DooM 4 Thread (Pt.2)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by morbias, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,842
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Doom 3? Pffft, I meant original Doom :D
     
  2. The Fitter

    The Fitter Master Guru

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti G1 Gaming
    Anyone got any tips for snapmap problems. Tried to join a friend and I get a failed to connect to doom services or requested to doom services has timed out.

    I seem to be one of the unlucky ones with this game :bang:
     
  3. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,143
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    How?
    The game hasn't even been out a month.
     
  4. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,309
    Likes Received:
    458
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    As its already been completed umpteen times.
     

  5. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,143
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Yeah, that's a good reason for id to not update and improve the game I guess.


    Flying Wild Hog rolled out their 64bit update years after SW's release.
    Solid improvements take time.
     
  6. adabiviak

    adabiviak Master Guru

    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980Ti
    Yeah, the Imps have impeccable aim in this game... some of them could start for the Giants.

    Interesting... I'll have to try that!
     
  7. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,984
    Likes Received:
    418
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    The AI is predicting where you're going to be based on your direction and speed. Need to zigzag around imps
     
  8. Dch48

    Dch48 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
    I'm playing with my Xbox 360 controller. Yes it is a little harder to aim than with the mouse but, I'm really bad at movement control with the keyboard and am constantly pushing the wrong button. The controller makes this, and any other game that supports it, much easier for me to play. This game requires so much movement that I'd be dead every 5 seconds if I had to use the keyboard. Using the keyboard has also never seemed to me like the right way to play a game. It still seems to me like a leftover from the pre controller days of PC gaming when playing on a console was the real way to go.

    Multi-button mice are also no good for me. I can't find the buttons when I need them and am always hitting the wrong one or hitting them by mistake. I have poor manual dexterity anyway. Touch typing or piano playing are beyond my capabilities. The mouse I use has two buttons on the side which I have disabled because I was always pressing them by mistake. I even sometimes hit the right mouse button without wanting to.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2016
  9. The Fitter

    The Fitter Master Guru

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti G1 Gaming
    And now to add to my Doom fun I have lost all my collectables and the 1 classic map I found. Not the end of the world but another annoying bug!
     
  10. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,842
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Watched a bit of speedrun YT videos and it seems the rocket jump is now the gauss jump... :D

    why didn't I think of that!
     

  11. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,889
    Likes Received:
    260
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
    To far back, I was like 8/9 years old when I played that :p
     
  12. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,842
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Yea me too when Doom was released.

    Have replayed it countless times though since and playing Brutal Doom these days still.
     
  13. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,767
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT P.
    http://www.shacknews.com/article/95...ms-multiplayer-planning-new-modes-and-content

    Also a update just hit but it just changes a tss.bin file, whatever said file does.
     
  14. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,975
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    MSI 970 @1.55ghz
    new patch info

    most significantly:
     
  15. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,767
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT P.

  16. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    GPU:
    .
    No new CTD info?
     
  17. The Fitter

    The Fitter Master Guru

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti G1 Gaming
    Not that I've seen.
    Bored to hell now with ctd. I now have 32 crash reports and numerous no report crashes.
    Multiplayer crashes in the loby whenever it feels like it.
    Can't even go online in snapmap.
    Bored now!
     
  18. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    697
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti Ga.X
    Very weird, I'm at like ~27 hours played still with only one crash. And some have so many, would love to know what the cause is. :3eyes:
     
  19. Xuanzang

    Xuanzang Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    I just wish there would be more feedback from id regarding this issue.

    On my first run through the game "Hurt me plenty" i experienced my first crash about 4 hours into the game, from there on it just escalated.

    I've now started over on a harder difficulty and are about 2 hours in. So far so good.
     
  20. Whiplashwang

    Whiplashwang Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti
    To those experiencing CTD. Did you try setting the windows sound settings to 16bit 41Khz (CD Quality). I heard some people fixed their CTD by doing that. I experienced a crash always in the same spot on one level and changing those sound settings allowed me to a least make it to the next level without it crashing.
     

Share This Page