DooM 4 Thread (Pt.1)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Xzibit, Jul 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cerebus23

    cerebus23 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,442
    Likes Received:
    602
    GPU:
    evga 8800gts
    How can AMD be bad with GL when mantle/vulkan was designed to work with GL? Seems odd.
     
  2. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,642
    Likes Received:
    341
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    Different Api's you're talking about there. That's like saying DX is designed to work with OpenGL.
     
  3. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    3080 Gaming X Trio
    This is correct.
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,182
    Likes Received:
    1,928
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    +1, Most of the time it feels like a action monster game..


    Ok, it gets a little better at hard setting and tight corridors (atm Foundry - lvl3), but overall its missing that scare vibe.. Im pointing on Audio, its just not so intense like by Doom3..:infinity:
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2016

  5. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    MSI 970 @1.55ghz
    guys, keep the ****-flinging to a minimum.

    the beta ran ~med settings fine on 4.5, but from the dev posts, we can clearly infer that id couldnt iron out the bugs in the higher shadow settings in time for release...quite possibly at least in part due to AMD dragging their feet. soooo they rolled it back for stabilitys sake. now performance is suffering a bit...

    i have to say, i dont know where the benchmarks were taken (or how, for that matter) in the graphs posted previously, but my 7970 is NOT averaging 23fps or watever it was. performance is better than i expected by a long shot. if i turn shadow quality down, i hardly notice any difference in graphical fidelity yet gain 5-10fps.
     
  6. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    Galax 3080 SC
    True, audio could be much much better, it's ok but not up for today standards.

    Game going way to fast, it's hard to enjoy the mess around, also the monsters models are small, i hoped they would be much larger, specially hell knight, although they not fulfill same role as in Doom 3.

    Still that is an excellent game.
     
  7. plywood99

    plywood99 Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 64 Liquid Cool
    That's exactly where I had my only CTD, Foundry.

    As for AMD and Opengl, my 7970 played Rage and the Wolfenstein games no problems what so ever. Actually it played all games great, only reason I'm not still rocking it is I moved up to a 4k screen, and Fury cards were all on back order (lame paper launch AMD) so I went NV this round.
     
  8. DireBadger

    DireBadger Master Guru

    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1070 AMP Extreme
    Isn't this because with DOOM 3 they were actually trying to be an action horror game but with DOOM 4 they have kinda gone back to DOOM + DOOM 2 but with better graphics?

    Actually iirc the other main shooters that came out same year as DOOM 3 were trying to be horror in areas as well. Far Cry with the Tri-gens and Half Life 2 with the Ravenholm area.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2016
  9. braudrist

    braudrist Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    Anyone know how to disable joysticks/gamepads without unplugging them? Maybe using a console command or editing a config file.
     
  10. Aelders

    Aelders Banned

    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti G1 @ 1490|8000
    First benchmark done, will update with other results ;)

    I'm running the benchmark in the first room after getting the shotgun, like the PCGH review I run around this room.

    Never mind, can't compare to the PCGH review because they had killed all the demons, I ran the benchmark in the same room doing a similar run but the demons were still alive, and I killed the one at the door every time

    1440p MAX settings (nightmare) FOV 105 - 980Ti@ 1480-8000
    2016-05-14 23:56:24 - DOOMx64
    Frames: 3208 - Time: 30797ms - Avg: 104.166 - Min: 87 - Max: 134


    1440p MAX settings (shadows ultra) FOV 105 - 980Ti@ 1480-8000
    2016-05-14 23:37:41 - DOOMx64
    Frames: 3455 - Time: 32578ms - Avg: 106.059 - Min: 87 - Max: 128


    1080p MAX settings (nightmare) FOV 105 - 980Ti@ 1480-8000
    2016-05-14 23:47:16 - DOOMx64
    Frames: 4581 - Time: 31922ms - Avg: 143.506 - Min: 118 - Max: 171


    1080p MAX settings (shadows ultra) FOV 105 - 980Ti@ 1480-8000
    2016-05-14 23:45:46 - DOOMx64
    Frames: 4124 - Time: 27063ms - Avg: 152.385 - Min: 135 - Max: 195


    This is a different benchmark run, I'm running around the weird demon altar thing in the same room three times

    1440p MAX settings (nightmare) FOV 105 - 980Ti@ 1480-8000
    2016-05-15 00:01:36 - DOOMx64
    Frames: 1833 - Time: 20266ms - Avg: 90.447 - Min: 86 - Max: 95


    1440p MAX settings (shadows ultra) FOV 105 - 980Ti@ 1480-8000
    2016-05-15 00:02:10 - DOOMx64
    Frames: 2547 - Time: 26562ms - Avg: 95.889 - Min: 91 - Max: 101
     

  11. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,730
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    1. AMD support for OpenGL has always been shoddy. So, the AMD path using 4.3 could possibly be a compatibility issue between the game and AMD.
    2. Yes, they showed Vulkan, but also said in the same presentation that there were graphical anomalies, issues and also other bugs they were still working on.
    Which is why it's not available at release. It's. Not. Finished.
    3. That's a rather pompous assumption. Making claims that that the game wasn't QA'd for AMD hardware.

    When, again, it's an issue that has been present in AMD hardware since the days it was still ATi and Counter Strike was released.
    Through to performance issues with Doom 3, Quake 4... and some in PREY. Or, more recently... shoddy driver support for OpenGL in RAGE and both Wolf releases.
    And countless other titles.


    It's childish and ignorant to try and spin this as some developer short coming when it all stems from the same thing it's always been. Poor OpenGL support from AMD.
    It's always been their biggest flaw, and it's one they don't seem overly concerned with trying to improve.
     
  12. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2080TI
    I did a CE table with timestop. Hatti's tool has the free camera. Once you move the camera away from your character, the HUD disappears too, which is nice. FOV can be changed in the console. Not sure what else is needed. But I don't think this game is worth bothering with for screenshots. I gave up and am just playing it :)
     
  13. heymian

    heymian Master Guru

    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    Which Antialiasing setting is everyone using? Which looks the best?
     
  14. Aelders

    Aelders Banned

    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti G1 @ 1490|8000
    I was told AA all looked bad so I had it off initially but jaggies were jarring

    I'm just TSSAA8X and it looks great, no motion blur
     
  15. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    3080 Gaming X Trio
    SMAA its the cleanest no fuzzy wuzzy image, keeping that sharpness :)

    [​IMG]
     

  16. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Far too addictive this game
     
  17. Aelders

    Aelders Banned

    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti G1 @ 1490|8000
    I second this, amazing fun!
     
  18. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,642
    Likes Received:
    341
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    Doom 3 is nothing like the originals tbh, but, as a horror game it is better than this new one. Nice bosses in D3 aswell.

    I personally think this new Doom is much much closer to the originals in game-play. The main problem with Doom 3 is it struggled with having more than a few enemies on-screen at a time. This was kind-of rectified a bit with the expansion pack though.
     
  19. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    3080 Gaming X Trio
    One thing that i find kinda lame in this new doom, most monsters just look goofy compared to all other dooms even doom 3.

    They look funny a bit cartoony.
     
  20. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    There's nothing AMD can do about this, their cards seem to suck in OGL, maybe with the exception of Furys/Nano. They have never fixed poor OGL performance in the recent past so I wouldn't hold my breath.
    I'm not talking about AMD OGL performance back 15 years ago or more. I'm talking about recent AMD performance under OGL, like the last 5 years or so. You can go by personal experience, but if a £300 AMD gpu performs like a £150 nVidia gpu and that's ok with you, well then that's fine :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page