Download and Discuss Catalyst 15.11.1 Beta

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by HerrFornit, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    The architectures are not that different really. NVIDIA has a problem with context switching between compute and graphics, and no hardware scheduling, but they managed to write a driver that seems to feed their GPUs almost to 100% all the time. Asking the same from AMD is no that weird. They did it when they needed to serve Hawaii as a Maxwell competitor, I wonder if they could do it again if they had such a financial incentive.

    I have no stutter and the framerate is basically stuck at 60 with everything on Ultra, but I get similar glitches.
     
  2. Nurmi

    Nurmi Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Tri-X
    That game load stutter is understandable, and I mean isint it just good thing that game draws out that much? Maybe its awful few seconds for Twitch streamers, but outside that it seemed to me like worse rigs keep on grinding till you die one time. Which is a lot longer than my couple seconds.

    I dont have any performance issues with menu itself, but that reward score thing really makes game plummet from 200 to 2fps, but maybe you meant that? :D
     
  3. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Sorry, i dont agree. They are very different.

    Nvidias architecture was specifically designed to maximize serialized workloads at the expense of parallel workloads (async/context switching)

    That was a business decision they made, and it has worked well for them.

    AMD has chosen to walk the line and focus more on parallel compute.

    While it reduces efficiencies for dx9/dx10/dx11 more serialized workloads, it will pay dividends with DX12s more paralell workloads.
     
  4. TonyTurbo

    TonyTurbo Master Guru

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Vega 64 @ 1750/1180
    STAR WARS BATTLEFRONT

    Absolutely unplayable with latest 15.11.1 drivers on crossfire. Black screens and flickering everywhere. Good job AMD, was fine in Beta. AMD cant sort out drivers for not just Gimpworked titles, but even game devs they've been strong with in the past.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015

  5. nevernamed

    nevernamed Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 TI FTW3
    15.11.1 seems to be causing a rendering issue on the ice caves level. gonna inject the 15.11 files into my battlefront loader to see if this is in fact a problem with 15.11.1
     
  6. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    There seem to be some major menu glitches also.
     
  7. gimotan12

    gimotan12 Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    sapphire hd7770 1GB
    with this driver, my GPU always crash when playing COD Black Ops III.
     
  8. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,864
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    Vega56 8GB \ GT1030
    How do I mod this driver to make my laptop APU work? Got an A8-3520M (has the 6620G, crossfired with a supported 7400M series). The driver has 6610 and support for the 6670G, but my apu always gets left out.

    How can I mod this driver?
     
  9. Newbie2012

    Newbie2012 Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB-CustomLoop
    Fallout 4 and witcher 3 run well with this driver.
     
  10. mysteriously

    mysteriously Guest

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=5184966&postcount=18

    Modified C0296614.inf for Wrestler APUs for Windows 10 x64

    https://mega.nz/#!TsAzUCBI!-IJqfKR3-CCw5alzOkrUAUPpxz2XU_S0vr_TH4MZjcY

    Put it in amd-catalyst-15.11.1beta-64bit-win10-win8.1-win7-nov14\Packages\Drivers\Display\WT6A_INF\ and install in 'disable driver signature enforcement' mode
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015

  11. inouext

    inouext Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    R7 Series
    Thank You.
    I'il chech this out, having the same issue here A4-3305M.
    6480G / 6700M - Windows 10.
    All drivers for win 10 only have the 6700m driver.
    Beside that i'm using the windows update driver and its working for both cards.
     
  12. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,864
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    Vega56 8GB \ GT1030
  13. Zemial

    Zemial Member Guru

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 7970 @ CF
    These drivers messed up my crossfire. Before with 15.10 drivers I had constant 98-99% GPU usage, now GPU usage is beetween 70-99%, and I play Battlefield 4. I'm gonna cry now, excuse me....
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2015
  14. BoMbY

    BoMbY Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X
    Just had system freeze after upgrading from 15.11 to 15.11.1. Was only using Firefox. That didn't happen before. I hope it will not persist.
     
  15. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,628
    Likes Received:
    2,040
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    You sure its GPU/driver related? You something overclocked lately?
     

  16. Astralify

    Astralify Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R9 290 Tri-X
    These drivers might be a bit problematic. Not sure why, but my 3ds max now crashes on startup. Even in change graphics mode with a "unhandled exception" error. And I really don't want to roll back because fallout 4 runs great with them. *sigh*
     
  17. mysteriously

    mysteriously Guest

    :D Enjoy guys. Maybe I won't need to mod any newer drivers like the new "Omegas"
     
  18. kimpet

    kimpet Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor R9 270X Devil
    I get BSOD

    STOP: 0x00000116
    Atikmpag.sys

    Any solution?
     
  19. PF Prophet

    PF Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac 1070 mini/290x
    this isnt really much if any better on sli in my extensive exp, its sort of a crapshoot i have had games with no profiles work great with both, or fail to work at all, or have weird random problems that you wouldnt think could be related to rendering...

    still glad i have my 2nd 290x i have found a few titles where it REALLY makes a diff in keeping the FPS at/above 60 without having to turn anything down.
     
  20. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    That basically means Windows tried to reset the display driver but failed.
    Probably because something was crashing the display driver while using/accessing that Atikmpag.sys file.

    If the previous beta (15.11) worked fine then just use that.

    When a newer driver version is breaking apps that you use regularly, just stop using the newer driver.
    You'll just end up with a franken-driver in order to 'fix' things.
     

Share This Page