Download & Discuss AMD Catalyst 15.3 Beta Driver for Windows OS

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by AMDMatt, Mar 20, 2015.

  1. TorrentG2

    TorrentG2 Banned

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2 GB OC
    Yeah. Just tested PDVD 11 playing 1080p x.264/5.1 AC3 and system froze (pre-cursor to BSOD) just by trying to open latest ASUS GPU Tweak. Container = .m2ts but I don't think that matters. Fact of hardware accel. active is, I believe.

    If memory serves me well, trying to do the same while encoding with x264.exe (Automkv) does it too.

    Like I said, I don't see them as issues and think AMD does an excellent job, but if it all possible for AMD and ASUS to resolve this somehow, that would be cool. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  2. Bloodred217

    Bloodred217 Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x GTX 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB
    Man, still no CF profile for Dying Light after so long.
    I've had CF since HD 5800 and I don't remember ever seeing such poor CF support and treatment of CF users, months and months for some damn profiles, not to mention AMD giving up CAP releases altogether a good while back.

    If The Witcher 3 gets the same CF treatment I'll be terribly disappointed and will probably have to make some different decision the next time I upgrade. In the end I'd rather pay more and have actual support for my (expensive anyway) hardware.
     
  3. Deathchild

    Deathchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    Bloodred, it's best to buy single gpu, you'll never have problems then. SLI/CF is a friggin mess.
     
  4. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    About the BF4 profile, are you talking only about single GPU, or multiGPU too?
     

  5. klaupe

    klaupe Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti AmpExtreme
    yeah really excellent! brilliant!
    what the hell are you talking about?

    So it´s no issue, it´s a ....... ??

    Whatever...
    i think i need a day off.

    I, for my part am disappointed, no matter, how much half full your glass is...
     
  6. Bloodred217

    Bloodred217 Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x GTX 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB
    I'm aware of that but at the time when I bought my current cards there was no single GPU card that would've made me happy at 2560x1440. My decision was between 2 970s and 2 290Xs, I went AMD once again because I was generally happy with them from my previous experiences and NVIDIA had just shot themselves in the foot with the whole lying and 3.5GB debacle. 290Xs were cheaper too where I live.
     
  7. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    There was supposed to be a frame limiter too in there somewhere, in case we forgot:

    [​IMG]

    That was from December 18th 2014.

    I know I appear to be whiny in this thread (although I admitted the probably better performance I get in Dying Light), but the way that AMD communicates anything is truly preposterous.

    Do you know how you could have avoided this mess?

    1) Don't be d*cks and give VSR (even a blurrier version of it, like NVIDIA does), to all the DX11 cards you have. (I just remembered, will the 7790 get it? Or the driver will simply look for the BIOS string and say "no", even though it's GCN 1.1?).

    2) TELL US THAT YOU WORK HARD ON THE W10 DRIVER. WE WILL WAIT.

    3) Don't promise sh*t you know you won't deliver.

    4) If you know you won't deliver, just say and don't make us wait.

    5) Release the Crossfire profiles separately, the people who invested on your hardware so much don't deserve to get shafted for a quarter of a year with NO WORD from you.
     
  8. Havel

    Havel Master Guru

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    RTX2070
    On 26 march futuremark will update 3dmark with DX12 and Mantle support. Interesting how will react AMD on that day :)
    I'm sure Nvidia will bring something.
     
  9. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    If they provide a driver and that's the reason that this driver is so disappointing, then their communications department has some serious issues.
     
  10. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,860
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    Vega56 8GB \ GT1030
    Guess I'm also screwed. Got a VTX3D R9 280 X-edition and I suppose it has a 280 bios. CCC sees it as R9 200 series, but Star Swarm and 3DMark is showing it as 7950.
    And my gf's HD7770 became a R7 250 within CCC and both Star Swarm and 3DMark.

    How screwed are we huh, with your stupid renaming scam and lies? :bang:
     

  11. Deathchild

    Deathchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    MultiGPU
     
  12. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,153
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    So, after being patient for over 4 months, we are threated with a driver that does **** for non-Crossfire users that also does not so much FOR Crossfire ones....
    Not only that.
    They LIED to us in the face.

    http://forum.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=5021293&postcount=1402

    Where are those improvements? And where are the release notes for those?

    NICE GOING, AMD.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  13. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Dynamic Frame Rate Control is only for the new cards too right?
     
  14. Yecnot

    Yecnot Master Guru

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 270 2GB
    Switch to AMD only to be cucked by Nvidia :backfire:
     
  15. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Nope.
     

  16. otimus

    otimus Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 GTX 970
    That's something I'd like to hear about too. I noticed he sort of dodged those questions lol
     
  17. Babel-17

    Babel-17 Member Guru

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 FE
    Why the smiley face? So, what I'm reading strongly suggests that this is an arbitrary decision. I really think this needs a definitive explanation, one that comes from the very top at AMD.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  18. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    The older cards don't have a controller that is used... It's been said many times.
     
  19. Babel-17

    Babel-17 Member Guru

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 FE
    Thanks for the info, it's news to me. I was happily using the downsampling utility with my 7950 till it stopped working with newer drivers. So, as you might imagine, I wonder if something could be done about allowing anything like that to work again. If not; why not?
     
  20. Yecnot

    Yecnot Master Guru

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 270 2GB
    Because it is without a doubt an arbitrary decision. ^_^
     

Share This Page