Download & Discuss AMD Catalyst 15.4 Beta Driver for Windows OS

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by LtMatt81, Apr 13, 2015.

  1. Valerys

    Valerys Master Guru

    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2080S
    There may be your answer then, up until 10056 all W10 builds were working better than 8.1 but then with 10061 everything got worse. And I use 1GB of pagefile for compatibility reasons.
    DX12 driver means it's a different driver batch than this one, not that the game has DX12.
    And I have 100% GPU usage even FPS drops so that's still the limiting factor, or the driver. Seemed like W10 kept trying to flush the video memory. Also noticed a difference in the beginning at the loading story mode, in W8.1 the VRAM increases gradually until 1.2GB whereas with the W10 driver it kept staying below 400MB, like there was a hard limit.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2015
  2. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I didn't know this difference between post 10056 TP versions and previous ones.

    Performance is expected to be different from one version to another, it's the purpose of TP: Alpha test things looking for a general improvement before Beat and RTM versions.

    I know WDDM 2.0 driver for W10 is a different branch than WDDM 1.3 drivers for W8.1 performance is expected to be different some times better and some times worst depending on driver version.

    You really don't need PF to play this game properly with the 24 GB RAM you have.

    It's more than enough even for 2 GPUs with 4 GB VRAM each in crossfire.

    The limit you are reffering is interesting: Do you have the same limit maxing ALL in game settings?
     
  3. Broken Haiku

    Broken Haiku Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 280x 3GB
  4. Di0g0

    Di0g0 Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 Dual-X
    This driver is giving me TDR...

    This never happened with the OMEGA driver and only happens when I'm watching flash player videos on chrome. Sometimes it happens 1/2x on an hour, sometimes not.

    Any tips?
     

  5. psychok9

    psychok9 Master Guru

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980TI Gaming 6G
    Have you tried to push vram usage to limits? I get artifact stressing a lot the memory (2.95GB/3GB on GTA).
    Increasing distance on advanced graphics, resolution, etc
     
  6. TR2N

    TR2N Master Guru

    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    AMD
    Same here.
    Went back to previous AMD drivers and no issues.
     
  7. Nick0602

    Nick0602 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vapor-X R9 290
    Driver works more than fine on my R9 290 Vapor-X with GTA V, and with the RadeonPro tweaks the game looks quite amazing. Good job AMD, I'm really impressed :D

    Anyway @AMDMatt: FFXIV Heavensward benchmark is out today and I noticed that the game now unfortunately features NVIDIA Gameworks stuff. Is AMD working with SE as well to get good day-one optimization maybe with a new driver release? Thanks. :)
     
  8. TR2N

    TR2N Master Guru

    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    AMD
    I just reinstalled 15.4 beta and used DDU in safe mode to fully remove previous amd drivers.
    Seems to be working now without hanging on windows bootup.
    :banana::banana::banana:
    Touch wood.
     
  9. Yahyoh

    Yahyoh Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 5470M
    its happening since many betas after omega drivers , but you know how good AMD driver quality it may take them like year or so to fix it :bang:
     
  10. Krelianz

    Krelianz Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290x
    never had a TDR with omega or the betas this year, i am sorry but people suffering from this might want to check if there is some kind of problem.
     

  11. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    at times it could be a problem with the gpu bios itself.
     
  12. Di0g0

    Di0g0 Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 Dual-X
    It's the first time I'm having TDR. Only with this driver, its some bug with the driver ;)

    And it only happens with flash player content. No problems with games.

    EDIT:

    I'm back to the OMEGA driver :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015
  13. passenger

    passenger Master Guru

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    75
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX580 8GB
    Same problem here. FIX THIS AMD! It happens with single flash randomly, and when I hook up 2nd monitor and start second flash it happens almost instantaneously!!!

    I really have no time to switch drivers all the time, Omega for 2D and latest one for 3D.
     
  14. d0X

    d0X Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2070S Ventus
    Turn off hardware acceleration in your browser.
     
  15. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Guest

    Check GPU-Z when you start flash content. If your GPU memory clock shifts at all, then there's your issue.

    You either need to drop any self-overclocking on the GPU memory you've done, or blame ASUS for not properly setting the UVD clocks right (and then proceed to either beg them for a VBIOS, fix it yourself via VBIOS mod, or simply downclock to reference speeds). AMD is not the issue in this scenario.

    Changing the GPU memory clocks on multi-monitor setups (or even single-monitor in some cases) can cause instability. And some OEMS with factory OC-d cards don't modify the UVD clocks, which in-turn causes the GPU memory to go back to reference speeds, and thus, cause instability. User GPU memory overclocking is the same deal.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2015

  16. Yahyoh

    Yahyoh Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 5470M
    how about NO.....we dont have to turn off something that improves your web browsing experience because of buggy AMD drivers *rolls eyes*
     
  17. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,620
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Useful if you have a poor CPU.
     
  18. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    if afraid you do.

    or you crash.

    take your pick.

    there is no reason to leave it on if you have a modern cpu.
     
  19. Seren

    Seren Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Asus Strix RX570
    Not happening with Firefox Aurora and Flash Beta.
     
  20. Di0g0

    Di0g0 Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 Dual-X
    My 7850 isn't overclocked and isn't from ASUS. I have a Sapphire HD7850 Dual-X ;)

    I'm back to OMEGA drivers and no more TDR's :)
     

Share This Page