automatic BS. i fixed the fo4 compass issue with the dll replacement stuff. csgo is running like a dream, like usual and to be expected from my rig. *shrugs*
     
  3. xermit

    xermit Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 980ti @ 1470
    About the flickering compass in FO4: Is DLL's from 15.11.1 makes no difference in performance compared to 15.11.1 driver?
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2015
  4. nav-jack

    nav-jack Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 ti 1520/2000
    yes and there is a fix

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=399547

    download the directX 11-12 15.11.1 DLL and put them in the folder your fallout4.exe is

    EDIT: CAN WE GET A STICKY PLEASE!!!!
     

  5. xermit

    xermit Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 980ti @ 1470
    Thanks! And performance-wise it's identical to 15.11.1 driver? Then i'll stay with 15.11.1 drivers.
     
  6. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,773
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    It seems to be something like that yeah. AW I meant Armored Warfare tho it uses the new CryEngine.
     
  7. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    Those dll's are from 15.11.1, so if you copy them to your game, that means your game will run with 15.11.1 instead of the crimson driver.
     
  8. ddelamare

    ddelamare Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1070 X4
    I get around +7.5% improvement in DX11 and -2.3% in DX12 after benching. In games, Dirt Rally for example I appear to be losing a few fps as its not as smooth. Also noticed weird clock issues with Afterburner. Despite the cards being linked they are showing running at different frequencies. XFire doesn't appear to be working despite being enabled as the FPS is the same as a single card. Using an 380x.

    I'll remove all AMD stuff again tonight, including afterburner, then attempt to get everything up and running again.

    Strange thing was, even with DDU and cleaner, Crimson still picked up on old games profiles so there's possibly old stuff interfering with the new Crimson install.
     
  9. kandata94

    kandata94 Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280X DirectCU II
    I Think that the Shader cache works even with 15.11.1 dll in the witcher 3, resolving the pixelated artifacts too.
    The difference is noticeable, i tried to revert back to 15.11.1 beta and in TW3 there was too much stutter. Maybe the shader cache is the real mvp of crimson driver.
     
  10. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,822
    Likes Received:
    1,260
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Good to know ;)
    BTW chances are the stutter is fixed by the changes in the Flip Queue Size setting in Crimson driver.
    Witcher 2 stuttering could be fixed by setting Flip Queue Size to 1 in RadeonPro. So if you must revert back to previous driver at some point, you could try the RP trick.

    Yup, that's the one. I also reported to AMD, hope they can fix it soon.
    Pretty sure all these glitches are the same, guessing some/certain shader code triggers it.
    Also disabling Shader Cache doesn't seem to help as a workaround atm.

    Still, I like the new driver and people reporting it fixes a lot of stuttering etc. issues sounds good. Takes a while for the Crimson to mature enough I think.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2015

  11. Garwinski

    Garwinski Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    XFX Fury X
    Damn that are some huge improvements, more than a 10% increase in average FPS! Dont know if the benchmark of Tomb Raider had some fluctuations to begin with though. I am liking these drivers non the less, smooth and stable.
     
  12. Pinky Floyd

    Pinky Floyd Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury Nitro
    Still trying to figure out how to lock the clocks.
     
  13. spectatorx

    spectatorx Master Guru

    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Radeon RX580 8GB
  14. WarDocsRevenge

    WarDocsRevenge Master Guru

    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury-x Crossfire
    many seem to have issues with msi AB it works for me on windows 10 no issues
     
  15. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,869
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    AB works for me too, only issue that reports some things wrong. Isnt bothering me tho...
     

  16. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    137
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Another thing I noticed is that after the shader cache was created for Battlefront, the CPU temperatures when loading between levels have increased dramatically. From a max of 81c (!) and the temps hovering around 74-79c when loading between levels, now there is a very normal bump to 70 and then it stays in the middle 60s.
     
  17. Pinky Floyd

    Pinky Floyd Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury Nitro
  18. kandata94

    kandata94 Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280X DirectCU II
    I hadn't thought of that either, unfortunately radeon pro for me causes crash at startup to all the new games (fifa 16,FO4, TW3,batman AK), i tried everything but nothing to do. Thanks for the tip anyway. At this point i think that dll in the folder don't override flip queue size imposed by crimson driver, right?:nerd:
     
  19. niczerus

    niczerus Master Guru

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GamingX 580 4GB
    the clocks of overdrive not save after restart or turn off the pc(only the energy) , and reduce the memory cause a bug and memory lock to 1300 mhz and the core in 500mhz in my case .
     
  20. mR Yellow

    mR Yellow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury
    If you are receiving memory or install errors make sure to uninstall all GPU OC software (AB, TRIXX ect).

    So before installing remove these apps first and any profiles associated with it.
     

Share This Page