DooM 4 Thread (Pt.1)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Xzibit, Jul 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,809
    Likes Received:
    3,366
    GPU:
    6900XT+AW@240Hz
    No, those screenshots from Advanced menu are dummy ones. Actual game has entire Advanced menu grayed out.
    Maybe they'll have it working upon release, maybe not.
    But there is usually on particular reason to lock fps. And it is if game uses engine based on fixed tick rate (action iteration) and coders made it locked to certain rate. As increasing fps may show that there are no more updates in animation/object position.
    Or in worse case, engine has tick connected to refresh (does not look like DooM has this issue) and will perform faster on higher fps (see Killer Instinct).
     
  2. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    366
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    Just played it and saw that.


    Holy crap it runs so bad.
     
  3. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    366
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    Turns out its Sli.

    The new drivers have a DooM profile and usage is 60%/60% fps is all over the place.

    Disable sli and its fine solid 60, * Sigh.
     
  4. Turanis

    Turanis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    475
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Runs well on every decent card with min 2GB Vram,as they said in specs.

    The game have speed of Quake 3,but no taunts or rewards like in Q3 or UT1999.The announcer sucks.

    The graphics dont matter in MP.
    You cant disable voice chat from the team.


    Wait for full release and no preorder.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016

  5. DesGaizu

    DesGaizu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,706
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    AORUS 3060TI
    Arena shooter locked at 60fps -_-

    The game it's self is ok just needs movement speed made faster.
     
  6. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    It has taunts dude.
     
  7. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    I don't think it's going to happen. A lot of people think it's too fast already.

    I would love faster movement though.
     
  8. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    5,378
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Speed of a Quake 3? You cant be serious.

    You playing Doom like this :

    [​IMG]
     
  9. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,388
    Likes Received:
    832
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3060 Ti
    Doom Beta / 16.4.1 Drivers / R9 380 4G.

    Poor/Slow Texture Loading / Texture Not loading at all in some area's....

    Anyone else??
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  10. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    Nope. Wait for driver update?
     

  11. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    Half life DM is faster. :nerd:
     
  12. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    5,378
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Mine is on SSD, no texture popin or textures not loading as far is noticed. What is the exact area?

    Hows the performance on your 380?
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,209
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Texture loads only by initial spawn and loads in 2sec max.. I play on HDD..



    As for gameplay well I didnt find it slow at all, maybe its would be great if it had running mode as extra, but overall it was hectic and fast paced as well..
    I tried new UT and this Doom isnt so slow compared to it. Far from it when you find yourself in ring of fire.


    Visually it looks great too, could still be a little better though, but Im happy with it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  14. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,326
    Likes Received:
    232
    GPU:
    Galax 3080 SC
    Beta is poor, it one the worst looking games i ever seen, might improve once it's out,i hope SP is good since MP i don't care.
     
  15. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,809
    Likes Received:
    1,642
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    During both closed alphs, and the closed beta... I saw no texture streaming/loading while playing.
    They all loaded up with the initial spawn, and were there the entire time.

    Also, idTech6 doesn't use Megatextures. So, it won't stream in textures on the fly like RAGE or Wolfenstein: TNO.
     

  16. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,388
    Likes Received:
    832
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3060 Ti
    The problem is fixed with a restart of the game, weird things...

    [​IMG]
     
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,209
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Um I did say initial spawn, all are loaded up, just loading from fuzzy looking to high detail (by respawn, takes 0.5 - 1 maaaybe up to 2 sec, COD, BF3 -BF4 has it too, even new UT).

    There is no streaming popup textures while moving across the map.
     
  18. CalinTM

    CalinTM Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    MSi GTX980 GAMING 1531mhz
    Ok, still no advanced graphics settings unlocked, in open beta. Any idea how to unlock it ? Or even the open best is forced to work at low settings and 60fps ?

    I just wanna see the full product, not just low settings, if im gonna buy it..
     
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,209
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    And how do you know its low settings? Just because greyed out cfg pic said it is?
    That's not how it works..


    Anyway if those gfx are low then at high it will be ultra uber killer nice, imo its its already at "max".. I see how textures/shading/shadows/effects look.
     
  20. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    398
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    I think a lot of people misunderstand what a beta is for... It's not to showcase how pretty a game is, it's about stressing game servers, tweaking weapon balance and revealing any rendering/performance issues across a much wider variety of hardware than can be used during internal testing.

    Having fixed settings across all systems just adds to the consistency of the testing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page