Download: AMD Ryzen Chipset Drivers 3.10.08.506

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Oct 21, 2021.

  1. geogan

    geogan Master Guru

    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    287
    GPU:
    3070 AORUS Master
    Can the three images in this article be labelled so I know what I am looking at??
     
  2. Lebon30

    Lebon30 Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3070Ti 8GB
    lolwut?
    Dude. Developping a driver is really f'ing hard. Any serious developper doing programming for hardware that are around these parts would happily b**chslap you. They are *not* simple things to fix, as you think they are. There are billion f***** metric tons of Windows config worldwide. Try supporting all of them on Windows 10.

    Also "Hz bugs" you talk about are software related but not the OS, from a quick look. It seems that a game you are running was running better on an old driver than the new driver and f***s up the refresh rate available. Again, might be AMD's fault or but seems more like the games's fault. And these are still NOT simple problems. Memory leaks? Again, not simple. Why? Again. because Windows computers vary a *lot* between each other and your particular setup does not behave well together. Again, NOT simple to fix.

    And if Windows 11 is that bad, why are you staying on it? Why not come back to Win10? That thing will still be supported for 5 years. Don't want to go back to Windows? Then, go to Linux.
     
    JamesSneed likes this.
  3. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    140
    GPU:
    3
    I'm sure Intel already finished all of their Ryzen tests for their Alder Lake marketing slides.
     
    Keitosha likes this.
  4. Srsbsns

    Srsbsns Member Guru

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 Liquid
    Its still not fixed with both the patch and chipset driver applied. L3 latency is about 10% higher and the bandwidth is cut in half. In addition the RAM latency is about 10% higher in Aida as well. This compared to Windows 10. I did a comparison last night on my 5900X.
     

  5. ultraex2003

    ultraex2003 Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    Amd 2x290 Cfx
    i have ryzen 5 3600 after patch/chipset update L3 latency i think is ok but every time run aida 64 L3 cache GB/s read/write/copy/change down a lot comparison with my win 10/ second ssd
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
  6. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    125
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    Not been getting random game crashes in Mechwarrior 5 which is good, 0.1% has increased drastically, L3 cache read speeds have increased from 100GB/sec to 720GB/sec although bizarrely copy speed is faster at 850GB/sec (which is what I would expect read speeds to be but it's still over 7x faster anyway. Even in windows, I see tasks assigned to each CCX rather than all over to all cores and CCX's like it was in Windows 10 when Ryzen first came out Microsoft had to update the windows scheduler...

    TBH the update seems to be the windows scheduler that's why it was a quick fix. However, this issue was in all dev builds and should have been fixed before retail release there is no excuse to wait till after release, I know I reported as did other people many times in the beta's clearly providing feedback and reporting bugs fall on deaf ears.

    Just ran the test again L3 cache dropped from 720Gb/sec to 313GB/sec copy increased from 850GB/sec to 882GB/sec I don't know a 56% drop in the run to run variance is pretty high. Reran again and is now 670GB/sec which I guess is within variance, did it again now is down to 348GB/sec something is pretty iffy going on.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2021
  7. RazorStrike

    RazorStrike New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 3060Ti
    I got so much better temps now, from 55-60ºC to 40-42ªC on Ryzen 5 5600X with all core 4.65Ghz. But I still see high ram usage yet
     
  8. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Waterforce GTX 1080
    I double-checked my driver versions in Task-Manager...They are the same as in this new driver set. So it seems Microsoft was faster...
     
  9. Toss3

    Toss3 Member Guru

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    WC Inno3D GTX 980 TI
    I think Andreif explained it best over at Anandtech: The L3 was never actually slower it just went into a low-power state which lead to less available L3 which then caused AIDA64 to measure the RAM-speed instead of the actual L3 Cache speed (was using RAM instead of L3) => this was a bug that's now been fixed and this is probably why you're seeing a variance as well. Linky
     
    Dazz likes this.
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,989
    Likes Received:
    5,639
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    i don't think andreif has any idea what hes on about.

    the latency and throughput was restored by manually configuring the sizes of the 3 L caches, so it was more likely to be detecting too large and spilling into ram rather than power state.
     

  11. Dimitrios1983

    Dimitrios1983 Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    104
    GPU:
    RX580
    To the people complaining, you asked for it for updating to WINDOWS 11 Why the hell would you do that so early? It's MICROSOFT come on! Can't wait another month or so?
     
  12. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    So it's the people's fault. Good to know.
     
    mackintosh likes this.
  13. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    125
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    If no one uses it then how are they to find the issues?
     
  14. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,494
    Likes Received:
    5,235
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Microsoft is 161 billion dollar company... maybe it shouldn't of fired it's software testers?
     
    Horus-Anhur likes this.
  15. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,899
    Likes Received:
    1,003
    GPU:
    6800XT 16GB
    Seems fine here. Upgraded to Win 11 today.
    5600x, and 6800xt.
    Some games actually feeling better, especially cpu intensive games like BF1 etc online.
     
    chispy likes this.

  16. Michael Lang

    Michael Lang Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW3 3090Ultra
    I have both fixes and the first time I ran the AIDA64 my L3 went down to 14 I think it was. I think this was before MS rolled out the patch for windows and now I'm back to 27. I got like 11.7 in Windows 10 so I don't think this issue is truly fixed. This is on my desktop with a 5950x on a Crosshair Extreme motherboard with Gskills 4000 Elite c14 memory. Ill have to test my laptop again and see if it shot back up which has a 5900HX..


    Update: My laptop seems to be fine with same version of windows as desktop I get 12.7ns so not sure what's going on with desktop getting 27ns.

    Seems I have to run 3200 on desktop to get down in the 12's vs windows 10 I was running 3800 and got 12's so looks like they half A'd the fix
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2021

Share This Page