DooM 4 Thread (Pt.1)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Xzibit, Jul 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,306
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    download niuk niuk pack
    *you can DL my extra modded sikkmod folder, i uploaded to googledrive

    start normal game and set all parameters, gfx etc.

    - create autoexec
    copy lines ie mine to it

    now start sikkmod


    check last 3-4 pages in sikkmod thread, all info is there :)
     
  2. ALPINEST4RS

    ALPINEST4RS Member Guru

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gbyte 7970 GHZ 3GB
    Does that mod work with the BFG edition?
     
  3. scrapser

    scrapser Master Guru

    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    What I liked about all the iD games (Doom, Heretic, Hexen, Quake) was the levels that had huge map levels. For example, in Doom there was this one level where all the monsters were holed up in a building that was so far away it seemed insignificant. And once you hit a trigger looking for a key in the map area where there were lots of other buildings and passageways, it opened the building and they poured out and came hunting for you.

    In Doom 3 there was only one level that was like that. I think it was purposely done as a homage to the old Doom games. It would be great if Doom 4 included a lot of levels with huge areas.
     
  4. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    2,550
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    Thanks -Tj-!

    I'll read through the thread first and attempt running the mod over the weekend, provided I can actually find my Doom 3 CD-ROMs...

    I'll post in the SikkMod thread if anything comes up.
     

  5. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    2,550
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    One last question and then I'll stop "spamming" here:

    what engine does Doom 3 use and does it support SLI?

    Seems at least iD Tech 5 games are pissing multi GPU users off...

    PS: would've posted this in the Doom 3 thread but it seems it's long gone...
     
  6. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    363
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    Doom 3 uses id Tech 4

    Don't know about SLI though. The game has always run fine on Ultra for me since the 8800GT days
     
  7. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    2,550
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    Thanks, was just wondering about SLI as it would surely come in handy with the SikkMod...
     
  8. kanej2007

    kanej2007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,396
    Likes Received:
    60
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    SLI does indeed work with Doom 3. I got well over 100fps with GTX 580 in SLI. :D

    I've also tried SikkMod fully maxed with a SINGLE 3Gb GTX 580 (highly overclocked) and it runs at a constant 60fps with vsync on.

    As smooth as butter. Make sure you have patched/updated Doom 3 to the latest edition.

    This should eliminate most bugs and the game will run better.

    The latest version is 1.3.1.

    Link - http://doom3.filefront.com/file/DOOM_3_Patch;76460
     
  9. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    2,550
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    ^ thanks for the info!

    Shouldn't be a problem then unless i run out of VRAM. The problem with my cards is they have only 1Gb of VRAM each. Based on some screenshots with AB overlay visible that isn't necessarily enough with all gimmicks on.

    However, it would be sad to see some of the gimmicks have to go... I like my games with gimmicks :nerd:
     
  10. scrapser

    scrapser Master Guru

    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    I played Doom 3 on a GTX 295 and a GTX 590 without any problems. These are both dual GPU cards similar to SLI if I'm not mistaken. Basically SLI all-in-one cards. In fact, I have never had problems with any of my games using these cards.
     

  11. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,692
    Likes Received:
    2,550
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    Aye, they are dual GPU cards = SLI in a single slot.
     
  12. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,231
    Likes Received:
    2,075
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
  13. fragba1t

    fragba1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX Strix 1060 6GB
    Excited :D
     
  14. nikavelli

    nikavelli Master Guru

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 Ti
    So after over 6 years of production, this is all they can show us? A one minute pre-rendered trailer of a Cyberdemon? Not holding my breath for this game at all.
     
  15. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    Doom 3 was let down for me personaly. Whats funny doom 3 alpha was superb, I liked whole gameplay and gun feeling... but they totally ruined all of that in the final game (it became slow and unplayable). Hope doom 4 will bring doom 3 alpha feeling :)

    And yes.. there will be graphics side to conisder :). If actual game would look like this teaser, I would be excited, but based on Wolfenstein The New Order graphics impressions I have a feeling, that doom4 will look even worse than DOOM3 with sikkmod + Texturepacks:wanker:.
     

  16. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    363
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    ^ What was wrong with Wolfenstein? I thought it looked quite good and I think this game will look good as well.
     
  17. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    It looked so great that they had to BLUR (with filters) all obiects in the distance, also textures remind me xbox 1 era. Whats more Wolfenstein TheNewOrder is not using per-pixel shadows anymore (like doom 3).
     
  18. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,885
    Likes Received:
    1,687
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Wolf: TNO looks great.
    Great art direction backed up by a beautiful design.

    And yes, Wolf and RAGE don't use the real time lighting that Doom 3 used. Mostly because Carmack said using it in Doom 3 was a huge mistake. As it's impact on performance forced them to use small levels with minimal visibility.
    It seriously impacted the game's design.
     
  19. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    It's just art style, but what about texture quality ? LOD, water quality, geometry, character models (almost like made from plastic) and other effects. None of that impressed me in Wolfenstein
     
  20. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    363
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    Every game has some crappy low quality textures. You can't make every texture in the game ultra quality.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page